HID Lights

Aranny, putting Halogen bulb into HID projector....you get the same thing like you put halogen into HID projector...remember, the bulb length affect the light throw 2ndly, the projector is design to match the bulbs not the opposite.

If you are lack of DIY skill it's better to have a pro to guide you when you do it. IF you have average DIY skill I believe you will be able to swap the halogen projector out and change it to a HID projector. It's all about trial and error when it comes to DIY. You won't get it right in the 1st place but you learn each time you correct the mistake. Have fun doing it and post it here to share....

mine need a special machine to change the lens i think. cause eagle eye projector if wanna touch the lens, need to open it and rip into 2 peices.... then use sealant to seal it back.... it's not easy... worst come to worst, just put the HID bulb and see if the result im satis with it or not... so far mine projector base is only fit for H3 bulb which is a very very tiny bulb... im was kind of shock when i figure it out cause H3 is normally use for sport light~

i've retrofitted my H4 to a bi-xenon projector H3C 5000K 40W HID with proper glare cutoff. Night driving is a pleasure now as it can project close to 40m on my headlamp. will update with pics when i'm free this weekend

wanna ask a blunt question, can halogen bulb be used in a xenon projector, does it cause halogen brightness to decrease?

No....as Veloc stated..the base is different.

---------- Post added at 11:49 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:47 AM ----------

mine need a special machine to change the lens i think. cause eagle eye projector if wanna touch the lens, need to open it and rip into 2 peices.... then use sealant to seal it back.... it's not easy... worst come to worst, just put the HID bulb and see if the result im satis with it or not... so far mine projector base is only fit for H3 bulb which is a very very tiny bulb... im was kind of shock when i figure it out cause H3 is normally use for sport light~

Any headlights you want to open also need to pry out the lens.

result of HID projector lens modification

HID: 5000K 40W H3C
Distance: approx. 7 parking bays (engine to bonet type), roughly 35 to 40m, 80+m on high beam
FOV: approx 120 degrees to 140 (with HID fog light on, around 160 degree)

• After-1.JPG
    After-1.JPG
    162.9 KB · Views: 170
  • After-2.JPG
    After-2.JPG
    164.6 KB · Views: 170
  • After-4.JPG
    After-4.JPG
    157.8 KB · Views: 158
  • After-98.JPG
    After-98.JPG
    187.2 KB · Views: 160
  • After-99.JPG
    After-99.JPG
    202.2 KB · Views: 154
Hi guys
I just retrofitted HID kit into my car recently.
I ask the shop guy whether this kit could get me a saman or not.....he said if u worry abt saman,then fix 2 colour HID(yellow n white)
Then i ask him to fix.The white light is brighter than the yellow light.
The ballast is fixed as one can see very easily after open the bonet.
But after go through this thread,i think need to change to yellow bulb.
Can i just change the bulb or need to change the ballast together?

the HID has 2 options, high/low or low only...most ppl goes for low only meaning hid will only work when u switch on yr lights, once u switch to high beam it would be halogen edi........so meaning if u encounter a roadblock ahead of u just switch to high beam. but nowdays police are smarter they will station 1 officer just before the roadblocks to catch all those road users that disobey the law eg: no seatbelt, using handphone, hid, black tinted etc.......

-lanz-
You just need to change the bulb to a different temperature i.e. 4300K, remain the ballast as it is.

Danz,
Not all bulb size has the feature, bro. As far as I know, only H4 has this feature of low beam HID, hi beam halogen.

So far I haven't come across that bro, only H4 :)

http://www.xenonlink.com/images/h4hbulb.jpg

Hi guys
I just retrofitted HID kit into my car recently.
I ask the shop guy whether this kit could get me a saman or not.....he said if u worry abt saman,then fix 2 colour HID(yellow n white)
Then i ask him to fix.The white light is brighter than the yellow light.
The ballast is fixed as one can see very easily after open the bonet.
But after go through this thread,i think need to change to yellow bulb.
Can i just change the bulb or need to change the ballast together?

Like what Danz said. That is true. What you got is the Hi-Lo with halogen being the high beams. This high bema is essentially weak and useless. You can't see anything with it. It is just used to pass roadblock. But like what Danz said, it is useless nowadays. Nowadays,using HID is a battle between our intelligence and the jpjs'.

They don't just observe from far. They got a few ways. Sometimes they are you to flash your lights when you reach the block and they observe for any colour changes. Sometimes they ask to open bonnet.

What I did is this...
I used a double beam Hi-Lo magnetic HID. This works by an electromagnet that moves the bulbs to create high beam or low beam. So both high beam and low beam is using the same bulb. Both high beam and low beam gives illumination. And during roadblock, when the police ask to flash, they wouldn't notice any colour change. So to them, it is not HID.
on top of that, my ballast is also hidden.

But whatever we do, using HID is a game of chance. If we meet the right cop who is pro and experienced, they will know immediately. Some know by looking at the wiring or bulb itself.

Well,if im not wrong my bulb is same as what Veloc said "double beam Hi-Lo magnetic HID" coz i didnt saw any extra blue bulb together as the picture posted by yeehau when the shop guy show to me.Let me check,maybe the shop guy put diff bulb.
How much ur HID costs Veloc?Mine just RM270.I think its plug n play.
As per the rating it shows 8000K when he show me n i really love it coz the light is trully white n brighter.
But i dont want to be worried everytime saw a roadblock.
4300K light is yellowish rite?
which one is better/brighter,4300K HID bulb or Halogen bulb?

Well,if im not wrong my bulb is same as what Veloc said "double beam Hi-Lo magnetic HID" coz i didnt saw any extra blue bulb together as the picture posted by yeehau when the shop guy show to me.Let me check,maybe the shop guy put diff bulb.
How much ur HID costs Veloc?Mine just RM270.I think its plug n play.
As per the rating it shows 8000K when he show me n i really love it coz the light is trully white n brighter.
But i dont want to be worried everytime saw a roadblock.
4300K light is yellowish rite?
which one is better/brighter,4300K HID bulb or Halogen bulb?

Mine costs 220. It's not those expensive brand. It' the same price nationwide. Can check in mudah. For single beam and those double bulb one, it is around 160. Installation costs around 30. So total is about 250.

To tell you the truth, the brightest output for HID is around the 4300k - 5000k colour. If you love white, 6000k is the most you should go. After that, it gets blue and the output drops sharply. Mine is 4200k. Quite rare. Very safe from roadblock. I am actually not satisfied with it because it is slightly mroe yellow than 4300k. But very slight. I just es caped a massive JPJ cari makan session today. They were spotting for HIDs.

TO ans your question, yes 4300k is very light yellow. Almost white yellow. 5000k is pure white.
Sure HID is brighter. But besides output, you also need to consider light throw and distribution. For me, it took me a week of trial and error to custom make my own glare shield and to aim the beams to not hard other driver's eyes. I advise anyone who is interested in HID to really do it properly and think of other road user's safety.

Mine costs 220. It's not those expensive brand. It' the same price nationwide. Can check in mudah. For single beam and those double bulb one, it is around 160. Installation costs around 30. So total is about 250.

To tell you the truth, the brightest output for HID is around the 4300k - 5000k colour. If you love white, 6000k is the most you should go. After that, it gets blue and the output drops sharply. Mine is 4200k. Quite rare. Very safe from roadblock. I am actually not satisfied with it because it is slightly mroe yellow than 4300k. But very slight. I just escaped a massive JPJ cari makan session today. They were spotting for HIDs.

TO ans your question, yes 4300k is very light yellow. Almost white yellow. 5000k is pure white.
Sure HID is brighter. But besides output, you also need to consider light throw and distribution. For me, it took me a week of trial and error to custom make my own glare shield and to aim the beams to not hard other driver's eyes. I advise anyone who is interested in HID to really do it properly and think of other road user's safety.
Thanks for the info
Some said HID is illegal and some said below certain range is acceptable :confused:
What is the allowed Kelvin rating by the JPJ?4300K?
Do any ready made glare shield available on market?
I just got the HID installed a week ago n now worried to go out during night :bawling:
Hmmm....looks like i need to change to 4300K bulb and hide my ballasts.

Well, there is no such thing as an approved HID. Accessory shops just say stuff like that to encourage buying. ALL retrofitted HIDs are illegal. Even 4300k. But that is IF they found out. That's why, 4300k will decrease that chance tremendously because one can't tell just by looking. It looks lighter than normal halogens, but then, they cannot simply conclude that it is HIDs. It's hard to tell. We can do all things. Hide ballast, use 4300k, use glare shield. In the end, it all boils down to luck. If we met an experienced jpj fella and he happens to have an imba psychological condition and likes to oppress people, he can fk us. But so far for me, no problem. In fact, I just escaped a massive HID crackdown road block yesterday.

By the way, most HID comes with glare shield but they are practically useless. One must try and error few times to custom make one that is best for one's own reflector.

To tell you the truth, the brightest output for HID is around the 4300k - 5000k colour. If you love white, 6000k is the most you should go. After that, it gets blue and the output drops sharply. Mine is 4200k. Quite rare. Very safe from roadblock. I am actually not satisfied with it because it is slightly mroe yellow than 4300k. But very slight. I just es caped a massive JPJ cari makan session today. They were spotting for HIDs.

bro, where do you get 4200k hid? what brand? seems safe for road block...

I put HID on my Fog Lamp only..quite bright and save if happen to meet a JPJ roadblock..can turn it off..

attachment.php

• HID.JPG
    HID.JPG
    67.7 KB · Views: 1,198
yeah...really bright and me just hoping u not blinding oncoming people with that... :adore:

unlike those ahbeng ppl driving with blinding foglight and not using main headlight.... :biggrin:

cheers....nice mod and usefull in total darkness especially if u need to drive in middle of nowhere in night....

I hope so..most of the time I drive on 4 lane road divided by a divider..since the placement of foglamp is low, oncoming car might not disturbed by the foglamp..but occasionally when go to 2 lane road or when went back to kelantan, during midnight, it might glare the incoming car..but I already adjust the angle so it will not really glare to the oncoming traffic. but it still bright if they stare at my foglamp.. I'm thinking to put HID for the high beam and maintaining halogen for the low beam..but since it take some times to become bright, I can't get instant brightness when turn to high beam..

bro, where do you get 4200k hid? what brand? seems safe for road block...

Forgot what brand. It's one of those cheap taiwan ones la... If you get 4300 k should be okay. Not much difference fron 4200k. Those odd colours like 4200k are rare. I think when the manufacturer wanted to make 4300k but failed, they just state the colour as 4200k. Initially I'm not very satisfied with it because it looked kind of yellow. But after I escaped that mega HID crackdown few nights ago, I thought to myself "This shit is good".

---------- Post added at 10:59 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:57 AM ----------

I put HID on my Fog Lamp only..quite bright and save if happen to meet a JPJ roadblock..can turn it off..

attachment.php

Nice shot bro... And looks like you got very nice cutoff. And I think your colour for foglamps is more practical too. Unlike people who only want style and not think about practicality, those who use 6000k or 8000k for foglamps.

Forgot what brand. It's one of those cheap taiwan ones la... If you get 4300 k should be okay. Not much difference fron 4200k. Those odd colours like 4200k are rare. I think when the manufacturer wanted to make 4300k but failed, they just state the colour as 4200k. Initially I'm not very satisfied with it because it looked kind of yellow. But after I escaped that mega HID crackdown few nights ago, I thought to myself "This shit is good".

that's the mmain thing, i wanna get a 4200k if can just to escape raodblock.. now can't find on market anymore?