Help needed-Mazda 626

invisibleghost

A few questions for all sifus here. I am driving a Mazda 626, 2 ltr, 12 valves, carb year 1992. I am in a dilemma. My car is well, good for driving around except high FC. RM60 for about 300km (best 400km). And 1 annoying problem, the boot tends to keep water during heavy rain. Repaired many times but still the same. Anyone can recommend good mudguard man?

My engine is well, although no major problem, not powerful enough. But I do not know whether to:

1. Overhaul
2. Blueprint (http://www.powerzone.com.my/index_eng.htm)
3. Engine transplant
Will any of these methods increase the HP and reduce FC?

If engine transplant, any engine suitable for my car? I prefer 2 ltr, EFI, 16 valves, DOHC, manual tranny. What else need to support the transplant?

Anyone can recommend good workshop to carry out the conversion? Or the workshop where you had your conversion.

As a mere mortal, I prefer reliability (who wants their cars to be in the garage every now and then) and of course power.

Thanks all for the support.

for ford and mazda cars... look for kolo... ask tkk for his number... you can try asking him about the problems!!! he will help you!!

hi ghost,

no fret....i am driving a ford telstar 2.0 ...its the same car as yours. I had the same problem too.

Is your car an automatic? it is is ....your consumption could be very high. but nevertheless....here are a few things you could do:

1) Top overhaul
2) Carburetor tune-up/cleaning

for anew engine....u need to look for a Mazda 626 half cut from japan at the local yards. The engine is usually known as FE3 or GD FE.

if you need more help...let me know.

cheers....

Originally posted by invisibleghost@Mar 29 2005, 21:21
A few questions for all sifus here. I am driving a Mazda 626, 2 ltr, 12 valves, carb year 1992. I am in a dilemma. My car is well, good for driving around except high FC. RM60 for about 300km (best 400km). And 1 annoying problem, the boot tends to keep water during heavy rain. Repaired many times but still the same. Anyone can recommend good mudguard man?

My engine is well, although no major problem, not powerful enough. But I do not know whether to:

1. Overhaul
2. Blueprint (http://www.powerzone.com.my/index_eng.htm)
3. Engine transplant
Will any of these methods increase the HP and reduce FC?

If engine transplant, any engine suitable for my car? I prefer 2 ltr, EFI, 16 valves, DOHC, manual tranny. What else need to support the transplant?

Anyone can recommend good workshop to carry out the conversion? Or the workshop where you had your conversion.

As a mere mortal, I prefer reliability (who wants their cars to be in the garage every now and then) and of course power.

Thanks all for the support.
[snapback]851872[/snapback]​

oh....i forgot to mention.

Do a search for ford telstar/ mazda 626 in this forum. I did post some feedbacks earlier.

and for the record...my old carbie engine gave me 500km on a full tank and thats just city driving.

my engine was a manual before and i've recently convereted to an automatic furl injected option which only gives me abt 400km....city driving.

cheers mate!

Hi there. I too need some help pls.
I own a 1980 mazda 626 capella 1.8 L sedan super deluxe.
i am having difficulties in obtaining the parts for my car.parts like the rear light covers, arm rests, front light covers and etc. I just changed my seats to SR4 seats. I am considering an interior overhaul into black.My current color scheme is brown.I am also considering changing my engine into sumting with twincam or a 13b with webber carby.
I need some advice on the engine. Is it easy to get JPJ approval if i convert my current engine with a 13b?Which models disc brakes must/can i install.Please bear in mind that i want to avoid engine mounting modification if possible. This is because i saw in JPJ`s website that mounting mods are not allowed.Is this true or does this apply to mounting weldings only?
I saw a member named Freddy(WAQ 9903) with his yellow 626 which had a 13b turbo inside. Looked pretty "garang" to me.
Please help me out as i have gone to many spare parts shop but always return in despair.Thanks a lot.
G.

why dont you look at dumpiing in a B8?....

there are a number of member who have done this. with a big engine bay like your mounting mods should not be a problem as it would be minimal.

if you are considering a 13b you are going to have a lot of headache....JPJ approval aside be prepared for heavy maintenance..

B8 ah..good suggestion

Yeah bro, i have considered a B8 too, but since many are doing the same swap, i wanted to be a bit different. But then again, like you said, not only JPJ approval will be a headache, the expenses that i have to bear for the maintenance too will be heavy.
Since you have recommended a B8, i think i will go ahead with that. Is the B8 a fuel injection or carburettor?i prefer a FI.Is it easier to get JPJ approval if i put in this B8?What about the brakes?Which models` disc brake can i put to replace the drum brakes?And finally, how much will the engine come to?I dont think that i have to buy a half-cut as i cannot use the parts from the half-cut rite? Only engine "kosong " lah.
Sorry for askin many questions bro. This is the only site in Malaysia that i have found which is really energetic about mazda mods. The next best site is in Australia. Thanks for all the info bro.
G.

hallo bro, i also having same problem, mine i 1986 car, 1.8 manual, facing dunno transplant wat engine and also wat engine is suitable. i heard that some 1 got b8 right??? wat engine i that??? how strong is it??? how much is it???? is it easy to get??? tq!!!

a B8 will do a lot to ur cars...more powerful..half cut maybe cost u around 3500...its not include the labour charge for transplant..but i think after the transplant u will smile a lot!

does the b8 come with the half-cut?i was thinking of the engine only, with wiring lah.If i get a half cut, most of the parts cant be used on my 626.
Yo lambert, ur ride is the 86 model ah..is it the one with the black absorbent bumper..It is a RWD sedan rite..
Back to my prob, gettin a half cut just seems to make me loose out. So, any ideas ppl?other engines perhaps?im open to ideas.
G.

killa626, yes bro, now the car got quite lot of problem lahhh, maybe need to make big project.......

y bro..wats the prob?engine still ok rite?hows the body?kaw kaw karat ah..i also got a lot of prob with my car lah..especially parts..very hard to find parts..want to put ford parts also cannot..At one point I almost soldthe car because I got so frustrated with the parts but because I love the car so much, I am still keeping it. Hopefully, with all the advicefrom and help from ppl at 0 to 100 I can restore my car.hehe..
G.

allo ppl...wanna know sumting pls..lets say i get the B8 175/180 lah, engine "kosong" with wiring, which gearbox should i use?can i use my existing gearbox?When i get the engine kosong, is the air flow sensor a compulsory?i have a friend who said that the air flow must be there.is this true?
Thanks ppl
G.

killa626 said:
Yeah bro, i have considered a B8 too, but since many are doing the same swap, i wanted to be a bit different. But then again, like you said, not only JPJ approval will be a headache, the expenses that i have to bear for the maintenance too will be heavy.
Since you have recommended a B8, i think i will go ahead with that. Is the B8 a fuel injection or carburettor?i prefer a FI.Is it easier to get JPJ approval if i put in this B8?What about the brakes?Which models` disc brake can i put to replace the drum brakes?And finally, how much will the engine come to?I dont think that i have to buy a half-cut as i cannot use the parts from the half-cut rite? Only engine "kosong " lah.
Sorry for askin many questions bro. This is the only site in Malaysia that i have found which is really energetic about mazda mods. The next best site is in Australia. Thanks for all the info bro.
G.

bro...if you dont mind, could you post a picture of your car...i am confused as to what model you are referring to..

is your car a front wheel drive or a rear wheel drive?...

If your car is a GC (1984 onwards), you need to find a B8 half cut. You may not be able to use most of the parts but the engine, wiring and gearbox should fit. as for the disc brakes, the bg disc brakes should fit...

killa626 said:
G.

hi killa626,
u said your 626 is the 1980 model right?to my guess, its a rear wheel drive right?and the 13b is the rx7 rotary engine? well, i don't know much about rx7 engine but i think its a rear wheel engine is it? if yes, then u can go for the engine transplant as it fits your car. get a halfcut.
and since your 626 is a rear wheel drive, converting to a B8 is not possible as B8 is a front wheel drive.

invisibleghost said:
lan D , u r back. guys , lan d is a very senior member in KBs n expert in mazda

whooppsss....hi J....not really expert lee...still learning...
i just had my streamyx online, so can sibuk-sibuk in here a bit from home...:embaressed_smile: