HELP: Getting a MR-S

I don't speed on street. But love track. My NA rx8 has done 2:40s in Sepang track. By looking at the data collected from each tracking experience, I think the most I can push is a further 1-2sec improvement. RX8 is too heavy. The braking and cornering is a bit tough...

So, i'm looking for a lightweight car to play now. Don't like FF car, and wanted to try MR setup. Anyone know how good is the MRS doing in Sepang? NA, 2zz, Turbo or supercharged???

2.40 impressive time.

full track i cant even hit close to that. Another track regular kaki (2zz MR-S) wont hit your figure. He can dip to 2.41+ on lotus. (OKB i know does around there) even with prepped S2k track kaki (with slick tires) constantly hover that figure. 2.30 - 2.40 are what MME drivers do averagely. Super GT drivers on a prepped S2k does low 2.30s+ averagely. turbo preps can hit 2.25+-

surfice to say I havent seen NA cars (street) hitting below 2.40.

To run 2.40++ with NA on full circuit is equivalent to track-prepped FD2s, Altezzas and Formula BMWs runnning during the MMER...

That taught me never look down on RX8, didn't know it is that powerful. Could be something to consider. Is the 2.40 on auto or manual RX8? Stock or modded?

soff can buy RX8 already! newer car, can sit 4 people & with practice can do 2.40 at sepang
rx8dorifto can poison soff :nurse:

2.40 impressive time.

full track i cant even hit close to that. Another track regular kaki (2zz MR-S) wont hit your figure. He can dip to 2.41+ on lotus. (OKB i know does around there) even with prepped S2k track kaki (with slick tires) constantly hover that figure. 2.30 - 2.40 are what MME drivers do averagely. Super GT drivers on a prepped S2k does low 2.30s+ averagely. turbo preps can hit 2.25+-

surfice to say I havent seen NA cars (street) hitting below 2.40.

My rx8 is NA modded. With street tire, i clocked only 2:44s. With semi slick (street alignment though) then clocked 2:40s. If track setup then maybe 2:38s.

I've seen FD2R street setup with semi slick get 2:36s. S2000 semi slick clocked 2:34s.

By comparing the Power-to-weight ratio of MODDED 2zz MR-S to my current RX8, I'm expecting below 2:35s. Of even below 2:30s if the chassis is rigid enough. Not sure if this a dream??? Anyway, I'm still selling my RX8, if can sell at good price then I'll go for 2zz MR-S project :)

Thanks for all your replies :) cheers :itsme:

My rx8 is NA modded. With street tire, i clocked only 2:44s. With semi slick (street alignment though) then clocked 2:40s. If track setup then maybe 2:38s.

I've seen FD2R street setup with semi slick get 2:36s. S2000 semi slick clocked 2:34s.

By comparing the Power-to-weight ratio of MODDED 2zz MR-S to my current RX8, I'm expecting below 2:35s. Of even below 2:30s if the chassis is rigid enough. Not sure if this a dream??? Anyway, I'm still selling my RX8, if can sell at good price then I'll go for 2zz MR-S project :)

WOW!that will be full track set-up 2zz-ge mr-s to get that range:driver:, can't wait n see

Woah bro, you also selling liao...........all the best in getting your MR-S man.......
MR-S will be a interesting car to track I think....

Can you clarify further cause MR-S is one of my consideration for my next car too? :)

Woah bro, you also selling liao...........all the best in getting your MR-S man.......
MR-S will be a interesting car to track I think....

sigh...can't get any good offer for my rx8 leh...think my project MR-S fail liao...
was thinking spot weld the mr-s, 2zz swap, stroke-up, port n polish etc...seen ppl achieve 220-230WHP. Which is plenty for a below 1 ton machine...

or u buy my car la???

sigh...can't get any good offer for my rx8 leh...think my project MR-S fail liao...
was thinking spot weld the mr-s, 2zz swap, stroke-up, port n polish etc...seen ppl achieve 220-230WHP. Which is plenty for a below 1 ton machine...

or u buy my car la???

haha....so fierce..you trying to chase turbo cars ....

I just sold off mine.....so looking around.........and MR-S is also on my list.........
But not thinking of doing so many things like you....just some light modification....

if you have the $$$, you can opt K20a MR-S, its been done b4 (car is in Msia but done in SG)

or save the hassle opt the elise SC (2zz with supercharger) Exige is $$$ but all out trackie ride.

the spyder will hold quite well on the street but if you are the serious tracker, it will take quite a lot of $$$

Hi

Can you share the estimated damage to convert it to
1) K20a
2) 2ZZ

k20a half cut in msia rm15-20k alone. u do the maths on the mechanicals to swap & have the honda ecu work with toyota ecu (else air con, meters all won't really work).
the k20a is a fine engine, if you have bottomless cash for funds then its something doable.

Dear all the spyder expert / sifus,

Sorry for hijack this thread,
I have tried to searching around for getting a MR-S, but it is very difficult to find one.
especially manual transmission, year 2003 onwards models.
I have tried mudah, but most of the manuals models was modded and before year 2003.
and mostly are SMT.

Here is the spec im looking for,

Toyota MR-S
- manual transmission
- soft top / hard top also ok
- year after 2003 onward
- registered / unregistered also will do, if unregistered will be better.
- most important is standard factory condition.

Im staying in KL, if anyone of you saw a great condition MR-S on sale as per spec above, please let me know. From outstation also ok, i can arrange to view the car, i love this car so much!!!

Very appreciate if anyone of you can help.
Many Thanks! =)

many toyota MR-S brought into msia were SMT esp the later years. manuals found in msia were mostly 2000-2002.

It was easier to sell as it appeals to many who wanted something easy to drive in traffic. Automatics for other cars did command a higher price & desirability (or practicallity).

There are post 2003 spyders for sale, while its all SMT there is no performance lacking (other than a slightly slower upshift of gears compared to manual).

other than the slight cosmetic uplift, the post 2003 did not offer better engine performace > to the ones before it. toyota did add bracings to 2003 onwards but it was too offered by aftermarket.

if it was the 6speed that u were after (only post 2003 MR-S had this from factory), its not uncommon to swap this. I had a year 2000 5speed for a good many years before throwing in a 2zz with 6speed. the 2zz celica gearbox (which lotus elise/exige too uses the same gbox > the JDM specs 6speed MR-S in terms of gearing, its shorter. 2003 6speed MR-S arent much different then the 5speed MR-S as 1-5 gears are the same.
I hardly use the 6th gear in street driving, town. usually no opportuntity at all.

Gear Ratios (:1)

5speed
1st - 3.17
2nd - 1.90
3nd - 1.39
4th - 1.03
5th - .082
Reverse - 3.25

6speed (2003 onwards)
1st - 3.17
2nd - 1.90
3rd - 1.39
4th - 1.03
5th - 0.82
6th - 0.73
Rev - 3.25​

*the 6th gear for 2003 onwards helps in highway cruising (lower rpm).

However the UK/euro spec MR-S spyders are taller than the Japan/US specs (which is found in most MR-S here). This UK/euro MR-S shows in their slightly 'slower' 0-100kmh vs the JDM specs MR-S time but have higher top speed (>220kmh). There is only 1 UK spec spyder in malaysia (he brought it back when he came back to work in msia. (he loved the car so much).

Officially I only know there is only 3 original 6speed MR-S manual from factory/japan in malaysia. 1 is in red (turbo), one is in paradise blue (NA) & the white MR-s with black hard top. SMT's with 6speed are quite a number on the road.

I wont fuss too much on the >2003 manuals if its hard to find. there are ways to get that (gearbox) if one is willing. hope the info helps.

swaping in isnt detrimental to car perfromance except burning a small hole in one's pocket.

edited the post on how many official manual 6speed MR-S (2003 onwards)

thot there is another 03 white one with 6 speed manual, own by a uncle. not sure whether he has sold it or not.

Thanks and appreciate for ur info with full details of explanation Sifu Koolspyda :adore:

So i think there is no difference if i buy a 2002 5 speed or 2006 6 speed MR-S.

I was thought to get an SMT, but due to KL traffic always jam, im worrying the SMT gear pump might not that "tahan". And yet, the SMT gearbox is more hassle on the maintenance part right?
(like got to change the SMT gear oil every 10,000km, And also need to change the expensive gear pump for every 80,000km)

is this true?

Thanks and appreciate for ur info with full details of explanation Sifu Koolspyda :adore:

So i think there is no difference if i buy a 2002 5 speed or 2006 6 speed MR-S.

I was thought to get an SMT, but due to KL traffic always jam, im worrying the SMT gear pump might not that "tahan". And yet, the SMT gearbox is more hassle on the maintenance part right?
(like got to change the SMT gear oil every 10,000km, And also need to change the expensive gear pump for every 80,000km)

is this true?

i cant comment on durability, i know of few SMT owner who still has their SMT in working cond.
changing SMT oil every 10K? not sure but its the first time i'm hearing this.

part of the problem lies that not many shops/owners know of the SMT fluid, esp non club owners, so some of them thinking its regular or some sort of gear oil may have added wrong fluid & could have compounded the failure?

yes, unfortunately pump is little on the high side but what to do, (pump) is built in germany (LUK) for toyota.

while it helps in newer MR-S (year) of having higher loan offered to you, in terms of engine performance 2003>2000/2, none. Benefit of highway drive (lower rpm), yes. & some added lower braces to stock 2003. again, this is can be remedied with some aftermarket braces like TRD, cusco, beat brush & even our local ultra racing.

you can try the white 03, of which he might still be offering for sale. maybe u can be persuasive & have better luck.

err just saw a manual for sale. pmed you.