HELP!"Check Engine Light" ON!

yes stock boost is 0.5 bar there...same-o....

u shouldn't be driving ur car with knacked sparkplugs dude....it might not be ur plugs but ur coils aswell! they are easily cracked, due to the heat...thats the reason why i take off the neo cover and the black plug cover...to cool the coils out....

i hope its just ur plugs! goodluck!

oh i read somewhere that the o2 sensor should be replaced every 40,000kms.

i think when we meet up, we should do a HICAS diagnostic test :)

know anyone with a nissan Consult diagnostic software? It will tell u if there is any errors. Only works with stock computer

ManR34 said:
hey dude...actually i don't have much modded lah...stock as a rock...
regarding the filter, is that its ONLY PnP if u buy the adaptor kits for the R34 GTT. but those kits are expensive...custom is a cheaper way, anyways its not expensive to do so....50-80rm should get u going...

O2 sensor? where is that located? in the exhuast manifold? did u change it yet?
should get it fixed/replace mate....cos O2 sensor quite important isin't? since the ecu needs the readings for petrol/air mixtures etc etc...

Man,

the O2 sensor is located at the exhaust manifold. u can c the sensor. it's located at the passenger side in the engine compartment with 2 wires sticking out. i hv not change it yet cos the CHK light hasn't come on for a while. yes, it's important cos it's giving a Oxygen feedback to the ECU.
btw, where u got yr airfilter kit done?

piggyracer said:
oic...well I should be on the lookout for my O2 sensor too then. What is your mileage Satigue? Mind is almost 30K already. Btw, just to share with you guys, I got the APEXI filter fitted without any mods at all...its pretty much PnP. Don't need to use adapter. Just mount it straight onto the AFM with gasket in between. Just got it done today but what I notice is that I lost torque in my low end (normal driving). I guess its coz there is no reserve chamber like the original aif filter box. It also sound pretty loud when you accelerate. Something to take note if you guys want to fit an open pod air filter. Also notice the fuel indicator needle drops fairly fast as compared to before. Will see what happens the next few days after the ECU stabilizers with the new air intake. Hopefully the consumption won't be bad.
So when are we meeting up guys???

piggy,
my mileage is also almost 30k. where u got yr airfliter kit fitted & how much? so what's yr advice? regret or not fitting it on or u gona revert back to stock?

piggyracer said:
Yes I can imagine. But my piping is still pretty standard. Just that now I feel with every gear shift, I feel like its too smooth. Unlike before where everytime I gear up, it feels really good and the power is continuous. Now its just too smooth to feel the power... plus my standard boost is only 0.5bar exactly. What is the standard boost for GTT for you guys? My sparkplugs also needs replacing...always misfiring even without boosting.

my boost gauge is in kg/m2. how u guys read it in bars in yr cars?

i got my fitted at my mate's workshop in Banting. very easy..and ofcos u should get an airpod fitted...much better then leave it stock dude....its very cheap compared to other mods...better air flows for ur car mah...the noise and such are just the part of the grunt that turbo cars need :)

kg/m2 is equivilant to bar readings...therefore if ur see needle its half way of 1...it means its 0.5bar...its as simple as that :D

if u want accurate bar readings like 0.6 or 0.7 or 0.8, like when u wanna boost it up...u must get urself a new gauge...and those electronic boost controllers got readings too....

u can get gauges in PSI too....hahah then u have to learn that 1 bar=14.5 psi
so therefore our stock cars only running at a mere 7.25 psi..which is fucking little actually....once u are able to boost ur car...thats where the real power increases gonna be felt. but to do that, need this and that....so its farken expensive...

nevertheless we can safely boost to 0.7 bar....which is about 10psi...from 7 to 10psi is a big difference.....u will surely feel it! and thats with stock turbo and IC and i think safely to say stock ecu aswell.....altho better get a FPR....incase shortage of fuel due to higher boost settings....

ofcos its better be safe and get ecu/bigger ic, fpr, fuel pump maybe, then u can play with ur boost settings even higher esp after fitted with a better/bigger turbo...maybe gun it to 1.2 bar...i am not sure but u get my drift :)

satigue,
I got my filter done at Sunway. Like MAN said, its better to get an open pod air filter. Well its serviceble, some washable or element is replaceble and it gains in hp so it better than your stock filters BUT be prepared to hear some turbine spooling sound. Mine is pretty loud as compared to pure silence when using stock standard filter. My honest opinion is that you sacrifice a bit of your normal low end torque but you feel the engine revs faster and the turbine spools much quicker too. You will need some getting use to. The car feels smoother and more willing to rev as compared to before. I actually have not driven my car after fitting the air filter except drive it home from Sunway. Driving my normal car coz I'm going down to KL these few days. I actually read a review which compared 4 air filters. HKS, K&N, APEXI and BLITZ. They did some real test on filteration and air flow and measured the hp gain. They used a R33 engine and HKS came in last with the poorest filteration. APEXI was the best in filteration. K&N and BLITZ were second. APEXI gained 14hp while K&N and BLITZ was around 13-13.5hp and HKS was also about 13hp. Somewhere around these numbers...so that's why I chose APEXI. But the new BLITZ is just as good. The one they used in the review was the old BLTIZ model.
I guess you can slowly mod your car then increase your boost like MAN said and feel the power. 0.5bar is really shitty. I'm saving up for a boost controller next. Also want to change my shocks to Tein coilovers in the future but no $$$ now...so leave it first. Is your car boosting at 0.5bar too?

hey APEXI always the good shit...is urs the paper material?
Satigue, I got a BRAND new APEXI airpod for sale. but i dunno if it will fit the skyline without any adaptors. i think i got the universal fit one...but as piggyracer said it fits perfectly?....i bought it brand new for my previous car, an evo6. but i ended up never installing it, still in its original box. so if u want it satigue, make me an offer....cos i dunno wats the going price for it nowadays, how much u bought urs for piggyracer?...i can bring it back for u, since i am here in aust, then i'll come back this friday, we go meet up with piggy and see if its the exactly same size and fit....

sorry, i think it shud be in kg/cm2. so 1 bar is about 1.02kg/cm2.(or 1kg/cm2 = 0.9804 bars. so there's a slight difference there) mine standard boost is about 0.8 kg/cm2 la....tht's what i get when i drive it hard. can't go up more than tht. how come u guys get only 0.5 bar?
my needle goes up to more than half of the gauge. about 3/4 of it la.....hmmm?
now no $ like piggie la, so hv to play stock 1st. keke....really dry la. no shit.
u guys play ICE?

dude definately stock is not 0.8BAR....stock is around 0.5 bar give or take....it either means ur car is boosted already....or that u are reading it wrong....AND I THINK ITS THE LATTER....soh lou! hahahaa

remember the dial starts at the middle 0 and ends at 1 bar...so the needle should just be around/slight above the 3/4 line....therefore 0.5bar! :)

who knows man! if so u been riding a boosted machine....nice...hehehehe

no ICE for me thanks. grown out of it....but i think its cos i'm "wo me yo chien oso" heheheh

I've got ICE in my other car. Its a 2005 1.7 civic. In my GTT, no ice at all. Its to appreciate the engine sound dude! haha. Btw, I've just removed my APEXI air filter coz wife complaining about the sound. So not as smooth and pwoerful now but its better than being nagged at. haha. I really want to boost up to about 0.7bar coz 0.5 is really shitty. Don't really feel the power until after 5k rpm. I like the g-force and pulling feeling but I don't normally hold the boost for very long. Its just a short while. SO I figrued 0.7 to 0.8 should be ok.
I'm also looking for a drop-in air filter. Anyone knows a good brand to recommend? Seems like K&N doesn't manufatcture for GTTs
Hey MAN, your gauge in the picture came original like that? So you are also running standard boost of 0.5bar? Bet you can't wait to boost it up too huh! I think you should use the APEXI filter instead of the blitz one la. ITs probably better and the filteration is pretty good. Read this, http://mkiv.com/techarticles/filters_test/2/
SO we should try and meet up soon ya...my car is almost due for servicing. Currently using Q8 F1. Almost 5000km already so time to change. Anyway, happy boosting guys!

yups piggy...mines standard and i agree with u....0.5bar is just crap....we get a boost controller together :)
didn't ur gauges look like that? those are stock guages for GTT....
i got to hand it to u mate...ur "boss" pretty powerful for making u get rid of the pod...muhahaahhahahha

yeah i will give the apexi pod a go if i can't sell it....

hey Man,
yes, u got me there. i read it wrongly...haha. 3/4 of the gauge is about 0.5 kg/cm2. the gauges i normally read starts from zero. always got used to it.

tht's the power of Home minister. then how u think they got their name from? :)

piggy,
my gauges look like those on the pic as well. stock GTT gauges. i think yr previous owner already changed it?

Yah man...no I loss the feeling when I boost. Surprisingly the air filter does help gain hp. You notice it especially when you boost. Kinda miss the power now :-(
Instead of selling of my air filter, I'll just hang on to it incase I really cannot tahan...haha
Well as for the gauge, it came from Japan with Greddy meters. Oil temp, exhaust temp and boost meter. Exhaust temp not working so left 2 meters functioning.
I just realize something. My boost does vary a little.
This is the scenario, just say you driving at about 80km/h and down shift to 3rd gear and floor the pedal, the boost goes to 0.5bar....during this time, release the accelerator and then floor it again, you will see the boost goes up to about 0.55-0.6bar for like 1 second then drops back to 0.5bar....I did this a few times and saw that this happens everytime I release then floor it again...Does this mean that my actuator needs replacing or its weakened? You guys try it out and see if it happens to you too.

Damn, the "CHECK" light's illuminating again. Argghh...........Any idea where to get replacement O2 sensor for this GTT? Many thanks bros.

yes....problem solved. thank you bro zephuros! now can go faster...hehe.

Don't lah like that...me malu lah. My rims+tyre also more heavier(slower) launch and u can out handle me on the canyon anytime. Me drive like old man lah...cruize only.:shades_smile:

Write your reply...