GTI badging

shelby

Anyone knew what really the " GTI " badging stands for? Cars like VW Golf GTI, Renault CLio GTI and our beloved Proton SGTI have same badging. Isit some kind of car specification to meet certain requirement?

As originally used on the Golf, it's "Grand Touring, Injection".

Originally posted by MK84@Jan 5 2005, 17:07
As originally used on the Golf, it's "Grand Touring, Injection".
thanks mate...but is there a detail specification to this term?

nah... dun think it means anything specific... thinks just a codename to differentiate between normal satrias and a higher spec.

SE = special edition?
(dont mean to offend anyone, but it sounds like some burger special to me)

And also, what does GT-R mean?
Grand touring racing?

i think the car has to have 130hp minimum to earn the gti badge

please correct me if i'm mistaken

grand tourismo in italian or french means "comfortable luxurious" hence GT
funny how i dont see it in a satria gti.... :rolleyes:

sorry if my spelling fucked up....dont know how to spell italian stuff....or is it in french.... :)

My friend is a GTI owner. The salesman told him that GTI meant Grand Tourismo Istimewa. Even the car user manual said so too.

Originally posted by NOSkill@Jan 7 2005, 15:09
My friend is a GTI owner. The salesman told him that GTI meant Grand Tourismo Istimewa. Even the car user manual said so too.
hmmm.. well.. i think the salesman is somewhat correct, but not on the GTi...

if u notice the old saga and iswara... some had "I" at the side rite? it does not represent injection, coz saga/iswara uses carbie engine.. it meant "ISTIMEWA".. gosh... sounds so stupid. :lol:

by the way... iswara wit EFI engines are the ones with "cares" sticker... not "I".

all this badges have been misused by car makers, the GT means Grand Touring, I is usually for injection.
R-racing
S-spec
SE-special edition
GT-R=GT+Racing
GT-S=GT+Supercharged
lots more babe.
yes you actually have to have a certain criteria to be able to use the GT badge, horsepower and acceleration rate are some of the things looked at.

ehhh...GT-S means supercharge :o

skyline GT-s is supercharge ah?

i tot between GT-R & GT-S the diff is single and twin turbo :huh:

err...corrrect me if i'm wrong :P

Write your reply...