Grounding Kit

Something about ICE... the car itself is also very important...i got a friend doing ICE shop he said car with loose part might cause lost of quality..when sound travel, hits on rattling metal parts, loost bolt or nuts, it might just lost some quality, because it already turn into some other energy ma...some better made car use multi layered glass for windows to sound proof...that is why soemtimes u will feel the sound quality is better in some cars...

JMO :P

DIY ICE is good... coz u wont lost any important screws... my car already lost a lot of screws... but when i decided to DIY... i found most of it... hahahaha....

i just done my DIY ICE last two weeks.. no pic taken tough... the most important this is u hooked the + and - wire of speaker right at amp, crossover and the speaker itself... one of it wrong.. sound is weird.. after some time u speaker dead.

I just wonder y after i installed the grounding kit my engine noise sound decrease? I still cant figure it out wat is the theory of it!!

Originally posted by jaywat@Mar 29 2005, 16:06
How does crossover looks like ?? how to connect?? :huh:
[snapback]851033[/snapback]​

when u buy a set of component set... it will include the passive crossover for u.
easy... only +-+-+- thing. u will understand when u see it. On the amp also will have +-+-+-. all stated very clearly.

crossover is used to seperate the frequencies to different speakers. for example the small tweeters recieving 3.5khz and above, coz tweeter cannot sing lower frequency.. it will spoiled. some speaker just giving small capacitor or inductor only.

i also interested in grounding my engine.. but dunno where to put the wires. one thing i'm curious of... why do we need to connect the wires back to negative pole of the battery? why can't we just ground direct to the car body.... since the battery actually ground to the car's body also!?!?!

if grounding direct to car body we save a lot of wires!
1 feet of branded wire cost me RM12 for my audio...
cheaper one still cost RM8 per feet (4gauge)

the RM8 one is actually lesser wires in it... more rubber altough both is same size.

and the RM12.. when u look at it.. the wires diameter is more, opened up..wala.. lots of wires. and this RM12 got something like silver coating.. dunno wht is it.. silver colour but inside is copper colour.

I have done the grounding on my car. Do we need to ground the condenser that connect to the distrubutor? If i'm not mistaken, distrubutor gets the current from the condenser

Originally posted by ccsoon1984@Mar 29 2005, 21:53
I have done the grounding on my car. Do we need to ground the condenser that connect to the distrubutor? If i'm not mistaken, distrubutor gets the current from the condenser
[snapback]851953[/snapback]​

huh?? not battery and alternator meh???

i saw my OEM grounding cable...
they all direct ground to the car body...
but quite small... i guess if i changed them to bigger
one will do.. and less length of wire needed.

why is it most grounding kit out there need to wire them
to the negative pole of battery? and eventually the battery
negative pole ground back to the car body.

Hi guys. Ive been following this thread for a while and it looks like almost everyone would suggest gettingthe grounding kit. Does it make a very big difference in overall performance of the car and ICE? I am considering getting it.

Kodiak

Originally posted by artnet@Mar 29 2005, 21:25
i also interested in grounding my engine.. but dunno where to put the wires. one thing i'm curious of... why do we need to connect the wires back to negative pole of the battery? why can't we just ground direct to the car body.... since the battery actually ground to the car's body also!?!?!

if grounding direct to car body we save a lot of wires!

the RM8 one is actually lesser wires in it... more rubber altough both is same size.

and the RM12.. when u look at it.. the wires diameter is more, opened up..wala.. lots of wires. and this RM12 got something like silver coating.. dunno wht is it.. silver colour but inside is copper colour.
[snapback]851890[/snapback]​

the main idea is to reduce resistance...it will b more wasted if u plan to use back the oem route with thicker wire, but actually do we really need 4awg? im using 8awg, got difference alreadylor.

actually tat coating is not silver, if it really is, i dun mine buying 1 or 2 roles......:P

those coating r to prevend oxidization......but not good for transfering current

Originally posted by artnet@Mar 29 2005, 21:25

[snapback]851890[/snapback]​

dude,
where do u buy ur 4gauge cables?? wat color??

Blue Colour rubber outside...
u will see that it is silver colour...
but when cut inside.. u will see copper colour in the middle.
Lightning Audio Strike 4awg cable.
i get it in my area sarawak.
too expensive ka?

ooh ic...

not expensive at all...its damn cheap!! for rm12 a meter... very hard to get in KL... still cant find any shops yet...

hmmmmm i don't know how much a feet normally cost...but why not try brothers or cosplus??? they sell in big roll man....i think should be cheaper??? :ph34r:

ooohh... like dat is very expensive...

jaywat,
brothers wan also not really cheap lar... not all things in brothers is cheap..