Grounding Kit

NightHunter,

sory lar bout dat pics... ok.. heres my grounding points:
all start from de battery -ve terminal to...
1. distributor
2. alternator
3. firewall near windscreen wiper motor
4. firewall at de middle
5. inlet manifold

u try to c my pic carefully cos at de points there is black in color.. so not so clear in pic.. B)

i wanan ask.. wat de grounding for?? i though when buy car it also got wire in to grounding..
i seldom know much about car.. jus wanan know more...

grounding kits or grounding wire is to make ur car have a lower resistance to conduct electricity betweeen ur car power supply n ur car electrical items...

when there is resistance (older cars will be higher).. de voltage dat reach de electrical items is not as much as de voltage from where it comes from.. so this is called voltage drop...

n when de voltage drop.. u get dim lights.. softer music.. poor connections.. etc... so grounding kit is to improve all to give u brighter lights, better bass, smoother engine.. etc..

hope dat helps...

Originally posted by xtorm@Mar 20 2005, 02:43
2 4awg for wat ahh? engine block n alternator?
[snapback]824298[/snapback]​

xtorm, 2 4guage cable connect to car body and battery terminal. will show you next time if you attend ICE TT

i was thinking...........a 8awg can handle roughly 60A or slightly more current right.y do we need 4 awg?

not de matter of amperes i think.. its de resistances of de cables..

thicker cable ==> lower resistance..

am i rite?

Checking with multimeter... I don't think it makes much difference lah...
0.01resistance only... :P

besides... If you used all 4AWG cables but all connected to 1 metel plate only... Resistance will still be there at the plate.

Correct me if i'm wrong...

well u have to also consider de resistance of de wire of ur multimeter also wor.. those wires r normal thin copper wires onli... n de reading from ur meter sure got some +-5% eror wan...

so it is hard to measure de resistance in an accurate way... unless u have precision equipments...

Before I install the grounding kit... since my Wira SE is a about a week old.. Does anybody know if installing the grounding kit would void the warranty?? :unsure:

i duno wor... if u r woried bout dat.. u ask those ppl when u take ur car for 1st service.... c wat they say lor...

if still worry.. then just wait for de warranty to expire... B)

Just take the thing off before you going for car servicing lo ;)...i no more going to proton for service already...fed up ....i rather pay more for better servicing...

wat lar.. molex so small sure create resistance liao.. then if grounding wire installed also useless...

jaywat.. how old is ur proton?? mine a week old got Ecu problems adi... sigh But i did install my grounding kit adi and went to acerssories shop to install fog lights on my bumper.. hehe :P Next week when frens free I will DIY my ICE :P

Aiyo... Got big big molex also mah.... :D
Or if want to overkill, go curi curi those TNB one see got any can fit into car or not... :P