Global Warming.. What Have U Done?!!

the problem with Lynas is simply fallout. what happens is that you need to entomb the wastes with land. and the land is more or less unusable.

IF it is so safe, and the scientists can manage it so well. Why don't they build Lynas in Australia? why ship back and forth Malaysia and Australia? Clearly the Australians are not stupid.

1. Lynas won't explode or anything like that.
2. Tsunami or earthquake come also, won't have risk of nuclear fallout like Japan
3. It is damn safe to work there, I also don't mind
4. The real issue is that the land Lynas is sitting on will be unusable, well, you can use it but over the span of a century your offsprings might grow an extra limb.

The main argument I have against Hybrids is that, its a marketing ploy really, it doesn't offer anything that we don't already have.
1. Fuel efficiency of hybrids - Have you seen turbo diesels? You get mileage AND torque. Also, hybrids are not efficient once you start pushing it. Turbo diesels are fuel efficient regardless, the torque is just there.
2. Low emissions - yes, hybrids ARE lower, diesels are not that far off. however, let's look at the next point
3. Fuel sources - Hybrids run on petrol, which is your normal dinosaur derived liquid, diesel can run B100, which is 100% vegetable/animal derived diesel fuel.
4. Damage to manufacture/dispose - hybrids need batteries, that needs lots of rare earth minerals which causes permanent damage to the land, also disposing of the batteries is additional headache. Diesels are just same as any other petrol engine car.

The Chevy volt on the other hand, is another class of its own. The Nissan Leaf may have batteries but that's got a different concept - as it is powered purely by electricity, one can argue the power is derived from solar or wind. At least I feel these has something more to offer than hybrids.

Izso,

What I want to say is already answered by D7zul. Every thing that is made abroad is shipped here. Not only hybrids. That is a sad fact but nevertheless necessary.

About hybrids, it may not be the best environmental friendly concept. But it is a good improvement i believe and can at least address the issue for medium term. Those pure electric cars are not even close to a match. Why? Although pure electric, the term "zero emission" is inaccurate. Like what one of our forumer said here, the electricity have to come from somewhere eventually. So if we charge it, our power stations will burn more fuel in the end. Same thing. But hybrids get their power from brake energy regeneration. It's converting wasted energy into usable energy. About those super clean burn engines from euro nowadays, no doubt they are superb. But let's see how the government deal with bringing them into our country... I am also waiting...

Izso,

What I want to say is already answered by D7zul. Every thing that is made abroad is shipped here. Not only hybrids. That is a sad fact but nevertheless necessary.

About hybrids, it may not be the best environmental friendly concept. But it is a good improvement i believe and can at least address the issue for medium term. Those pure electric cars are not even close to a match. Why? Although pure electric, the term "zero emission" is inaccurate. Like what one of our forumer said here, the electricity have to come from somewhere eventually. So if we charge it, our power stations will burn more fuel in the end. Same thing. But hybrids get their power from brake energy regeneration. It's converting wasted energy into usable energy. About those super clean burn engines from euro nowadays, no doubt they are superb. But let's see how the government deal with bringing them into our country... I am also waiting...

Dude, I agree that stuff are shipped here regardless. But the main difference is Hybrids are marketed as being environmentally friendly. Shipped cars are not environmentally friendly. Unless they are CKD in Thailand, but they are not. Other shipped from Japan things aren't marketed as being environmentally friendly.

And agreed on electric cars!

As Ixeo pointed out Diesels are way more efficient compared to hybrids. Only downside is the exhaust. Blue Motion and other ultra efficient clean burn engines will never make it to M'sia as long as there are protectionist policies covering our yet-to-stand-alone P1 and P2 companies. The other thing is our crappy diesel quality too.

Until then we can mod our cars to be ultra efficient too... 15km/L :biggrin: I keep gloating about my 3-speed auto doing 15km/L. :biggrin:

Dude, I agree that stuff are shipped here regardless. But the main difference is Hybrids are marketed as being environmentally friendly. Shipped cars are not environmentally friendly. Unless they are CKD in Thailand, but they are not. Other shipped from Japan things aren't marketed as being environmentally friendly.
Things that are shipped are not very environmentally friendly. Agreed on that. But the hybrids' claim of being environmentally friendly is referring to their technology. Not about their delivery. Okay, lets say if (a big IF), hybrids are assembled in thailand and sold here, will you think it is environmental friendly by then? That is what I meant. I'm not saying the sale of hybrids are green, but the way it runs.

And agreed on electric cars!
:rock:

As Ixeo pointed out Diesels are way more efficient compared to hybrids. Only downside is the exhaust. Blue Motion and other ultra efficient clean burn engines will never make it to M'sia as long as there are protectionist policies covering our yet-to-stand-alone P1 and P2 companies. The other thing is our crappy diesel quality too.
This is a sad fact. Our diesel. I just touched down from london actually. During my stay there, I can say 95% of cars is diesel. Their diesel is damn clean. No black smoke whatsoever. All that comes out is just water vapor visible as a slight white smoke in cold morning. And its damn powerful. I travelled quite often in my boss's Merc E 220 CDI Estate. A very heavy car with a 2.2 diesel engine. I thought it is going to suck at first. But I was seriously wrong... Damn torquey!

Until then we can mod our cars to be ultra efficient too... 15km/L :biggrin: I keep gloating about my 3-speed auto doing 15km/L. :biggrin:
This, the thing you have bene claiming, I still find it very hard to accept. Sorry bro please take it as a compliment :biggrin:. I think it is very bit believable as we all know you are not a keyboard warrior. You actually do things! It's just that, it is still way beyond my comprehension at the moment....

Things that are shipped are not very environmentally friendly. Agreed on that. But the hybrids' claim of being environmentally friendly is referring to their technology. Not about their delivery. Okay, lets say if (a big IF), hybrids are assembled in thailand and sold here, will you think it is environmental friendly by then? That is what I meant. I'm not saying the sale of hybrids are green, but the way it runs.

Ah.. good point. But having said that - how is the battery enviro friendly? You can run it clean etc etc but making it and disposing it make it very contradictory. It's pretty much like saying I am environmentally conscious cuz I recycle.. but in the background I drive a gas guzzling super polluting truck and have my 10 aircons on the whole day.

A very heavy car with a 2.2 diesel engine. I thought it is going to suck at first. But I was seriously wrong... Damn torquey!

Find me a diesel that has crappy torque and you have yourself a crappy car! (like that Wira diesel.. gawd)

This, the thing you have bene claiming, I still find it very hard to accept. Sorry bro please take it as a compliment :biggrin:. I think it is very bit believable as we all know you are not a keyboard warrior. You actually do things! It's just that, it is still way beyond my comprehension at the moment....

Hehehe.. everyone says that since it's pretty near hybrid territory. But you gotta understand exactly how much I spent on modifying my car to be like this. If I spent the same amount of money on a hybrid (god forbid) the hybrid would have a supercharger and probably be super efficient too. And to be fair, if I drive like a heavy-footed imbecile wearing leadshoes, I'd probably get 11 or 12km/L la. And my 'tuner' was an engineer for a reputable car company for some years before coming back to KL. I dare say he knew what he was doing when he did the PNP and stuff. I was just the labour, he was the brains! :biggrin:

The effort continues...

to save the planet (& save my pocket of coz) :biggrin:

1st pic.. serai makan & pokok pandan

2nd pic.. my KE70 with NGV.. not as powerful as petrol.. but there's a switch to turn it back to petrol :wink:

• DSC_0099.jpg
    DSC_0099.jpg
    71.2 KB · Views: 91
  • DSC_0102.jpg
    DSC_0102.jpg
    64.7 KB · Views: 91
The effort continues...

to save the planet (& save my pocket of coz) :biggrin:

1st pic.. serai makan & pokok pandan

2nd pic.. my KE70 with NGV.. not as powerful as petrol.. but there's a switch to turn it back to petrol :wink:

Heard that if you tune to both NGV and petrol, the power is less when using NGV, but if tune to only NGV, seems the power is better.....but then if cannot find NGV station don't know what will happen if use petrol.....

that's good to hear..

but i think i like my car to be a Hybrid of Petrol & NGV.. hehe :biggrin:

I want to use E85 to have renewable energy, but Malaysia government never push, how? Can change government ar?

I but CRZ, I use less aircond, I make sure fridge not so cold, I use less lights, I dun rempit so much ... I did cut down on my electricity and petrol bills. :0)

I want to use E85 to have renewable energy, but Malaysia government never push, how? Can change government ar?

from wikipedia..

"Production of ethanol from corn drives up world food prices and may not reduce carbon emissions, due to the petroleum and natural gas used in raising corn and refining it into ethanol. Ethanol produced from waste materials or fast growing non-food crops such as switchgrass is much more beneficial, but not yet economically practical at large scale."

Source : E85 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Aiyoh, always a behind scene scenario.... Like full electric car, got no emission, but to produce the electric??

We have done a lot of harm to the environment :biggrin: for removing "Kucing" is one of them...:smile:

The best alternative available today is NGV..

this is their benefit (copied from another website) happy reading :

NGV Environmental Benefits

NGV Environmental Benefits Natural gas is one of the cleanest burning alternative transportation fuels available today. Long recognized as an excellent fuel when used to generate electricity, heat homes, and fuel industrial facilities, natural gas is emerging as a leader in the alternative fuels marketplace.

Using natural gas as vehicle fuel helps the environment by positively affecting:

1. Air Quality
2. More Benefits

In addition, natural gas does not contaminate lakes, rivers, or groundwater as petroleum fuels do because it quickly dissipates into the atmosphere if a leak or spill occurs.

Commercially available medium and heavy-duty natural gas engines have demonstrated over 90% reduction in particulate matter and more than 50 percent reduction in nitrogen oxides (NOx) relative to commercial diesel engines. Natural gas engines also produce less greenhouse gases (CO2) that contribute to global warming.

See the Alternative Fuels and Advanced Vehicles Data Center (AFDC) for more information.

Energy Efficiency

Beyond the role of the fuel used in affecting CO2 emissions, the efficiency of the engine used affects the rate of CO2 emission. Obviously the use of more efficient engines results in greater fuel economy and associated lower CO2 emissions. Generally, diesel cycle engines Otto cycle. Spark ignition engines, which are in turn more efficient than gas turbine, jet engines. Use of any of these engines within hybrid cycles improves the overall efficiency of the system.

Different engines have different efficiency curves depending on the load on the engine. Hybrid engine efficiencies vary depending on the drive cycle of the vehicle. Vehicles used in stop and go urban applications where regenerative braking is used to capture and store braking energy show greater efficiency gains than vehicles used in highway transit applications. Natural gas hybrids are currently being used in a limited number of applications and promise impressive CO2 reductions.

Natural gas can be used in both spark ignition engines as well as diesel engines. Use of natural gas in a diesel engine generally requires a small amount of diesel fuel to initiate the combustion. This pilot fuel generally accounts for less than 1 percent to 20 percent of the fuel mixture depending on the load and the engine.

Engine/Fuel Combinations

By mixing various fuels with various engine cycles, you can quickly derive the optimum mix of engines, fuels, and technologies. An ultimate hybrid configuration would be to use a natural gas dual-fueled engine, piloted by biodiesel fuel, configured in a plug-in hybrid and would result in very low CO2 emissions. When the CO2 emissions of this configuration are compared with a hydrogen fuel cell, the overall "wellhead to wheel" CO2 emissions would be comparable to a hydrogen fuel cell vehicle, assuming that the electricity is derived from a fossil fuel.

Emission Comparisons

Over time, natural gas has effectively set the standard for the engine industry in demonstrating greater and greater emission reductions. As a result, diesel engine manufacturers have continually struggled to meet the emission performance of natural gas engines especially for NOx. No matter how clean diesel technology has become, natural gas engines have always remained lower in overall NOx emissions.

More Benefits

Noise:

Noise emissions from natural gas fuel engines are less intrusive in the environment than noise from diesel engines. Noise from natural gas engines is generally not as loud and is less bothersome than the lower pitch rumble associated with diesel engines. Because natural gas engines don't emit the same degree of high energy sound waves as diesel engines, transit, school buses and refuse trucks operating in urban neighborhoods are likely to be less objectionable than their diesel equivalent. In addition, the lower pitched diesel rumble sound waves will travel further before dissipation than higher pitched noise and thus creates a greater noise footprint in the environment.

Worker exposure (air emissions, noise, and odor):

While most environmental assessments generally focus on the impact of emissions on ambient air quality, these reductions also limit worker exposure and improve the working environment.

Spills and ground water impacts:

Spills and leaks of liquid petroleum products (gasoline and diesel fuels) routinely contaminate surface water and groundwater.

Natural gas cannot contaminate these water supplies as it vaporizes into the atmosphere if released. The costs to build and operate spill prevention and control facilities are not generally considered in comparing traditional fuels against natural gas. As such it is a hidden, though very real cost to owners of facilities dispensing and using liquid petroleum products.