Finding 20V piston+rod

TRDae92

I just wanna get the 20v piston+rod together for my NA mod. But got ppl offer me the price for. Just for quote only....... still consider if price still reasonable. Got anyone can offer me the price????

svt piston + rods (below RM150)
bt piston + rods (below RM200)

i'm now quoted with those prices for those items.

better go for new set... or if got $$$, re-bro cylinder and max the capacity out.

WLW those are dirt cheap prices for stock pistons + rods. if they're in good condition and u're not planning to follow 4AGZE's suggestions, those are a good buy.

perhaps its good that u want to start from basic mods with stock piston first, but like 4AGZE said, since i guess that u are planning to go far with these mods, why not skip ahead to better oversize pistons and bore the block out? a little more wait for $$$ is worth it IMO.. unless u got no car to drive that is

I do agree the suggestion, but really , me only satu kereta. that's the difficultly lar.. yet it take long times to do....$$$ also, just wanna get my car done asap, ai......anyway, is that better i change the ring too???? better don't use lama punya horr......

of course. used rings are like genting. u gamble. u lose, u pay. u win, keep quiet lor..

the choice is up to u. risk it at your own peril. muahahahaha

short version: better change the rings. LOL

OK, better change new set of ring lar, yalar....how much does the ring cost hor???? one things that what is the different with 20v SVT & BT piston???....i look both the shape different lar??..... siffooos......

The original Toyota rings i dunno lah but as for Kings brond hor, it cost about RM350-400. I cant remember mine is how much liao... BT and SVT piston different is the compression rate lah. BT is higher than SVT. 4AGZE is rite oso, better bore the block and get a set of BT Forged oversized pistons. can guarantee u will feel the power.... u can trust me coz i have done it... hehe...

i recon u do it once and for all loh. no headache.

The original Toyota rings i dunno lah but as for Kings brand hor, it cost about RM350-400. I cant remember mine is how much liao... BT and SVT piston different is the compression rate lah. BT is higher than SVT. 4AGZE is rite oso, better bore the block and get a set of BT Forged oversized pistons. can guarantee u will feel the power.... u can trust me coz i have done it... hehe...

i recon u do it once and for all loh. no headache.

BT internals are much lighter and higher compression than SVT

Blacktop Piston rings go around for approx ~RM180 - Toyota OEM parts.

Taiwan made spare parts could be as cheap as ~RM100

Warr....AE80TypeD, u sure the price for the ring is that, i thought is about 200++ lar... hmm....get toyota OEM, SVT and BT ring are the same right??

Aiks?! i thought u all are talking bout the conrod bearing? ausheh... sorry guys ... just gave the wrong information laio ... hehehehe... sorry.....

Just wanna check, what's the reason for u to change Piston and Rods? If you plan just to simply replace them better don't. Because I seen firsthand that even a 14 years old 20V Silvertop only require Piston Rings changed because the Block, Rods and Pistons are still within factory clearences - 20V motor are built t last and it is EXTREMELY difficult for them to wear out. Again 20V Rods and Crankshaft are Forged from factory, not casted, so typically only perishable items like main and rod bearings and Piston Rings will be exhausted.

BUT, if you plan to run overbore then it is a different story altogether.

agreed with EFN, just sent your engine to Speedwork or Powerzone to have it rebalanced, change the piston rings, blue printing it, etc...

What EFN says is true... 20V is built to last very long unless ur perishable items like conrod bearing o piston ring exhausted lah then no choice loh... might as well u just save some money on others like beautify ur car... (just a suggestion)... :)

trd_ae92 said:
Warr....AE80TypeD, u sure the price for the ring is that, i thought is about 200++ lar... hmm....get toyota OEM, SVT and BT ring are the same right??

well, i wouldnt know how much they would cost elsewhere, but thats the price i bought it for when i transplanted and overhauled my engine. perhaps i got a discount, even i dont know for sure.