F1 tyres not allowed on highways?

Errr .. i think i have to disagre on the medium used to pressureise the tyre..If it was just plain normal air, like what we were using..the heat generated from the firction of the tyre and the tarmac, heat from the brakes and also enviroment temperature would cause the air inside the tyre to expand and ultimately cause the tyre to fail. Nitrogen is filled cause it can withstand the varients of temperature.

How did i get this info? Cause iam able to access paddock pit area during the Sepang F1 race :biggrin: and there was a big pump labeled nitrogen and a guy from bridgestone was using it to adjust the pressure in one F1 tyre ..

About driving an F1 car in the highway .. i geuss if the roads were super clean and pot hole free .. i dont see y it cant be done. .. maybe not for long la since the tyre might haus fast .. but .. its is possible ..

gary said:
another interesting thing to note is, f1 cars do not have tyres inflated by nitrogen. Just plain old air thats pumped thru a special dryer.

i'll have to disagree on that point.. i've spoken to michelin engineers before and they've mentioned that in f1 they would fill, remove then refill, the remove again and finally refill with nitrogen to ensure that the air inside the tire is completely dry and therefore the rate of expansion is consistant..
even in JGTC only nitrogen is being used..
although using dry compressed air is more stable that normal compressed air, the composition of air(O2, CO2,N2 etc) will not ensure a consistant/predictable expansion when heated as gasses such as O2 is not inert..

all very valid arguements... but over a ludricious topic of "why an F1 tire is not allowed for highway use" ???

imagine cars fitted with F1 tires... we'd all be on 13 inch rims and will look pretty silly right?

:biggrin: Maybe its filled with chocolate syrup ! ...

Kancil with rear F1 Tyres would look cool .. hehe :rock:

gary said:
all tyre manufacturers have a standard when it comes to info thats printed on the side of their tyres. in this case, they're probably just doing the usual SOP(standard operating procedure) when making the F1 tyres as they usually do for all the rest of their tyres.

another interesting thing to note is that, all f1 tyres, old, used, or new are tracked by the tyre manufacturer. no 3rd party are allowed to buy them, even when used. This is to protect the technology thats gone into their tyres.

another interesting thing to note is, f1 cars do not have tyres inflated by nitrogen. Just plain old air thats pumped thru a special dryer.
Some F1 cars are sold to 3rd party. If they are really2 rich. Ferrari even customized the seat for the buyer. And they sell it including the tyres also :P

RPM_freak said:
About driving an F1 car in the highway .. i geuss if the roads were super clean and pot hole free .. i dont see y it cant be done. .. maybe not for long la since the tyre might haus fast .. but .. its is possible ..

yea..i have the same idea too. in fact, only malaysian highways are not "pot hole" free. haha..as for lengevity. i think it should be ok coz only minimal steering input is needed on the highway. imagine driving along autobahn with a track temperature of 15 degrees. i think the F1 car needs to stop for petrol 1st b4 changing the tire :P imagine a fuel consumption figure of 4km = 3 litres. just shocking...wonder if they're hit by the petrol price hike