Casino Royale... Not too good :(

cyclonite

Just came back from Casino Royale... it's amazing we could still get tix over the counter at the last min. Btw I watched at Cineleisure hall 6 which is THX certified.

The movie is a little slow moving at some parts... especially the romantic scenes... it's not as action packed as the previous 4 by PB.

There are NO and ABSOLUTELY NO gadgets used in this movie.

It doesn't even feel like a James Bond movie... as there isn't much terrorism activity.

The worse part of the show was when Bond's aston martin DB9 overturned and flipped when he swerved to avoid the girl on the road... I don't know why Aston Martin allowed them to film the car like that because even my proton wira won't overturn when avoiding obstacles on a road like that la... anyway which sedan car will overturn when you do that wan?? no impact also...

anyway the whole show is crap la... not nice.. not what anyone would expect from a bond movie..

VERY DISAPPOINTING...

the hydraulic pump overworked during the aston flip scene i guess .

the movie is suppose to show how he became james bond , what did u expect lol

but...
it's a james bond movie..
i cant just skipped this coz all the criticism..
hahahaha..
die hard fan..
even my old man n mom follows it..

They wanted to go back to the basics, back to the novel. One if which is no Bond gadgets.

I haven't watched it yet, but I hope you guys aren't judging it purely by how you expect Bond movies to be.

Many said it would be a flop. I guess it's now living proof that it is. buahahaha Get the porn version of james bond la. hahaha

Somehow, I saw this coming..I'v only watched Bond films for the gadgets and mostly the cars, which in Casino Royale..is very dissapointing. Big budget, but big flop.

Dont know why actions flix's are becoming more and more crappy..like MI3

i dont mind the not too many gadgets (even if in our younger days we fell in love with bond is because of the girls, cars & gadgets)

I havent watch it (movie) but seen trailers. my gut feeling is that craig doesnt have the suave bond charisma.

cyclonite, maybe craig could flip the aston because he doesnt know how to drive stick?? (joke)

Well its like this. Brocolli (the people who own the movie rights to 007) never had the rights to Casino Royale till the 90's. So, now they've got the opportunity to do the first story of James Bond (Casino Royale is the first Ian Fleming work on 007), the introduction of 007. With this comes the chance to reboot the whole series and start all over again. People who watch the earlier Bond (like really early) films will probably not fret about the lack of glamour and gadgets. I don't.

Bond has been described in the book as a blunt tool. So far for the suave and sophisticated persona of Pierce Brosnan, for example, the real Bond starts off as more of a thug and brawler, rugged and not a dashing super spy.

TIPU!
there is gadgets
his electric shock thingy and the blue medicine...
the electric shock thingy is the gadget
but he's a cheap cheat
ppl not using gun,he use MP5 shoot ppl leg..samore use silencer...cilaka him

I also watched the movie last nite at cineleisure hall 6. Are you kidding me? It's a great movie. I loved it. Yea, not too many hi tech gadgets but I don't really mind that. I mean the whole movie was action packed. Timing was right and it kept me glued to the screen for the whole 2hrs 40mins. It's one of those movies where I felt like as if it was only an hour had it been other movies.

I am not too much into the love scenes anyway and I feel its a good mixture, you know fast action and a bit of slow paced love. Besides, its sort of like a remake and since he was just "licensed to kill", you don't get that much gadgets. The new Bond is not much of a pretty boy if compared to Brosnan but he is one of those where you have this feeling you have with a not so pretty girl which when you get to know her longer, you start finding her attractive kinda feeling. I'd say he does a better job in making Bond looks tough and brutal. His predecessor just didn't hit it. He looks more like a play boy to me than a licensed to kill kinda guy, you know what I mean? :D

Yea, the flipping of the Aston Martin was just downright fake BUT, it was a really sweet car. The engine growl could virtually make me wet my pants. Anyway, this is just my point of view anyway, but I really did enjoy it. Previously, I tend to prefer Mission Impossible over James Bond but now, this latest one makes it on par if not better than MI. :D

simonchangwaimun said:
TIPU!
there is gadgets
his electric shock thingy and the blue medicine...
the electric shock thingy is the gadget
but he's a cheap cheat
ppl not using gun,he use MP5 shoot ppl leg..samore use silencer...cilaka him
Haha, if someone stole 100 million from me, I also won't give a hood whether he uses a gun or not. I'd just shoot him on his legs as well. lol.

nice or not, i will still go there n watch it 1st,

then only i judge....

gonna watch it tmrw nite....yehaaaaaaaaa

dis one suppose 2 be how he became james bond le... yday watch at cineleisure hall 8 mutiara damansara.. got free 2 tickets by TNT company so me n wife went.. basically crowded but den movie start around 10pm+ den end about 12.30am++ dem kaw late den come out all exits to stairs has been block and close.. sighhh! den all ppl try to masok lif so had to wait for the turn.. some had to go back into the cinema hall and exit from de main one and use escalator down.. sigh!

Overall movie is rating 7/10 so consider above average altho dun use much gadgets.. but de part where he chase after de fella until de embassy one dem cun.. wahhhh can really climb up to the tower crane.. eheheheheheehe.. and 2 chick dem cun including villians chick oso not bad afterall.. stim stim! ehehheehehehehee... de car engine roaring sound oso dem cun but wasted le when terbalik time.. aiiihhhh.. hehheehhe!

Regards,
Mike