Extractor thermowrap.......

guys i'm sorry if i posted at the wrong thread.. couldn't find the correct one. anyway i was wondering is it possible to spray black paint onto the exhaust header? was thinking of ceramic coating but expensive leh...

nope....normal paint will melt when ur engine runs... ur extractor temperature is well above ur paint melting point... even if u say spray with high temp paint, black paint wont do any good keeping temperature up inside...

unless u spray ur extractor with this then got help lo...

http://www.boostplanet.com/images/coatingfull.jpg

free somore ar.....hahahaha.....lucky lor u.
:biggrin:

that fren bought it long time ago and got no time to do it...then when its time, he found Thermo-Tec so he bought it on the spot, forgetting that he bought the wrapping ages ago... so when I've asked about it (at that time, I dunno what its uses are)...he just gives it to me without batting an eyelid :rofl:

nope....normal paint will melt when ur engine runs... ur extractor temperature is well above ur paint melting point... even if u say spray with high temp paint, black paint wont do any good keeping temperature up inside...

yup...just gives a nice black coating w/o any effect on the temp...it might keep it from rusty though

alright.. thanx skywalker. are these available in jusco or tesco?

not sure whether can order over the net, bkos these things fall under 'hazardous materials' category...

http://www.centuryperformance.com/heatwraps.asp

I doubt the credibility of this website it is after all trying to sell you the idea of ceramic coating. From an engineering point of view the ceramic coating and thermal wrap does the same thing like it was said in the website "If you want a true thermal barrier that will reduce thermal loss in the header". Isn't that the same function as the wrap?
"Most all of the coating companies offer inside and outside" .Currently as i know but i might be wrong coating is done by spraying atomized ceramics on to the surface. The diameter of an exhaust manifold is small compared to the length and no spray gun can go all the way in.

did the website offer ceramic coating services? i cant recall now, lazy to check hehe

which points have u found debatable?

of course the function of the wrap is the same as the ceramic coating in this case, but as stated, it has its cons

mine is wrapped tho :biggrin: cheeper hehe cant afford to send my header across the sea to be ceramic coated...

know someone who is using a hotbits header + wrap combo for a coupla yrs....header cracked, not sure if the header is known to crack or not...but just fyi...

are hotbit ones known to crack tho? supposed to be one of the better ones out there

it may be a one-off case, i donno

Wanted to wrap headers bt heard that it shortens the lifespan of it. Keeping the extensive heat within.

In the article it says that the outer part actually needs to breath, which means disperse the heat yes?

Then has anyone tried the TSD Boron Nitride spray? Its supposed to disperse heat...would that be better?

Wanted to wrap headers bt heard that it shortens the lifespan of it. Keeping the extensive heat within.

In the article it says that the outer part actually needs to breath, which means disperse the heat yes?

Then has anyone tried the TSD Boron Nitride spray? Its supposed to disperse heat...would that be better?
no u shouldnt disperse heat from ur extractor... u should contain the heat as much as hotter exhaust gas travels/exits faster compare to cooler gas...

tsd boron nitride suitable for radiator, intercooler, oil sump, brake caliper, etc... whichever that needs to disperse heat efficiently....

My problem is that my hood gets so hot I can goreng telur after a hard drive.

So Sky, thermal wrap can reduce that right?...Need to DIY a heatshield this weekend too.

My problem is that my hood gets so hot I can goreng telur after a hard drive.

So Sky, thermal wrap can reduce that right?...Need to DIY a heatshield this weekend too.
best is to have it ceramic coated... but since da price is so damn 9 7 high, thermal wrap should do... make sure u have good extractor (material wise) so it wont crack so easily.... do heatshield for ur extractor as well.... heatshield can help contain heat abit, while avoid it from getting splashed with water...

cold water n hot surface contact will cause things to warp... which i suspect why some exposed extractor (no heatshield and with hood scoop) tend to crack easily....

Thanks for the advise Sky...yup..thermal wrap it is. Need to shop for one good and el cheapo one...:idea:

can any sifu give accurate experienced facts ?

something I'd like to know

- NA cars 1600cc-3000cc needs thermal wrap

or

- Turbo cars 1600cc-3000cc need thermal wrap

???????

PRIORITY = HORSEPOWER and RESPOND (if less than 10% improvement, plz dont tell me)

plz enlighten, I eager to know