Excimo 2.0

smartass

Hi all,

Am looking at a cefiro excimo yr 2003. Full service records and 80k km on the clock. I wonder what is the difference in kits and finish between 2003 and now 2006 model? How about maintenance? Fuel consumption? What should I be on the look out for?

THanks for your sound advices. :regular_smile:

Nice. Company car?

Anyway, a car that has done so little mileage, probably no damage on the engine. Start up and see if it runs smooth. Gears should shift without any jerking. Slip into reverse and it should not jolt.

Then look for signs of impact. The ceffy is sports a very hard chasis, so the usual bumper to bumper small knocks will not affect it.

Fuel consumption for this car...will in part depend on the size of engine. A well maintained 3 litre will do about 400 kms per full tank of fuel in traffic jam. A 2 litre does better but not by very much, as the car is heavy. The 2 litre is a little under-powered (a personal opinion), but the addition of a y-pipe and a washable air filter insert will gain it about 20 - 30 bhp.

Maintenance...will depend on the current condition of the car. If it has been maintained properly, then the only parts that you may need to change are the shocks. I would, however, also change the fuel filter as after 3 years, I doubt that it is still clean. Other than that, change the oil often, and just enjoy the drive.

Hi defcon,

Yup. Company car. I know the user. Hence, no accidents before. Runs extremely smooth and good sound proofing (or could be enginee too refined... hehe)

For shocks, I am thinking of Titan as i've got good reviews by frens and also forums. Original feels too bouncy...

Also, one of my frens recommended me about unichip to increase HP and TQ as this car is heavy. Fuel consumption is also better. Any ideas or feedback?

Does just a Y pipe and an aftermarket filter increases so much HP? hmmm...

hi...some ppl in the industry say the used car prices will drop again after CNY...probably another few k if u can wait that long...unless ur friend is giving u special price...

titan is one of the better option for cefiro but a bit pricey. besides that, u need time n knowledge on what u want. its time consuming to get the right combination although uncle richard (the boss) is willing to do whatever u want.

another option: Koni + Eibach prokit. straight from the shelf n bolt-on. no prob whatsoever...but a lot more expensive...

i heard about unichip as well. they do increase between 5-8hp n cost around rm2k! not worth it if u ask me...better go for Y-pipe (only around rm400) but u get the almost same effect...the prob will be finding good exhaust shop that knows everything...

air filter is a must if u ask me...if u try knn b4, u will never go back to original air filter..:biggrin:

Unichip is not worth it for the small power increase they produce...get the Y-Pipe, good drop-in air filter, and raise the fuel pressure to 4.0 bars...should give you a little bit of a kick... :smile: