RPM Meter - Irregular Fuel Flow

Hi All Senior Members,

Happy to join the club. Would need your advice on the following problem:-

I'm driving a Cefiro 2.0 1999 model. Recently there was a problem indicated by my car's RPM meter. When I got stuck in the jam and the car was crawling (moving very slowly or stopped at interval times), the RPM pin was not stable and moving up and down between the range of 0 - 1,000 rpm, eventually engine stopped. It happened few times.

Can you please advise me what would be the possible problems and what are the engine parts I need to check?

Thank you,

New member,
dquest

It's time to clean your IACV

I think it's time to clean your IACV (idle air control valve)

Thanks very much for your advice.

Already sent my car to service IACV this morning. The mechanic checked and serviced the IACV and throttle body and changed the part that is connected to it (3"X3" square box - not sure if it's called 'Air Flow Sensor').

It seemed the RPM meter stabilised at 800rpm during 'N' mode and 600rpm during 'D' mode (both with air-cond on). However, after a long distance drive at normal speed and then when I got stuck in the jam and crawling at 'D' mode for a while, the RPM became unstable and then car stalled again. Fortunately I could restart the car and drive again.

Hope that you all can advise me what else can I do to solve the above problem.

Thank you.

Does it always happen when your car is in jam? In what other operating conditions does this happen?

Does your car overheat? Does this happen only when the engine is hot? Does it happen when the engine is cold?

Try to give us more info, or alternatively, try to meet some of our more tech members so that it can be test driven.

It happens when my car is in the jam for a while, engine at normal operating tempreture - no overheating issue.
Other times were when I just started the car (engine was cold) and had to make 3-point turn to come out from the parking lot, the engine stalled when I pressed the brake.

Anyway, is it really necessary to change the Air Flow Sensor as advised by the mechanic? Sometimes I find a bit difficult to trust the mechanic as he would tell you changing the parts will solve the problem. But after that problem persists and he would tell you it could be other parts are faulty.

Hope the info will help.

hi dquest ,
can you try to do a right turning and see it happen or not ?
if it happened during turning it could be crack or vacuum leak on air filter box.
I having this problem before, i found my air collector box crack.(square box after air flow sensor)

maybe theres a fuel cut ? or fuel limiter(to save petrol 1 ) ........

MAYBE ONLY .... dun laugh at me ...

Have to see the car to be sure and check it out. Some sort of vacuum leak is probable. Maybe a sensor problem...

Dear members,

The mechanic has replaced with another Air Flow Sensor and the car is currently working ok. Will observe further. If anything, will keep you update.

Thanks.