Evo Brake Pads

deRedd

hi evo sifus,

im looking for brake pads and would appreciate it if you could please recommend brake pads for fast road use and pure track use.

also, if u can, please provide estimate cost and where the pads can be obtained.

thanks!

redd

endless, project mu, major market available brands lor.....in SSracing , N1, wangan racing.....

u can ask S9 abt SSracing info

not a sifu la..just sharing my personal guidelines, assuming is on evo. Note that is more on the quality of the pads, material and operating temp. Should not be differ much most of the well known aftermarket pads.

Stock brembos, - less than 200c.

For street use (fast driving lo) - 350c-450c

For track use - Anything above 450c-750c

Hardcore track junkies ! - get 750c and above !

Price varies among brands even at same range so strongly suggest you go do some shopping survey la.

ah yeah..take note that if u choose those hardcore pads for high temp, chances are it will spoil your stock brembo rotors (as in my case) as the pads are too hard for the rotors. Hence u need to upgrade ur rotors as well..get a good forge rotors if that's the case.

im looking for a bit more info than that.

i drive an alfa 156 and i have had extensive experience with both Ferodo and Mintex fast road and race pads. ive used DS2500, DS3000, mintex 1144 and F4R.

recently, i upgraded to 4-pot calipers in front which thankfully share the same pads as the evo. which is why im here to see what sort of pads u evo sifus recommend for fast road use, and pure track use. i am well familiar with the usual brand names but i'd like to hear it from an evo owners mouth which are good, worth the money to buy, and which to avoid.

anyone can advice?

redd

First of all, what rotors are you using ? That would help us to recommend better rather than everyone comes in and tell you how good their own pad is and which they are using.

You mention both street and tracks. So you need to have 2 sets of pads or you are looking to kill 2 bird with 1 stone pads ?

lastly, what were the specs and temp rate for DS2500, DS3000, mintex 1144 and F4R ? Are they abestos based ? (sorry, I am not familiar with Mintex). There are quite a number of Feredos in the market in terms of quality and models and they also produces lots of OEM high performance pads for tuners market.

The local made Feredos are a no no for track ! Those are merely using the names.

i am currently on stock flat discs, not the drilled/slotted kind. certainly not any forged discs.

i am looking for one type of pad for normal driving, ie fast road, use. and another set for track use.

not sure the temp ranges for the ferodo/mintex pads ive used. i think its irrelevant anyway as i dont have temp-sensitive paint and cant measure the temps the brakes get up to at track.

i would like to hear everyone's input - hopefully its with some technical basis, other than "my mechanic told me its good" or "i liked the blue color on the backing plate" - so i can make my own informed decisions. :)

maybe ill rephrase the question - what pads are u evo owners using now on ur cars and what is the feedback on those pads? also, do u track the car at all?

redd

i'm using project mu 2 piece rotor and project mu HC+ 0-800 degree pad for front, rear still remain the stock set up. for sure no problem use for street driving while in SIC track i manage to brake on 100 meter before go into turn 1 with the speed around 190km/h. btw, it will make ur rim dirty easily with the brake pad dust...

hi cyilaw, thanks for the info. how much shd i expect these pads to cost?

dusting is not an issue. any performance pad worth its salt will produce dust anyway.

one last question - do the project mu 0-800 pads fade at track? if so, how many laps can u go before they start to feel tired?

redd

the pad will cost u around Rm700++ Rm800++, depend on the brand and which model u get.

so far i tried continue 5-7 laps on track, dint feel serious losing of brake force. btw, my set up is all steel brake hose, front and rear, then front brake pad and rotor changed...

me changed to TRW 650 deg pads less than couple of months with PMU pro rotors & steel braided brake hoses.

never gotten the chance to test it at sepang as of yet but had no problem during ulu yam night run. Also, never had any problem anticipating late braking everyday. Dusty initially, but kind of okay after the pad bed it. No squeeling during cold start too.

pads cheap - approx rm450 for front pair. hope the info helps.

thanks for the info guys! at RM700-800 per set i think i'll stick with the Ferodo DS2500 which are excellent fast road/semi-track pads. problem is i have to import on my own. sigh, back to square one again, i guess. :)

redd

pads is one thing - hoses and rotors plays important role too. I think stock brembo rotors only perform optimally up to 400 degree. Above that it wont handle the heat efficiently. same goes to hoses too - rubber hoses expand in heat.

no point having high performance pads but other important brakes components are not properly upgraded. The first thing in the list that i certainly would changed before going into track would be the steel braded hose. I've done avg below 3 minutes perlap on stock brembo pads with some late breaking on the final turning and lasted me for 6-7 laps before heading to pit. steel braided hoses made obvious differences.

Come to think of it, do you really need so0 expensive pads for daily driving use?

my 2 kupang!

using endless ss 500 on mine...with project Mu SCR rotor for front..last time spoiled my front rotor with that endless pads...guess the deg temp just not mathing liao!

chemical, good advice. i already have sparco steel braided hoses. frankly, hoses dont help with brake fade. they only help with pedal feel. fade is caused by pads and/or fluid.

i was forced to use DS2500 pads with my previous brakes due to the heavy weight of my car and cos i use the car for back road runs pretty often. for track i had to use track pads - mintex F4R (excellent) or ferodo DS3000 (sucks) - or they would fade very early. i do sub-3 min laptimes, too, and overheating brakes was a major issue for me.

with the big brake kit im hoping i can get away with cheaper/colder pads for street use and maybe use fast road pads for track. which is why im here getting advice from you guys who're familiar with the big brakes, fo find out what you all are using on your cars.

some of my scooby friends - did i say a bad word? ;) - are using this brand of pads called RS. local-made, and quite well recommended. cheap too - 0-800 pads only RM300. anyone tried them or got any feedback?

cheers! :)

redd

The DS2500 is the fast road/track pad of choice for the Evo users in the UK, and the do a few laps of the Nurburgring before it starts to give up.

But I suspect that turns 1 and 14 of Sepang will make short work of anything that isn't track-biased, especially since the 156, with your stroked V6 no less, packs a lot of weight.

Still, you'd weigh no more than a current Evo, so may want to investigate your rotors before you move on to the hotter pads.

My experience, Project Miu, eating the rotors, stopping power can acceptable.

After than I change to EBC, front Red and rear Green. This is a big mistake I've done. The car won't stop as I wanted when in cold. Only when it get warm then only can feel the braking and not likely to accept. Once try cruising in highway to kl making 160 ~ 170km/s, that's veryvery nice braking feel I ever had for the EBC red.

But I'm not cruising at that speed all the time. Finally replace a set of normal Bendix metal king. For normal cruising so far so good. Acceptable but havent try heavy food. As you guys know, Bendix is not bad, the disadvantages, only the dust.

Thank you.