Need help from all evo sifu here~~

evolex

Nov 22, 2010
Kuching
hi all, i'm new here. im an evo5 owner... recently i have a braking issue with evo... the sound from the disc brake when tekan... so irritating... got some mechanical info from a mechanic told me tat my disc brake kena makan n ask me to do skimming and also ask me to change d brake pad as well! but d price their quote me like hell ya bout 1k plus ENDLESS front n back together not include labour charge... been reading on d forum n found out the brake pad is not tat xpensive....

my question now is: is it ok to do the skimming on the disc brake, would it b any failure after tat??
and wat kind of brake pad u guys can recomend me to use, i heart a few like ex. endless,project mu... but is too high for me, a bit broke liao, so need to find something else more economy n good! any feedback on DON brake pad or MetalKing??? And as well d most important, is it going to change d situation for the screaming sound coming from d disc brake after changing those part???

Thanks... hope someone can help me out!!!

khsim

Apr 16, 2009
can try bendix metal king titanium....rm200++ for evo 5,6 front brembo..max working temp is around 450c....if looking better quality can try bendix ultimate....rm4xx...max work temp is around 600c....so far ultimate is good enought for me...

evolex

Nov 22, 2010
Kuching
anyone can give some rear bendix brake pad code reference to order?? coz i call the supplier, the lady tell me tat they dun know any mechanical info only with code!!!:confused:

khsim

Apr 16, 2009
so far as i know bendix did't supply evo rear brembo brake pad...if u looking more economic rear brembo pad think lemburg can get around rm 2xx...

evolex

Nov 22, 2010
Kuching
thanks for the info.... by the way i saw in the forum someone selling the endless brakepad for rm700 front n rear, is it geniue parts from endless?? or there is replica item??

khsim

Apr 16, 2009
maybe genuine but working temp is around 300 c ++....for jalan jalan think should be o.k....but for hard drive....no so enough....at lease 450 c o.k lah..

evolex

Nov 22, 2010
Kuching
ok i end up with project mu 500c!!
guys asking for opinion...
i have change:
1. front n rear project mu RM1160
2.Tomei Cam Pulley New RM1200
3.HKS Cam 272 with Valve Spring Used RM2000
4. Tial Westgate n header RM1800
5.Rotor skimming RM160
6. HKS Timing Belt RM720
7. 3 pulley dont know wat is that RM350
8. Blitz BOV RM550
9. Labour charge RM600
Total RM8540
For the price is it over price they charge or is normal?? very very broke liao now... need come advice...

PabloIceman

Apr 22, 2006
U've got to be joking right? With a shopping list like that, of course u say u are broke. If u remain stock, then different story right? .. The prices of the parts seems ok considering that u are in Sarawak. For labour charge, then different story lor ... but i understand over in East Malaysia it's not easy finding a good performance shop.

evolex

Nov 22, 2010
Kuching
im serious no joke on that... my car still in workshop upgrading those part.... now im totally broke.... one yr of makan maggie mee at least.... still saving on the power fc, clutch, turbo, stroker kit, big throttle, injector n etc~~:bawling: still long way to go....

---------- Post added at 11:58 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:15 AM ----------

any chance to get a used power fc for evo5??

khsim

Apr 16, 2009
the cam pulley i think use WORKS ENGINEERING is good enough...some more cheap...

evolex

Nov 22, 2010
Kuching
hmmm... too late liao the mechanic already pasang d tomei one... now they tune the engine... will b ready very soon...

evolex

Nov 22, 2010
Kuching
few item order from kl supplier as well... or have any good suppleir to recomend?? thinking to get power fc...

any recommendations for 75W-90 gear oil? i knoe brands like motul, redline, endless etc are good but the price is just killing me.. any good oils below RM100?