Brake Pad?

hohohoho....

my bendix screaming liao...
if found disc surface not same, after hard braking will
make it looks same.. :lol:
already done quite a lot of hard braking...
performance still not sastisfied... coz it isn't for
sporty driving style i guess... probably street use only.

Anyone using TRESTOR Metallic 2 Star pads? I just need some opinions and reviews on it. I just put in after lunch. Used it only less than an hour only. Now in office :P

artnet said:
http://www.bendix.com.au/_home.asp

i'm thinking of using the metal king plus for my EE100.
already been using it on the old honda CA5. result is good.
but one side got uneven surface occurs. and tht side has sound...

probably if using slotted disc will clean off the sand and brake dust,
hence the uneven surface will not happen??

May i know where did you bought the bendix metal king plus for your honda. cause i'm driving CA5 too and have been trying but to no avail of finding one for my honda... :frown:

so... lots of u guys prefer Bendix & EBC. some make jokes on Mintex. y? Mintex not good arr? i'm planning to put Mintex all around. izzit that expensive?

simplythebest said:
What is the difference between the Bendix Plus and Gold?

Plus got quoted for RM 90, hmm.
bendix plus is old stock wift grey packing n now just got bendix gold,but some car such like daihatsu L2 or some rare car just have bendix plus only don have gold version

bendix brand? from wat i heard those are local make now. is that true?

S1997: try to find in Mpower

Yup, local made with license from the originating company.. Its just like Sony stuff made in Malaysia loo. but no worries on the quality.. still perform as good, cheap too..

waja3348,
if you need mintex let me know. i can get it at a reasonable price for you. and fyi, if a pad has screeching noise during braking and it's quoted as a 'racing pad' chances are it's metallic based therefore producing squeeking noises while braking. also some who've used the bestest of best pads also claim brake fade after a month of usage...why? because they didn't break in the pads properly. the whole point of braking the pads in is so that the pad's surface can be flush with the surface of your rotor and as you know, ur rotor ain't exactly flat...maybe slightly warped. understand?

mintex is good, there are other brands out there in the market equally as good, may cost higher may be lower, may be local, may be imported. but can you put a price on life? you can't can you? :)

bottom line is whatever the brand, get a good one.

my brake pad also produce squeeking noise when brake slighty... but no stoppage power also if it gets too hot... cacat one..
anyway, between mintex and EBC, which one is better??.. which one last longer??... and which one cheaper??..

hi sifus, my new brake pad used for a month oledi, but yesterday when trying to slow down on a slope from 110km/h it totally takda rasa, scare like hell man.. lucky its a straight n less traffic road, so is it ok since it still consider "new"? is it over heat? shud I change a better one? sorry tumpang thread :p

skywalker,
when the pads go above the specified operating temperature (pad/material dependant) that's when you experience 'brake fade' which is why you get less stopping power when the pads heat up to a certain temp. i do believe i'm in no position to judge these two pads but i would say they're both good brands and have been proven on track before. so just get the one that suits your budget as well as how the pad is required to perform. i.e. no point buying freaking expensive pads only to drive it around town and back home, get it?

headshot,
did you even bother breaking in the pads when you first installed them? new pads experience even more brake fade than broken-in ones...or maybe your pad requires warming up before heavy usage. what pad brand is it?

headshot,
did you even bother breaking in the pads when you first installed them? new pads experience even more brake fade than broken-in ones...or maybe your pad requires warming up before heavy usage. what pad brand is it?

Hi bro, sorry newbie here, what do u mean breaking the pad? sand paper it? the brand err... adelco or wat crap, its blue color one it said can withstand 440celcius

afaik, you cant think that higher celsius a brake pad can withstand, the better it is...it has it's weaken..

a higher celsius brake pad for ex 1000C max, it's working temp is from 500-1000C
so if u use this brake pad to go town walk walk, then sure it wont makan when u just step it...

you should buy a brake pad that suit ur driving kind...if u always use hard braking, buy those higher celsius withstandable 1..if not, buy those lower celsius also nvm..

whatdamn,
your brake agent right! do you know any company who do standard test for brake pads and if no then do you know any kaki who had the experience in thrashing some brake pads like those drag or drift people? can recommend ah?

Correct me if wrong, but too high a temperature rating is also not good for everyday use. If it's operating below its temperature range the adhesion or friction isn't so good. This may result in high rotor wear.

Competition pads are known to squeal when cold but if you apply some copper paste or Dow Corning's Molykote between the pad and piston the noise can be severely reduced.

Anyway, whatdamn, you got PM!

headshot,
breaking in as in running the pads with mild/sensible driving speeds and try to avoid hard braking situations. this is to ensure that the pad surface will mould so to speak, according to your rotor surface. because your rotor's surface isn't really flat, it could be warped a little. that's why u've gota break in the pads...oh also i think it's to let the pad and the pad plate to bond correctly by supplying adequate ammounts of heat to melt the 'glue' that they use to bond both materials together.

swv,
sorry, i'm a small time dealer only haha. anyway, the way pads are tested here in malaysia are basically by word of mouth with no specific factors being taken into account. most of them test it like by driving really fast and brake before a corner when the pads are new, crash(or not) and then complain that the pads suck. therefore, i would say that the only people who actually have more experience in testing pads properly wouldbe MME teams and R3. but even then, it all depends on how the person drives. some MME teams that use the mintex1144 would need to change their pads 2-3 times during the race whereas some can last the whole race! (finishing position not taken into account here).