Evo 7 / 8 modification.

KLmafia

gentlemen..
i would like to seek your opinion on the following items-

1) What type / brand of exhaust system is the best for evo 7?

2) What type / brand of air filter is the best for evo 7? or is it not necessary to change em...? the stock one is better?

3) What type / brand of tyre is the best for evo 7? my current setup is 235/45/17

4) What type / brand of downpipe is the best for evo 7? where to get them?

Many thanks for your advise gents.

:rolleyes:
byee

Originally posted by KLmafia@Apr 6 2005, 10:55

2) What type / brand of air filter is the best for evo 7? or is it not necessary to change em...? the stock one is better?

[snapback]873183[/snapback]​

Filter - I read that for lightly modified engine, it is better to keep the std airbox with just a filter panel upgrade - (I pay RM480 for K&N) than swapping for an induction kit (cone shape). Reason - std airbox collects cool air from outside while induction kit sucks hot air from within the engine compartment. Cooler air = more O2 = improve combustion = more hp. The kit only works well if you installed heat shield and cool air duct together. However, the airbox is restrictive and if you plan to increase the power to probably above 350 hp go for the induction kit with all the bits.

Originally posted by KLmafia@Apr 6 2005, 10:55
gentlemen..
i would like to seek your opinion on the following items-

1) What type / brand of exhaust system is the best for evo 7?

3) What type / brand of tyre is the best for evo 7? my current setup is 235/45/17

4) What type / brand of downpipe is the best for evo 7? where to get them?

Many thanks for your advise gents.

https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/rolleyes.gif alt='rolleyes.gif' />
byee
[snapback]873183[/snapback]​

1:if stock turbo and only minor mod.3inch piping will be enough.muffler choose the design u like,perfomance wise i think all was quite same.s flow better mid range power,straight flow better high end power

2:stock one is better,cleaner,performance wise not sure.i got no choice to use the blitz sus because when i bought the car the stock filter is not there :lol:

3:advan neova

4:custom made one will be cheaper and perfomance same with the branded one.unless u bought the hks one that come with the elbow

Originally posted by seventh_son@Apr 7 2005, 18:03
Speedwork has ready-made e7 d/pipe for rm1300.
[snapback]876932[/snapback]​

dun think a custom made one will cost that much

1) It all depends on what you're looking for.... stainless steel, mild steel or titanium exhaust... if money is not an object, i'd go for the Fujitsubo Ti or the Apexi Hayabusa..... then for budget purposes, then like me lor... N1. :(

2) i's suppose in our country, stock would be the best.. especially with the original air funnel or you can replace it with HKS Kansai/Monster air funnel. Nevertheless, if you're in for the open pod, seems like the Apexi gives the best overall performance, base on horses and also cleanliness. But i love the alphabets 'HKS', so i went for that and will be getting myself a custom airbox (cant afford the carbing airbox...too ex)

3) Tyres depends on what sort of usage you're looking at. For performance, then opt for Advan Neova AD07 like Ken had mentioned. Relatively affordable for such kind of performance. Only setback I'd presume is the noise (hey what the heck, its an evo, even the twin plates are louder!) and wear and tear should be faster than other norm tyres. If you're looking for an all rounder, quiet, grippie in wet and dry, Michelin Pilot Sports II.... but that cost a bomb! Should check on Advan SPort, the latest tyre from Advan that is suppose to be quiet, good, grippie etc. OEm on the Bentley.....hmmm...

4) HKS!!!! hahaha...................... sorry, have no comments on that...

Originally posted by lan evo+Apr 7 2005, 18:44 -->
QUOTE(lan evo @ Apr 7 2005, 18:44 )
https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/sad.gif alt='sad.gif' />

I got myself Blitz Realize TT cat-back system. Well, it has more conservative look - not what you would expect from an evo, huh...

Left - Blitz Realize TT
Middle - Blitz Nur Spec
Right - NI

guys..many thanks for your replies. just wondering, if the downpipe from speedworks do come with the elbow?

second question, the downpipe that N1 is selling, does it comes with elbow as well?

do u guys know where to get this downpipe with elbow?

sorry too many questions and uncertainties.

1. HKS Hi Power
2. ARC Airbox (honestly, I don't think any aftermarket filter will make big difference)
3. Advan Neova AD07
4. HKS Stainless Steel front pipe, HKS doesn't not have the elbow pipe for E7 yet (I guess), but Mines or HPI got it. More than RM1000 for a piece of metal but that will give you approximately 0.15 bar of extra boost.
5. The front pipe N1 selling doesn't come with elbow, but it comes with extra service such as "morning calls"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

If you wanna go for the custom made one, don't go anything beyond 2.65 inches in diameter. The HKS unit is 2.65 inches.

seventh son:the airbox damn nice.dunno where can custom made one leh

theres a tyre similiar to AD07,yokohama es100 much more cheaper but cant last

goken:hks got the elbow for e7,check out at takakaira.com

Originally posted by lan evo@Apr 8 2005, 14:42
seventh son:the airbox damn nice.dunno where can custom made one leh

theres a tyre similiar to AD07,yokohama es100 much more cheaper but cant last

goken:hks got the elbow for e7,check out at takakaira.com
[snapback]879265[/snapback]​

Too late man hahaha...I sold my car already!! Miss my E7 man.....ring the seller who advertise the E9 in motortrader.....WHOAAAAAAA....RM290k+++++++++++++

yeah man.. i heard e9 is coming in 2 weeks time.. and selling price rm290k.

i think if u buy now, u will be paying a premium price just to be the first to own the immaculate e9..

anyhow.. thanks for your replies guys...

getting my bonus this month... so.. seriously looking for a good exhaust system and good tyres...

yehaaaaaaaaaa

cf, huh... just like the wrc stuff. you're a bit a tinker and handyman... thinking of fabricating one yourself?

Goken, that extra boost from the elbow is quite impressive. Suppose its worth the investment. BTW, KLmafia... Speedworks also sells the elbow separately.

Seventh Son:

No matter wat pls dun get Hayabusa. Hahaha unless u dun mind the SOUND. It;s Farking annoying. I so regret using it. I think afterall HKS still best for money or anything not NOISY.

You looking for Exhaust for E7?
I got one Apexi Hybrid Megaphone for sale.

Interested, let me know.

thanks.

Looking for ARC manifold cover. I know its available at N1 (RM450++). Anywhere else can offer better?