Evo 7/8 Maintenance

cyilaw said:
DDgreystar,

before i get my MR, i did survey for E7 too. and i saw 4 unit of E7 at Ming Heng. Found the car condition for all 4 not very good for interior and engine. So do advise u to look more at other shop before u purchase. got few E7 at the car dealer that i purchased my MR, condition lot better then Ming Heng E7.

Thanks CYILAW,

I went again so see their car but was kinda dissapointed with the test drive power delivery is so so only. Just wondering which dealer could u recommend further

Notiguy,

the reg. no u see is not mine lah....the car belongs to another owner...he wanna sell lor...so no problem seeing his reg.no.

retention? i dunno lor

walau....pity the e7 owner man. careful man....nowadays all sorts of gila fellas driving.

must be alert. sometimes its not who u bang, its who bang u lah.

once I was travelling at 140km/h....suddenly this idiot civic came out in front of me...jam the brakes....lucky my brakes damn solid...if not bang lor....whew...lucky i didnt twist the steering also...if not i become supercar lor...sigh.

hai......now i look right, left, front n behind lah :)

DDgreystar,

cyilaw is right. the exterior condition of the silver e7 i tested in ming heng is not very good. the bonnet air-holes is like peeling off.

But last time, normally these guys should have ppl in japan checking out the cars for them b4 importing over. wonder if they do tt now.

remember, if u no like em, dun buy!!! there r lotsa opportunities yet!!!

green said:
Notiguy,

the reg. no u see is not mine lah....the car belongs to another owner...he wanna sell lor...so no problem seeing his reg.no.

retention? i dunno lor

sorry dude... didnt finish reading your post earlier on... thought it was yours and wasnt the car you viewed... :) my apology.

S9,

dude.. no dough ler... running original ECU only... :(

DDgreystar said:
Thanks CYILAW,

I went again so see their car but was kinda dissapointed with the test drive power delivery is so so only. Just wondering which dealer could u recommend further

i get my MR from Cahaya Automotif at Cheras, if u come from Lok Yew, before leisure mall in left hand side got the van selling roaster duck and u can see got few car dealer, Cahaya is the first one.

i got test Cahaya one silver evo7, found the clutch need to change and the suspension quite bumpy compare to my MR. So suggest u test drive few different unit to notified which car is the best. as i know they got few evo7 now, got sunroof also.

i try start the silver evo7 at Ming Heng but dunno is the same unit with u all talking about, i started it even the idling also can not stable, the i rev abit can't rev up, just wonder how Ming Heng selected the car from japan.. :confused:

Golfer,

Sorry mate, may i know what do u means by "You thnkin of a stand alone or piggy back?"??? Hehehe... soli cant get u... U r refering to de ECU? :p

Hi Cyilaw, Green,

Thanks for your immediate feedback. I think its the SAME E7 we are talking...yep the paint at the air vent.....u mentioned cahaya got few evo7s....wat color are they ? sunroof ? dats even better !! xenon equipped ?

HOW did you detect the clutch slipping ? at wat gear wat speed ?

yes I notice about chahaya....but din think too much abt it...but also they have evo 8 MRs? u bought your MR from there how much ? care to share with me....maybe if i cant get a good e7...i might just get a MR....but not sure how much it is ? seems like te price for it is fluctuating....

DDgreystar,

Yo fren, y not u go to NAZA? Generally their cars r very good in condition... not much compliant... As for pricing, try to nego. with them ler... If u r lucky, u can get a good car with good condition from them oso... My 2 cents... ;)

Golfer,

At de moment stil undecided yet... Hope to get more info. abt ECU b4 really going for it... As lots of ppl told me, ECU should b de last thingy to install as it tuned accordingly to de car condition... So is best tht to hv a plan on wht i really wanna to upgrade (such as air fliter, full exhuast sys., high cams, injectors, fuel rail, fuel regulator,n etc... then lastly ECU). Wht abt u? Any suggestion to share?

DDgreystar,

at Cahaya i saw one silver and 2 black E7, so u can try to have a look at there. i found the clutch slip abit when i rev up, and after testing i open bonet got the clutch burn smell. After i get my MR (grey), they bring in 2 more MR, one is grey and one is silver. The silver colour got scratch at rear carbon fiber wing, the grey one very good condition, i test drive that unit also.

as S9 said, u can try to look at Naza also, i look at there before, got one MR and one evo8, but that time the MR asking for RM265K and evo8 asking for RM245K. i get my MR at RM233 without BBS rim.

Mmm... depends on what you want to achieve I guess. More ponnies? If ponnies is what you are after, then the ECU should be a definate item on your list. You are right, the ECU will be to fine tune the car's electronically controlled items to ensure that your engine is properly fed with the correct mixture of everything.

Has anyone upgraded their intake system? Anyone with an Evo 8 (as the Evo VIII has the same air duct with the IX). Would be interesting to know. I know for a fact that the STi's are not as receptable to change in the air intake system. Heard from a few friends that they have problem idling after that. This is an example where the ECU has be to tweaked to adjust the air/fuel ratio. So, make sure if you intend to change the intake you have a mech that knows whether you need to re-tune anything. I am researching on a Blitz intake system. Saw it in a magazine. Utilises the ori air duct, which I think does help to take in cold air instead of hot air. Also has a heat shield to avoid as much as possible the intake sucking in hot air from the engine. Will share.

Thanks a lot Cyilaw,

Your info helps alot....I will be dropping by then to have a closer look in that case.

Yes I certainly wouldnt wan to rush into buying a lemon, after going through so much information.

As for MR i think it is quite a good buy, higher in torque level as compared to 7 anyways, buying dat certainly helps to reduce the worries of getting a recon unit which has been too long around....

Anyways thanks a lot bro. :0

DDgreystar,

i got the same situation as u when i searching for E7, so finally i get the MR, new car no need to worry all the tear and wear on recon car..hehe..

ya i agree.......coz I kinda in a dilemma to hunt n check for the 7s that i m seeing....but seems like MH silver E7 was fixed the other day after changing spark plug...yes the car was vibrating terribly