Evo 7/8 Maintenance

Lazzy, you should also try BMF. I think they are a bit lenient. Up to 9 years, no problemo.

Some questions guys,

1. Clutch juddering pretty bad especially when pulling from cold but felt ok after warmed up. To make matter worse, my house is located on a steep street - I guess that could be one of the problem. Many said the clutch is the evo's achilles heel. Is is time to replace? Suggestions?

2. After I serviced the AYC, the "oik...oik" sound still there. What else to do?

3. Thinking of upgrading brake pads. Fast road use only. Any suggestions?

7th_son,

dump the clutch, the 5speed gbox ori clutch sucks... get a twin plate if i were u. Its more drivable in KL especially with traffic jams, clutch pedal feel would be even lighter than the ori and it grips it firmly. thirdly, you will feel a significant torque increase. The only setback is the noise and the launching of the 1st gear, wahlau, feels like the rear axle will crack in no time.

AYC oik oik oik... welcome to the club.... haha... its the return hose, isnt it?

Brake pads? Seems like Ferodo DF2500 was highly recommended worldwide, nevertheless, i couldnt find it in KL/PJ, thus i opted for a more regular and easier to find brake pads, Endless SS-S. Less brake dust compared to the ori Brembos and its doing okay. Cant compare with my Brembo pads as it was slightly worn.

Originally posted by NoTiGuY@Mar 29 2005, 02:32
alex,

i know it looks good and i know you wouldnt want to sell it. Monster is my last resort if i cant a hold of the Kansai or Varis cf bonnet. Anyway, I just bought my Kansai cf bonnet today from Singapore. Hope it'll arrive soon. Found so many Evo VIII cf bonnet (used), but then again, i dont like the sharp edge look, still prefer the 'zaman kuno' square look...... guess i've been americanised!.... :)
[snapback]849311[/snapback]​

NoTi,
where the best place to source for Evo7 CF bonnet in KL/PJ?

lazzy, if you're interested in a cf bonnet which is similar to the ones Racing Craft is selling, then i have one used unit. If interested, ask KLmafia for my contact and buzz me. Am on my way to Alor Setar for a wedding and wont b back till thurs.

if dun like twinplate clutch can change 2 ori evo8 cluth coz more bigger than 7 its 9.5inch
noti wait your bonnet n bumper oh
kena f**k kao kao :unsure:

Originally posted by NoTiGuY@Mar 29 2005, 17:57
lazzy, if you're interested in a cf bonnet which is similar to the ones Racing Craft is selling, then i have one used unit. If interested, ask KLmafia for my contact and buzz me. Am on my way to Alor Setar for a wedding and wont b back till thurs.
[snapback]851390[/snapback]​

Noti,
Any pic to see how does it look like?

Desd:

Wah brother u oledi got new Kansai CF Bonnet. Mamasita babe. Hope to c u soon mate. Eh how is our Tailo Telok Ansun evolasi tujuh perpuluhan lapan? long time newer c him oledi wonder how his car look like. C ya ard bro. When u fit ur Carbon Boonet pls dun forget send me some pix. I bet ur car would be much sexier than my car. Heng arr..heng arr.. brother Desd.

Originally posted by NoTiGuY@Mar 29 2005, 10:53
7th_son,

dump the clutch, the 5speed gbox ori clutch sucks... get a twin plate if i were u. Its more drivable in KL especially with traffic jams, clutch pedal feel would be even lighter than the ori and it grips it firmly. thirdly, you will feel a significant torque increase. The only setback is the noise and the launching of the 1st gear, wahlau, feels like the rear axle will crack in no time.

AYC oik oik oik... welcome to the club.... haha... its the return hose, isnt it?

Brake pads? Seems like Ferodo DF2500 was highly recommended worldwide, nevertheless, i couldnt find it in KL/PJ, thus i opted for a more regular and easier to find brake pads, Endless SS-S. Less brake dust compared to the ori Brembos and its doing okay. Cant compare with my Brembo pads as it was slightly worn.
[snapback]850019[/snapback]​

Noti, think I'll dump the clutch. Twin plate may be an overkill as my car not that heavily modified. Perhaps single plate is good enough. Is the noise level tolerable?

Yeah...Ferodo seems to be the choice esp in the UK - dont know where to get those in KL/PJ. I'll check out endless and probably EBC as well (the green or yellow stuffs)

You're right bout the dust from the ori pads. A few days driving can blackened the rim.... especially so on white TE37s ;)

Originally posted by EvoMR@Mar 29 2005, 21:30
if dun like twinplate clutch can change 2 ori evo8 cluth coz more bigger than 7 its 9.5inch
noti wait your bonnet n bumper oh
kena f**k kao kao :unsure:
[snapback]851905[/snapback]​

Yes sir, i'm doing my best dude... wont let you down especially with the vortex generator!!!

Originally posted by faxsmoulder@Mar 30 2005, 02:47
Desd:

Wah brother u oledi got new Kansai CF Bonnet. Mamasita babe. Hope to c u soon mate. Eh how is our Tailo Telok Ansun evolasi tujuh perpuluhan lapan? long time newer c him oledi wonder how his car look like. C ya ard bro. When u fit ur Carbon Boonet pls dun forget send me some pix. I bet ur car would be much sexier than my car. Heng arr..heng arr.. brother Desd.
[snapback]852574[/snapback]​

alex,

sigh... thought i would get to see your fart face the last trip you came back, then you were too busy with your multi million dollar projects.... sigh...... never say 'phak khang tao' to me so i can change to evo ix... :(

see wat pics ler.... selling the car soon d ler... let evoMR take all my parts out now like rojak car d.... :(

Noti, think I'll dump the clutch. Twin plate may be an overkill as my car not that heavily modified. Perhaps single plate is good enough. Is the noise level tolerable?

Yeah...Ferodo seems to be the choice esp in the UK - dont know where to get those in KL/PJ. I'll check out endless and probably EBC as well (the green or yellow stuffs)

You're right bout the dust from the ori pads. A few days driving can blackened the rim.... especially so on white TE37s ;)
[snapback]853765[/snapback]​

haha... guess i'm the laughing stock now... standard car with twin plates.... :( single plate has no sound at all.... hyper single has slight sound when releasing (half clutching the car) whereas the sound for the twin plate was irritating me at first, then after some time, it was a norm and especially when i drive past people, they know its twin plate.... :rolleyes: so it makes things better... hahaha... like what evoMR said to me, "M4H41, buy evo scared all the sound and comfort ah? why didnt you buy a c-class or a 3series?"

Ah, u too have white TE37s... yummie... what colour is ur car? BBY? Weightless white? Lightning Yellow? Apex Silver? Rally Red? Tarmac Black?

Originally posted by NoTiGuY@Mar 31 2005, 03:36

like what evoMR said to me, "M4H41, buy evo scared all the sound and comfort ah? why didnt you buy a c-class or a 3series?"

[snapback]855597[/snapback]​

He's absolutely right :D

CAUTION for evo buyers!

Be careful of cars imported using fake AP. Go the extra mile to check the validity of the AP - I have no clue how to do this. Maybe somebody can share.

The problem will only surfaced when you're selling the car. My case - after nearly 7 months, my evo4 still cannot sell because it was imported illegally :angry: - How could this happen??? Don't know how Hong Leong approved the loan in the first place. Now the dealer is working to get a replacement AP so Maybank would approve the loan for a buyer. Very shitty indeed!

sorry to hear your misfortune... hope mine is legal... sigh... and i thought i took a small loan and i'll be safer than buying it cash.. sigh...

Most APs esp N*Z*, W*nij* are perfect legal. Avoid Sarawak based APs or some black listed ones like S*men*nju*g. I am a sleeping partner in the import car industry in PJ. That's how I know..

Beware of super low duties paid, Imported Used or Imported New does a difference too. Not many AP holders have the 'right' to import n declared Imported New - check your Reg Card, Import Terpakai or Import Baru...

Coz in the customs lately, there is a discount over duties being paid if the vehicle is Imported New, hence cheaper sale price..

I can't reveal much online, PM me should you need more info.

There is a EVO club in town? Or should we start one?

Not sure if the club still exist, as i know, the Mitsubishi Evolution Owners CLub (MEOC) was established but most of the members have swapped their cars to R33/34s. The only still existance MEOC members that i know is Alex and a few others more to mention. IT would be good if we could revive it....

Originally posted by NoTiGuY@Mar 31 2005, 23:12
Not sure if the club still exist, as i know, the Mitsubishi Evolution Owners CLub (MEOC) was established but most of the members have swapped their cars to R33/34s. The only still existance MEOC members that i know is Alex and a few others more to mention. IT would be good if we could revive it....
[snapback]858338[/snapback]​

Maybe another new topic for MEOC perhaps :)

The Evo7 i am in the midst of buying did include duty papers stating it was AP set either from South Afica, Japan or UK; and car price along with total duty paid and etc. It was cleared by this company called Duti Padu or Duit Padu, can't recall.

Desd:

U selling ur car. Haha sure or not. Dun tipu sama adik kau sinilar. Aku tak larat nak memproses lawak jenaka kamu. Maybe u selling it for Evo Mivec TerBU! if yes pls dun forget give me a ride on it.. i wan to hear the engine roar.... Ngeeennnnnn..(b4 lift)...TOT...(after lift) and Pssst... Wait lar when i come back during July i promise to pay a visit to u lar. Cuz i really need Kang Tau fr u. Pump petrol d no money to eat :(

MEOC:

This club sadly oledi not really active. If u ppl got intention pls revive this poor club. I really pity this guy whois the club secretery. He put so much effort into this club until late last yr..... it officially announce that the club been put to sleep. Ha ha most of the members in the club oledi no HENG evo. They prefer 6Cylinders Engine. U guyz know wat i mean by that. But for those who still die for evo, of course they would juz keep that car and drive it Lone Ranger. If u wan more info abt the club contact No, pls PM me lar i can give u. Not really good to publish here.

Hidup-Lah Kong-Kek Lasi-9!