Ever rising toll charges

zephyr3d

i'm sure all of us know or felt the pinch of the ever rising toll charges, which I could not understand til now. And to add to my doubts, the govt said their assistance in subsidising the toll charges are a huge burden to them.

The fact is that more cars are rolled out daily and that the profit gain should infact increase rather than the lost that they claimed. How was the lost generated? maintaining? no.. i dont think so as again, there are continuous usage of the highway, hence continous payments of toll charges.

so, how on earth are they generating so much lost so that the govt has to subsidise?

as a matter of fact, a reduction of toll charges would generate more profit.. think bout it... there are alot of drivers, whom prefer to use the long way rather than paying for toll. So, imagine if they reduces the toll rates, more road users will use the highway, hence more money gained.

duh.. or i'm just too stupid to understand the scenario? :mad:

I think there won't be anymore toll raise within this 2 years. Thats good news...for now!

And yes, i do think toll charges are on the high side and the excuse "we're the cheapest in the region" doesn't apply simply because our standard of living isn't exactly the cheapest in the region. You find that to go back to your hometown in Penang or Kedah will anytime cost you like 50 bucks or so and its actually very taxing. Not to forget our day to day toll charges. Going down to KL anytime will cost me like RM10 just on tolls. Don't know why but everytime they built a new road, they seem to pass the cost of construction to the consumer but heck, isn't it the governments duty to built roads for the people. Fine, you can say we're the cause for the massive traffic jam that results in a new road built but ultimately, its not us who does township planning and if you don't plan your buildings and roads properly, its gonna cause a massive jam once its fully developed. Take my housing estate for example. I've been living in Klang for all my live and it was and will always be a busy town because of the ports. Busy it was but the traffic was still bearable back when i was studying and you could go to school just within 15 mins with all those traffic lights and so on. Right now, when i go to work in the morning, it takes me a freaking 45 mins to 1 hour just from my house to the entrance of highway and thats only 6.5KM to be exact. Township planning is just so flawed in my place. Imagine we have the main road opposite the Klang hospital. That 3 lane road itself services residents from Klang Jaya, Sentosa, Andalas, Bukit Tinggi, Chi Liung, Southern Park, Bayu Perdana and this are just the bigger Taman's. To top it all, there's like 6 traffic lights in between this stretch of road. To go to the town, you need to connect from this road to another even smaller 2 lane road that leads to the bridge. Even better, another main road from Port Klang leads on to this 2 lane road. The jam is just so fucking bad and its just a bottle neck situation. 5 lanes turning into this small 2 lane. Thing is, building flyovers to by pass the traffic light is definitely not a solution because at the end of the day, there's only 1 entrance and 1 exit to the city. Its just so frustrating. However, i can understand the people from USJ too coz the jam is equally as bad if not worst that Klang.

The road and transport department certainly isn't doing a good job. First, with the amount of money they collect per day, i sincerely don't believe it takes so many years of toll just to "finish" paying off the cost of construction. They may argue there's lots of maintenance cost and so but at the end of the day, if you don't engage the right contractor and buy only necessary tools and machinery, definitely your cost will be high. Also, the tender for maintenance and so on are a whole lotta bullshit coz there's just too much cronyism involved in a closed tender.

I'd say the whole system is flawed and at the end of the day, the consumers have to pay for the governments folly.

backbenchers at the parliament are as useless as the frontmen... oni knows korek hidung and jentik the booger to someone they dun like...

aiyaaa zephyred, what's the use of complaining laaaa? comes election everyone happily give BN a signed blank cheque...............who is to blame? the people themselves and no one else. No point bithching about anything if you have given your consent to Bn to spit in your faces so take it like a man laaaa..........me resorted to kapchai liao.

Amacam ,Julian....still playing guli behind the photocopier with JUN aaaaa? hahahahahhahaha

No offence to any supporters of Semi Value .... it's time for him to get off his stupid god forsaken rotten "throne" of his.

thanks to him, we're paying fucking high toll charges for semi value roads! And also thanks to him for approving the fucking sri petaling elevated highway......

yo shane... no la.. me and ms.Jun split up already.. i'm now working at KL.. hahaha.. away fr the horrendous sunway jam. Finally!!