engine oil

r3dster

hi,i just changed my engine oil to 5w-40...while i was changing my friends was like..eyh your car compatible with this oil meh?i was like..ahh..just pour...nowi'm thinking about what they asked...im using a 4g13p..and i got that engine oil for free..my friend gave it to me coz he got extra.and not using it at all.so i wanna know if is that such thing as engine oil compatible with that car and not compatible with that car?got ah?
hope the sifu's can clear this for me.
thanks in advance!

for 4g13p.....i suggest u to use 10w40 oil....q8, adnoc or any reputable brand....5w40 is too thin for your ride man....what brand of oil you poured?

hmm.. my advise bro? better flush out de current engine oil n use castrol magnetec 15W-40.. 5W-40 too thin.. not suitable.. spoils ur piston man..

e861 : 5w-40 is for diesel??? and.. where did u hear dis from? where ever u heard it from, u heard WRONG!!

NSkyline : and what is the difference between 10w-40 and 5w-40 in our climate? we dont have sub zero temperature here, so the number in the most front doesnt really matter in our climate. u can even use mobil 1 0w-50 for all dat i care, FYI kancil is supposed to use 10w-30, and let me remind u, when ever it reads 30, its thinner den 50. so what r u gonna tell all those kancil users? oh, and std supra is also using 10w-30 from factory, go figure..

and FYI, when it reads 5w-40, dats the only visco range (depending on temperature) the oil will preform in. meaning it WILL NOT have a visco as thin as 0 on 0 degree C OR it will not have 50 reading when its around engine's optimum operating temperature (and dats around 90 degree C).

redster : so, what iam trying to say here is, its okie for u to use 5w-40 for ur ride, considering ur engine isnt worn. or else u'd be better using 20w-50, cheaper and 50 oil wud seal compression better then the ones reading 40. comprende?

p/s : where did u guys get all those "facts" anyway?

super nova : pistons doesnt contact directly wit the wall so, it doesnt have to do much wit lubrication. i think the word u were searching was "piston ring".

[SIZE=-1]xtremeleo: guess i heard wrong..

btw what the diff between 0w 5w 10w 15w? w stands foR?
[/SIZE]

e861 said:
[SIZE=-1]xtremeleo: guess i heard wrong..

btw what the diff between 0w 5w 10w 15w? w stands foR?
[/SIZE]
easy way to put it is that it stands for the viscosity (or thickness) of the engine oil. "w" stands for "weight" if i'm not mistaken. There's alot of good reference of engine oil on the net, and to know all you need to know about engine oil, go to google and search "chris longhurst" or "carbibles".

4g13p ar.. depend on the condition of the engine lor, now my mom's one using 20w50, and it still burns them, piston ring probably gone already..

thanks extremeleo!i think my engine is still okay..i think la! :P since it's still smooth and sounds like it's in a very good condition..or..maybe just good... :p

supernova:it's Q8..and i got it for free :p

e861:if it was diesel it will be stated on the bottle...

neway the digits represents the viscosity of the oil at a certain temperature...usually in ferenheit...vicosity meaning the rate of the oil flows...
correct me if im wrong...

next is..what if i were to use engine oil specially for turbo?coz i'm planning to boost up my engine power..so i might need a boost in lubrication to...but not turbo la..more or less..force induction..i think :p...it's like,since turbo has a higher wear in engine parts..therefore the oil has to be capable of protecting the parts from excessive wear..right?..that means it should protect the parts way way WAY better on NA...right?i mean logically speaking la..dunno if it's true or not...
any sifus might be able to help?i know theres alot out there that might be interested to know about this...

tanks in advance!
cheers :)

if we got our facts wrong can tell us nicely la...no need to sound like we ar so stupid....remember is a forum where people xchange knowledge not get scolding from some one....did I mention anything about climate? no....i suggested because mine is also 4g13p...and mechanic pour in 10W40....and as far as i know 5W40 is thinner(again if i got my fact wrong just tell me NICELY)......man....

5w-40 is too think the oil for your engine. Might cause engine sound loud later..

Suggested would be 10w-40 or 15w-40...some ppl use 20w-50

e861 said:
[SIZE=-1]5w-40 sounds like for diesel engines (i think).. unless u mean 5w-30 or

15w-40 then perhaps you should be ok.. just my 2cents
[/SIZE]

nah...who tell u 5w40 for Diesel engine?

tat is just the oil grade...

different car model using different oil grade..NA and Turbo oso using different oil grade.

5w40 can use in a wira, well maintain engine...some engine oledi got problem cannot use such thin oil...not suitable.

5w30 is for small car like myvi,kancil,kelisa,kenari..etc....or some modern car...

try 10w40 semi syn...should be ok for ur ride....if this is still too thin for ur car, then gota get some thicker oil grade one...20w50 perhaps

my2cent

how much would the mileage be affected by changing from 10w40 to 20w40?

ok...what if 20w-50 would reduce car mileage because its thicker than 10w-40??

evoX2 said:
ok...what if 20w-50 would reduce car mileage because its thicker than 10w-40??

coz 20w50 is slightly heavier than 10w40...

however, it depends on wat car u wanna pour in.

in normal city driving or normal drive car, mainly ppl use 20w50 coz it is cheap.

u can see lot of workshops/service centre doing promotion for this 20w50.... rm49.99 FREE oil filter...etc etc...

10w40 mostly in synthetric based if im not mistaken while 20w50 is in mineral based. and synthetic based wil hv better protection to ur engine compare to mineral based.

corect me if im wrong.

K_Takuya said:
erm.. im starting to wonder im using 5w30 q8 oil in my new wira 1.5.. is it oke?

if no tappet noise occur then can continue use...somehow to thin will cause some noise oso.... :P

depends on the car's age too, older engines might need slightly thicker oil, 15w40 as the seals and joints might not be as smooth or tight anymore.

all should use Mobil1!! ahahaha!! best oil in the world =P

can last 18000 miles!! (and more)!!

;P

polkiuj said:
all should use Mobil1!! ahahaha!! best oil in the world =P

can last 18000 miles!! (and more)!!

;P

how bout ur oil filter? can last for 18k miles as well?

think bout it....:_: