Engine Mount

magixk

Recently, a mechanic told me that my 4G93P engine's 2 bottom mounting is cracked. Is "mounting" the rubber thing that attach my engine to the chasis? Is this thing very important? Will it affect performance of the car, ie: acceleration, speed, etc? Lastly, how much is the cost of these mountings?

Thx

AFAIK, mounting helps isolate the engine vibrations from shaking the car chassis. Important? Only if you want less vibration when you drive.
Performance? I would imagine that severe cases could make the engine or car unstable. My bro's satria last time experienced shuddering when he brake or accelerate.
Cost? sorry, me don know that one. Try researching the issue thru google...best of luck to you.

Cheers!

Hi there

only 2 mounting cracked?

considered good aldy, as mine got 3 cracked! haha

im driving a kelisa auto btw, costs of repair estimated RM 300. Depending on which part of ur mounting area. Mine was quite further inside n difficult to repair as they need to dismantle a lot of parts, in order to change.

ok, will it cause any problem to ur car, erm..diff mechanic hv diff opinion,

Mechanic A told me: If dun wanna change, sooner or later it will damage the driveshaft, (AS MY CAR WAS WILL FEELS THE KICK WHEN MY CAR ACCELERATE- AS THE MOUNTING COULDNT HOLD THE ENGINE PROPERLY)

Mechanic B- Nothing 1, no problem, only engine vibrating mar...

until now, it has pass 4 months, my car hasnt go for repair, as i trusted the Mechanic B...really nothing...

but will repair soon, AS SOMETIMES WHEN UR CAR IS STATIONARY IN TRAFFIC JAM, U CAN FEEL THE VIBRATION IS KINDA STRONG...NOT COMFORTABLE INSIDE THE CAR..

my advice, look for more mechanic, make sure u get more opinion before ur car sent to repair...

Good Luck!~

andy_lka said:
Hi there

Mechanic B- Nothing 1, no problem, only engine vibrating mar...

until now, it has pass 4 months, my car hasnt go for repair, as i trusted the Mechanic B...really nothing...

but will repair soon, AS SOMETIMES WHEN UR CAR IS STATIONARY IN TRAFFIC JAM, U CAN FEEL THE VIBRATION IS KINDA STRONG...NOT COMFORTABLE INSIDE THE CAR..

my advice, look for more mechanic, make sure u get more opinion before ur car sent to repair...

Good Luck!~

Afraid to say Mechanic B is the last mechanic i will visit. I've had my mounting broken before and trust me, your car feels terribly wrong. When you accelerate, it feels as though the whole engine is dropping off and the front of the car just doesn't feel right. Like the balance is not right. Maybe there's movement from the misaligned engine.

As it is, when my car's timing is not right, there's some vibration and even that i feel so irritated with the vibrating steering wheel. I just can't imagine how violent the vibration gets when your engine mounting's gone.

I'd advise just anyone who has a broken mounting to immediately get it fixed.

Agree with prodigy .

If you drive normally punya maybe still boleh tahan sikit, but if u wanna drive faster or rev abit more, dunno wth's gonna happen soon. Better get it repaired soon..

I read in another thread saying that the new stock mounting can be reinforced with rubber sealent to improve the efficiency?

Wouldnt that make the mounting stiffer, therefore I will feel more engine vibration?

magixk said:
I read in another thread saying that the new stock mounting can be reinforced with rubber sealent to improve the efficiency?

Wouldnt that make the mounting stiffer, therefore I will feel more engine vibration?

jus replace wit new stock mounting will do.....broken mounting wont gv u better/smoother ride.....

all u will get from a broken mounting is a VERY shaky ride when u accel. and decel.

magixk,
Here's my understanding. Could be wrong, though. haha
The bottom mounting, I believe, should be the 2 mountings on your cross member, the metal bar directly below your engine. 4 of my mountings were broken some months back. I replaced only the one at the cross member. Vibrations reduced a lot. Now, I am hoping to have enough dough to replace the other 2 engine mounting that's at the side. If the mountings are not replaced, it may cause other sections of the engine compartment to fail and possible break/spoil. One item that would be affected is the drive shaft. Ain't sure on this but that's what I think. hehe

The cost to change the mounting isnt that expensive. Atleast for me. I asked the price for it at the Proton service centre and they say it'll be cheaper since I am going to change my timing belt as well. The cost for 1 mounting is roughly RM60ish for older Proton cars.

magixk said:
The cost to change the mounting isnt that expensive. Atleast for me. I asked the price for it at the Proton service centre and they say it'll be cheaper since I am going to change my timing belt as well. The cost for 1 mounting is roughly RM60ish for older Proton cars.

Option 1: Change to all original mountings that come with new iron braket

This is more expensive. >rm300 for all mounting plus labour

Option 2: Change to all non-original but usable mountings that come with new iron braket

This is less expensive than option 1. but still go into few hundreds plus labour

Option 3: Change all the mounting rubber only, ie pump in d new rubber into d old iron braket (But no all mech can do this)

U save d cost for having use new iron bracket, so cost of each rubber is RM60. Most Taxi cars opt for this.

If u do that along with change of any : timing belt, water pump etc. The labor shld be minimise for the bottom 2 mountings.

Thx bro, looks like Option 1 is best if really want a good change

magixk,
You may want to take back all the old mountings (inclusive of the iron mounting brackets). I know of someone who could then recycle the iron brackets and custom make PU+rubber mounts. I've seen it and it looks rather impressive. So the next change of mountings, you can then use the PU+rubber mountings.

share tis wif u,

im using 4g93p too, i juz changed e E.mounting few mths ago, coz rubber cracked.
i changed ori front & rear mounting onli, RM105 including labour chrg frm out side work shop.

now vibration n sound frm car interior reduced.

'proton s.center quote e price very high, RM500++ 4 1set(4pcs) =.=':emoticon_U:

hope can help ah:shades_smile:

im goin to get mine changed soon..but hv to repair the car for half day at workshop...sigh..

Talk about PU mounting or bushing (for suspension), actually its much harder than ori rubber. So d effect is much "stiff" or "harder", to an extend, defeat d purpose of comfort, but FYI PU bushing for suspension does give more "sharper" & direct response of the wheel...

So bro you mean I trade off comfort for better control with PU mountings? Doesnt sound like a bad choice to use PU mounting since can get slightly better control...

hahaha...choice is up to u.

For engine mounting, dont look for PU lar (if u can ever get one :>) no increase performance one, will cause more vibration only.

PU suspension bush got lar......that one can increase sharper response lar, but feel hard hard one, not so comfy lor....

If u always carry ur old man on board, he he he, prepare to listen to their complaint lor...