Engine Kaboommmm... A question to answer...

Oderf said:
mie, ur car is too fast people dun want to believe its only 1.6 ler.....ahahahhaaa......me either.....ahahahahaaa...

aiyoo... mana da laju bang....
its standard 1.6 oni.... view to believe... kekeekeke.. like motor add plak.. haha

was the car overheating before this happened?

usually over-rev will leave a big big hole on the block where all parts flew out...this one is very funny leh...

top end stock or aftermarket cams?

*noob asking noob questions... please forgive*

hattech-v said:
aiyoo... mana da laju bang....
its standard 1.6 oni.... view to believe... kekeekeke.. like motor add plak.. haha

Hattech,,im a regular at Nilai 3,,,didnt recognize your car,,,what chassis are you using ? which team,,,? din, bunga, wan konggo ?

the engine just being overhauled...

this is the setup

b18cr block - change the piston ring n some cleaning job to make it shiny.. haha
b18cr head year 2000 - new head gasket
b16a eg intake manifold with b16a injector
p30 ecu with mugen chip

before the engine kaboom, owner did retard the base ignition timing fr 16 to 15 due to knocking at low rpm...

V8_nutter said:
Hattech,,im a regular at Nilai 3,,,didnt recognize your car,,,what chassis are you using ? which team,,,? din, bunga, wan konggo ?

neither din, bunga or wan kongo.. me fr kumbang team.... hehehe... jk...
dun have team la bro... i'm using ek4 doors autoshow category...
i'm just going there for fun... :D

Ek 4 doors,,,good sports you have there. Must be on the road category, and having fun competing with lighter cars right,,,good sportsman cheerz.

knocking at low rpm. thats a start for your investigation.
maybe it was lean, lack of fuel. cylinder overcooked and cracked.
mugen chip are overfueled chip but only at high rpms.

just my 2 cents.

hattech-v said:

this is the setup

b18cr block - change the piston ring n some cleaning job to make it shiny.. haha
p30 ecu with mugen chip

before the engine kaboom, owner did retard the base ignition timing fr 16 to 15 due to knocking at low rpm...

J101 said:
knocking at low rpm. thats a start for your investigation.
maybe it was lean, lack of fuel. cylinder overcooked and cracked.
mugen chip are overfueled chip but only at high rpms.

just my 2 cents.

i wonder the same thing oso...
the day before then engine got blown i asked the owner to check the afr.. but he refuse..

hattech-v said:
i wonder the same thing oso...
the day before then engine got blown i asked the owner to check the afr.. but he refuse..
running rich is better than lean...rich at least contributes cooling...
too lean will cause back fire??

The valve edges looked like it hit something, other than the valve stem.

any possibilities something got into the combustion chamber? The valve look like it came off first, and caused the other damages.

My answer, engine setup (b18cr) not suitable with that mugen chip P30 which previously for b16a setup right?.....
Mean engine running with wrong A/F ratio...different compression ratio (CR)summore.....

hattech-v said:

this is the setup

p30 ecu with mugen chip

Furthermore, different intake air flow means change A/F ratio...
different compression ratio (CR) also means change A/F ratio.

Moral of da story, before running engine with other ECU, better check A/F ratio first.

hattech,

Being such a fairly standard engine, things like this shouldn't happen.

Did the mechanic skim the too much the head and block for higher compression?

Std bottom end Std cams and no cam pulley. I only can figure it is probably due to two things.

1. Driver overrevved when down shiftting gears.

2. Installation fault like, the retainer lock not installed properly so when rev hard, it came out and a valve fall. Or timing belt not instaled properly like timing marking off by a tooth or two tooth or timing belt pre-tensioner not tighten properly and came loose causing valve to hit piston.

Hope this help..

chris, for the no. 1 i thing nope...
for no 2 yes there is possibility coz when they open the rocker cover, the timing belt look like loose edi... n oso timing belt marking off by one/two can be one of the possibilty... then they retard it to 15... n the engine kaboom on the same day they retard the ignition...

poji_EG9 said:
My answer, engine setup (b18cr) not suitable with that mugen chip P30 which previously for b16a setup right?.....
Mean engine running with wrong A/F ratio...different compression ratio (CR)summore.....

yes, this is what i tot oso b4.. but then, why it not happen during 1st 1000km running-in period?

hope this myth can be solved... hehe....

oh chris, yes the owner did sent the block n head for the skimming but not sure how much it being skimmed...

Write your reply...