ENgine got Noise

NSkyline

May day May day....calling all iswara sifus for help/advice....i drive a proton iswara a/b 1.3 yr 2002....just did minor mod lar...on the exhaust..mid section to rear muffler. My problem is my engine got noise comming out when revving :frown: ....when go up hill/slope the noise got louder :frown: ....how to rectify this??? This is not because the exhaust but some where from the timing belt side i guess.....any recommend workshop to tackle this problem ar?? the kind of noise i hear quite common from many proton owner.....dont how else to describe...anyone feel free to fill me in...thanks :)

izzit the noise like "clik...clik...clik....clik..." when u accelerate?

gloss said:
izzit the noise like "clik...clik...clik....clik..." when u accelerate?

Ya...sound like that one...how ar bro gloss....any way to rectify it ar??...when to a pomen today is pj...he said nothing wong with the timing belt...he said is the spark plugs...so he checked and said the built up carbon on the plug sure lar...cause the car lost power...so i agreed cause it look like really burn..so i change it...but i doubt it rectify the prob i mention....so...i test and see got improvemnt lar...smoother lor..but sound is still there..so like that lar...my car...any good pomen....out there?

huakenny said:
ask the mech to test ur car...then only he can know wat sound/noise is tat

agree with kenny

hard to help in here..drive to the mech to see whats problems
dun wait! go now before too late :turtle:

Ok brothers....will take to another pomen then...the earlier pomen....sounds like he know his stuff but...y take the risk...well...thanks so much...by the way...do you all know anyone good at tuning carb???

NSkyline said:
Ok brothers....will take to another pomen then...the earlier pomen....sounds like he know his stuff but...y take the risk...well...thanks so much...by the way...do you all know anyone good at tuning carb???

where ur location? go Ukay Perdana la if u wan..not bad...nice mech

huakenny said:
where ur location? go Ukay Perdana la if u wan..not bad...nice mech

me nestled in subang jaya...where is ukay perdana har?? sorry for not knowing places :dontknow: ...me have always been in sj....can show me direction ar bro kenny??

NSkyline said:
me nestled in subang jaya...where is ukay perdana har?? sorry for not knowing places :dontknow: ...me have always been in sj....can show me direction ar bro kenny??

oiyo..far loo like tat...ehehe

u gotta ask SJ ppl

mine near zoo negara d

My iswara also got same problem .When ask my formen, he said no problem one....it's the petrol he said....nowdays not so clean and no quality one....he mention that it shouldn't be a problem one. :biggrin: Try changing different station or different brand....test n see.....mine now ok....only once a while. :smile:

wats wrong with the petrol??

when get older, most proton car like tat... wont effect ur car anything .. dun woli bro.

tappet loose ready la.. need to tighten it or just change all the 12 valve's

Creative said:
tappet loose ready la.. need to tighten it or just change all the 12 valve's

Ok..call me stupid or wudever :cool: ....where is the tappet or what is tappet in my car....and for my iswara 1.3....the interval for timing belt izzit @ 100,000 km ar?...y wira wan change at 80,000km??? our iswara timing belt so long lasting wan ar...i asso heard mitsubitshi timing belt got fake wan wor....where can get ori?

NSkyline said:
Ok..call me stupid or wudever :cool: ....where is the tappet or what is tappet in my car....and for my iswara 1.3....the interval for timing belt izzit @ 100,000 km ar?...y wira wan change at 80,000km??? our iswara timing belt so long lasting wan ar...i asso heard mitsubitshi timing belt got fake wan wor....where can get ori?

every car can run for 100,000km...but be safe, normally ppl wil change at 80,000-95,000km

original get at authorised dealer.....fake one is everywhere....not only for mmc

My friend just take ur car for tuning at any EON outlets where they use the machine timing device.Gtd ur noice is gone.It happens due to u change ur piping and the air intake is all defferent.Take my advice,i know better becoz i drive a 1993 iswara.

According to my experiences in dealing with Protons car it is not a problem at all if the car does have the click click sound when the car revs higher, it is very common in the local national car especially when they start to age to about 3-4 years old.

There is few thing you can take care off to minimize such noise but still no guarantee that your car will feel back as it should

1st :- Timing belt change (beware of imitation as 75% is fake out there)
2nd:- Plug change (beware of imitation and use better brand )
3rd:- Ignitiona Cable (use not the OE but bigger core)
4th:- Use engine oil with better cleansing power. Means not the 20-30 buck engine oil but a more realible one such as Shell, Petronas or CEPSA. My personal favourite is CEPSA cos its fully imported and price is same as the local made.

if you need more help just let me know

Freedom_Blue said:
My friend just take ur car for tuning at any EON outlets where they use the machine timing device.Gtd ur noice is gone.It happens due to u change ur piping and the air intake is all defferent.Take my advice,i know better becoz i drive a 1993 iswara.

Ya...i did that the last i sent to Glenmarie EON for service and told them bout the prob...so they did rectify it....but looks like temporary only....then now got to send in again ar...man....not cheap wor one service like this

Check your exhaust piping. It might be bend so that the exhaust air can't flow freely.

jeffayn said:
According to my experiences in dealing with Protons car it is not a problem at all if the car does have the click click sound when the car revs higher, it is very common in the local national car especially when they start to age to about 3-4 years old.

There is few thing you can take care off to minimize such noise but still no guarantee that your car will feel back as it should

1st :- Timing belt change (beware of imitation as 75% is fake out there)
2nd:- Plug change (beware of imitation and use better brand )
3rd:- Ignitiona Cable (use not the OE but bigger core)
4th:- Use engine oil with better cleansing power. Means not the 20-30 buck engine oil but a more realible one such as Shell, Petronas or CEPSA. My personal favourite is CEPSA cos its fully imported and price is same as the local made.

if you need more help just let me know

Bro...u mechanic ar? where is your workshop? I'm in subang...

Ok....the list u mentioned....

1st :- Timing belt change (beware of imitation as 75% is fake out there)- Where to get ORI parts then cause my friend said to get Mitsubishi brand....correct ar...but ppl said that asso got Imitation

2nd:- Plug change (beware of imitation and use better brand )-Wah...spark plugs asso got imitation?? Waht plugs to use lar? Me now using NGK-Ugroove...

3rd:- Ignitiona Cable (use not the OE but bigger core)- THis i've changed last month..and is damn thick....since then starting the car have never been hard....got it from lelong

4th:- Use engine oil with better cleansing power. Means not the 20-30 buck engine oil but a more realible one such as Shell, Petronas or CEPSA. My personal favourite is CEPSA cos its fully imported and price is same as the local made. - CEPSA...got website ar bro....wanna review...but some said Q8 oil asso not bad...so far from day 1 i'm using Shell Semi-Syn...but the other day one pomen...said that, y need to use synthetic based oil...cause is not suitable for our climate...and claim that castrol is better...and just add one bottle of those additive oil then ok oledi...i didnt comment back lar...cause old man cari makan...let it be lor...anyway to me the heart of the car..is the engine..need to take care properly....

Well... everyone got a say !

I am not a mechanic but just with a vast knowledge and lots of professional fren in the auto line.

1st get Mitsubishi brand :-
not necessary as long it s a good quality product and I think it will work fine

2nd spark plugs asso got imitation?
Yes, most of the spark plug you saw in the market is imitation. That is why the role of a trustworthy mechanic is so important

3rd good to hear no more problem with the starting

4th Cepsa website : http://www.cepsa.com

but some said Q8 oil asso not bad:
not too bad after all

...so far from day 1 i'm using Shell Semi-Syn:
Good Choice

...but the other day one pomen...said that, y need to use synthetic based oil...cause is not suitable for our climate
bad recommendation and should not get back to this forman

...and claim that castrol is better...
All engine oil company claim they are better in a way or another and its true .. no engine oil is well balance

and just add one bottle of those additive oil then ok oledi:
PLEASE DON’T DO THIS !!! He is a businessman not a mechanic

Write your reply...