engine balancing and lightening engine

prefer na... but bot has blow off ha ha ha.......... no la i think depands on driver as for me is always been na... had done bot on my previous ride a putra, was no so happy bout it...... had lots of problem......

I'm a NA guy too, tried turbo like the power but still coming back 2 NA tune. NA tune is just more responsive, more direct, you step on it & it revs hard & go, no delay just precise control, besides i think na sounds better than turbo.

But I hate blow off valves, it sounds so stupid like those things which plays sound of a jet when braking. Every time u change gear it "Psssssst" so 'ah beng', and it just let-off the boost, and you'll have to build up boost again. I know its suppose to protect from compression surge & make it easier 2 drive. But since throttle butterfly valve won't be fully closed in EFI cars there is minimal chance of a compression surge anyway, so its more for the "Psssssst" then its function. I mean does the original Nissan GTR have BOV? does the original Porsche 911 Turbo have BOV? does EVO have BOV? Its just becoming those not very useful but cool things.

I'm a NA guy too, tried turbo like the power but still coming back 2 NA tune. NA tune is just more responsive, more direct, you step on it & it revs hard & go, no delay just precise control, besides i think na sounds better than turbo.

But I hate blow off valves, it sounds so stupid like those things which plays sound of a jet when braking. Every time u change gear it "Psssssst" so 'ah beng', and it just let-off the boost, and you'll have to build up boost again. I know its suppose to protect from compression surge & make it easier 2 drive. But since throttle butterfly valve won't be fully closed in EFI cars there is minimal chance of a compression surge anyway, so its more for the "Psssssst" then its function. I mean does the original Nissan GTR have BOV? does the original Porsche 911 Turbo have BOV? does EVO have BOV? Its just becoming those not very useful but cool things.

I think they use recirculating type BOV's, not the usuall common SSQV which vents it straight out right? :rolleyes: Like the pressure is released back to the intake manifold instead of venting it...

And oh yeah, you meant to say that turbos have more torque throughout the rev range compared to NA's right?

When you go for NA tune, aim for flat torque curve throughout the whole rpm range :)

I think they use recirculating type BOV's, not the usuall common SSQV which vents it straight out right? :rolleyes: Like the pressure is released back to the intake manifold instead of venting it...

And oh yeah, you meant to say that turbos have more torque throughout the rev range compared to NA's right?

Thats a compressor bypass valve (CBV) not blow off valve (BOV), does similar job but doesn't make it "Psssssssssssst". And CBV prepares the turbo for a quick boost build-up by diverting the 'boost pressure' into the bypass manifold. BOV just blow off boost pressure for "Psssssst".

In a way yes, turbos (smaller 1 at least) produce wider powerband & torque table than a NA.

thanks for all the infos sifus..really appreciate it especially to brother joe2d..so detail..finally understand..hehe..then i guess ill forget about all those until i overhaul my engine 1st at the meantime now what else can i do to get more hp?so far done exhaust n air filter..thanks..

Thats a compressor bypass valve (CBV) not blow off valve (BOV), does similar job but doesn't make it "Psssssssssssst". And CBV prepares the turbo for a quick boost build-up by diverting the 'boost pressure' into the bypass manifold. BOV just blow off boost pressure for "Psssssst".

In a way yes, turbos (smaller 1 at least) produce wider powerband & torque table than a NA.

Haha okay dude, thanks for telling me thr proper term for it :biggrin: