E30 Sr20

ok2..depends on urself la..today i went to a workshop in pendang, kedah...saw a e36 with modded rb20det...the cost is rm10k...with upgraded intercooler kit(frontmounted)...rb26dett throttle body and much more...this mechanic has done e21 with rb26dett and race at sepang in hong kong classic car...he also done singlevanos transplant in e30...this mechanic do bmw to bmw engine and bmw to japs engine...if u wanna do here...i can bring u to this workshop...some of his customer come from kl...

dude..
I'm kinda interested with this one.. was it only TB or together with GTR intake plenum?..if it is, maybe you can PM me yours or the mech contact number..Btw mine is actually E36 with RB25DET(AT)..

Thread Owner..
sori that I hijacked your thread for a while there...
Btw, coming back to your topic..
I can't really tell much from my point of view coz your case involves different chassis and engine..If you want instant power with certain budget, Jap engine it is..But to some,you'll lose that 'Conti driving' feeling, which in my case I dont see at any point it does affect my ride...Then again, choice is all yours bro..
I'm very soon starting another conversion with E36..But this time its gonna be 4.0 V8 baybeh!..Can't wait...

good luck for ur conversion to v8 bro...i think he change together with gtr intake...so no more intake pipe across headcover...i've heard this mechanic done satria with subaru ej20 together with 4wd system..hoho..sounds weird but its true..prepare for lot of money if u wanna go there...labour cost are high compare to other mechanics...

thanks dude..and for the number as well..
not that i don't mind paying high labour, but the quality of work done must be worth the price laa kan...?I'll give him a buzz somewhere next week..Yourself from Kedah as well?..

i'm from perlis...yesterday i went to that wokshop to ask rb20det conversion for my e30..now i run with rb20de...a bit high for me as my budget is below 5k..

hi again...

sorry long time not login... been bz. thanks to all of ya giving tons of information. well... so far i still stick with sr20 with AT. wanna swaps my engine maybe late dec or early jan. still wanna run this engine on school holiday da... cuti2 m'sia.
i did ask my friend workshop at johor... he quot me around 6k for s13 sr20 AT. wat do ya all think? too pricey? ok?

normal price la bro...around 6-8k..
if s14 sr20det(bongkok) 10k...h.cut cost 7k for bongkok version..
non bongkok around 4k-6k...installation+wear&tear parts=3k

so..u wanna letgo ur old engine?m20 or m40?

so the price is ok then... non bongkok one la. no need too much power... most of da time my wife using this car... nanti too excited plak!
engine bro... bengkel owner buy it from me loh. he recommend me to swap with 1jz auto. more cheeper... lest than 5k. half cut around 3.5k to 3.8k... sure ar. got too many problem meh? not too heavy ke? sr20 still da best maybe...

1jz is ok...more power..but if u wanna easier maintenance..go for sr20...japs inline 6 cant breathe in e30 engine bay...if ur mechanic expert about this..then it will be ok...u need to find thin radiator...big electric radiator fan...if u put sr20..u can use back ori manual fan and easy to change some parts like belting and so on...

which is longer japs inline 6 or ori bmw inline 6? which can breathe better... i know both can fit in e30 engine bay.

japs inline is longer than bmw inline 6...
rb20 and 1jz just like m50...longer than m20

thanks bro
so for inline 6 category... e30 better use m20 la to get 50:50 ratio. others maybe cannot get that ratio. unless we use inline 4 rit? inline 4 BMW very pricey compare than japs. m20 already old and i think maybe pricey some more. my 2cent opinion...

e30 m20 h.cut very pricey now...i found h.cut with m20b20 motronic auto for rm4.5k...u can get sr20det at the same price...labour charge same...

yea loh... very pricey la. thats y la i luv sr20... bro hav u use sr20 b4? need comment about how its handling la... maintenance? fuel? do & dont do topic...

any problem with the 1jz?

no problems wit the engine...good and reliable but its a killer on the petrol side...power is just fantastic plus it comes with a manual g.box...i find it hard to control d car at times after the speed hits 180++ km/h...
it like begins to float

thanks bro
so for inline 6 category... e30 better use m20 la to get 50:50 ratio. others maybe cannot get that ratio. unless we use inline 4 rit? inline 4 BMW very pricey compare than japs. m20 already old and i think maybe pricey some more. my 2cent opinion...

boss,the m20 might be an old engine but if its tuned correctly and on an e30 body, it can sure give the modern day sports car, a run for their money.......:burnout:

jo e34 well said bro well said...have a friend of mine whom still maintaining his E28 520i. Still using the M20 engine and the car can eventually tapaued another E28 with RB20DET. very powerful engine bro....according to him the engine is still stock standard and only spent less than RM4.5k to redo back the car back to pristine condition. Believe it or not? Same goes in this case, if the E30 is properly tuned, it can be as powerful as it is before. Bear in mind, the E30 was the most successful car in its era and the first compact car to use inline 6 engine.

back to m20 la bro...easy to maintain..power enough to carry e30 body...do some mods eg: exhaust piping and intake...ur car will run smoothly and got an awesome inline 6 sound...

guys... thanks for the advise. ok i'll check on m20... really thats power ar? currently i got 2 engine. now im using 316 4 doors auto. i got 84 model 2 door abonded car due to rust that using 323 engine. less cost just buy engine kosong take parts from 323 and gear box from 316... can kawin ka(geabox & engine?) 323 got manual gearbox ar.

actually i luv 4 cylinder... light weight. sr20 no need timing belt anymore. but the best 4 cylinder for bmw is s14! too pricey la(can buy another E30 or E34)... difficult to find some more.