E30 Sr20

frenchy

Dear all

I'm new here... i been thinking for so long now to swamp my car engine. i need little bit more power la... i'm using e30. just using this car on weekend. i've been checking a lot of thread for more info... finally i've in love with sr20! so for all e30 sr20 user... i really need u all comment. anything... engine perfomance? trouble? cost? i just need advise before i do this... before i feel regret la! i'm thinking AT la...

many thanks guys

Dont Spoil The Continental Chasis With Japs Engine! World War 3!

thanks jacky for your comment... but we not alone. all others country do what we hav done such as state and euro. y can't i... m'sia boleh!

IMHO BMW is not meant to be fitted with japs engine....australia maybe....but not in European countries

really fardell? thanks bro... its will effect handling the car? i mean if i fitted with japs engine? thats y i need to ask someone who had done this jobs before i regret... i don't mind swap my engine with ori bmw. just need little pick up thats why i need...

There are people who have done SR20 swaps and so far it has been good for them. It does work but it is always personal opinion on issues like this on whether they want jap or original make engines. There are tonnes of work to be done plus wiring issues is always a big problem! See what is an easier alternative, that will make you less frustrated.

We all have our own philosophies on this, like me I have a Merc and I kept the new engine all Merc when I wanted more power. To me it's just that when I open the hood I want to see Mercedes not another brand. But I support whoever wants what in their cars

There are other alternatives such as the M3 E30 engine, if you can find it because some people have. And also the E36 2.5litre engines. Those are nice engines and marry it with the small chasis E30 should give you something really good.

Jap engines are good for instaneous power as well but in my personal opinion is that, like I said, I prefer to open the food and see Merc under my hood than a jap engine. I once did contemplate on having a jap engine but when I realised there are other powerful engines for my car it would be better than a jap engine. It is also easier to install too!! I have heard of some people installing the 2.5 E36 engines in their E30 and also I have a mag on BMW performance on how they used E36 or E46 engines in their car. Keeping it all BMW will make you very happy in the long run. But of course the other problem is finding the engine because these halfcut shops are cuthroats on continental cars. Always bargain! There is the BMW local club, why not ask them for their opinions on which engine would be good instead.

BMWClub Malaysia

Check it out!

Finding performance parts for BMW is easier than a Merc though so lucky you, and one day am hoping to get an E30 as well along side my 190E! Those are cool cars and performance oriented!

Well said nass.....well said....frenchy, indeed yes because u need to revamp back the whole system of the car. Once u plonk in SR20, thus u need to use the whole SR20 system to make it runs perfect. U cannot longer use the BMW parts.

frenchy...i'm using e30 with Rb20 and have a lot of friend using sr20det...no problem at all as ur mechanic can make the mounting and wiring properly..depends on ur mechanic...it can be problem if u change all suspension and brake parts to nissan...if u change engine and g.box only..there is no problem...Rb20 is more difficult to fit in e30...so sr20 is better..if u wanna stay with bmw engine...stay with m20...dont need to put m50..cost u a lot...i'm hear it in bmwclub forum...go for m20b25..stock 170bhp...more than enough for e30 chasis...so...tepuk dada tanya selera!!...good luck in ur e30 conversion...get advice from bmw sifu and bmw rojak sifu...both are good and both have weakness...

hai orangebmw...
can u give me yr phone no..
i need u advise about bmw convert jepun engine..
actually, i have e28 and plan to convert jepun engine..
or u can call me at 012-4456746/013-3470107..

Hey guys just an advice, for those who want more power to check on any better engines for your own car brand first before resorting to jap engines. When I first wanted to do an engine transplant I only knew SR20s and RB25s/26s etc, I did more research and found a performance engine for my own car. Like 190Es there are the 16v engines, the 2.6, the 3.2 the 24v engines. Am sure for the BMWs you'd get the 2.5s, the 2.8s all DOHC 6cylinders as well as the 3litres. And let's not forget that BMW is about performance.

And another thing is check on torque and hp ratings than just hp itself, because if one of you guy want good pick up or whatever, you'd have to look at torque as well and there are other issues such as differential ratios and such that will affect any pick up feel and cruising feel. Remember how those muscle cars can spin their wheel with an auto trans even with less than 200hp? It's all about torque!

Just to let you know that I am not being biased about this because I have tried both sides and I do find both fun to drive. But just inform everyone to find more info about any better engines meant for your car first before making a final decision.

well...if u have budget more than 20k...go for m50 or buy the car that already converted to m50...or u want budget about the same with sr20det..go for m42..
1.8L DOHC...power not much as sr20det but enough for E30...
japs engine is the easiest way to make ur car powerful and with low budget...about rm10k u can get perfect e30sr20det...if u have more budget..go for m50...so now..depends on ur budget...dont hurry..relax2...if u have more2 budget...go for s50...now...its depends on budget and urself...

I have spent less than 10k for an engine plus transplant work. Others have spent more on the same thing that I have done but the point is with thorough searching you might be able to find an engine and not have to spend 20k and above. When you search for any engines you have to go to as many chop shops as you can plus haggle like crazy. That's what I did and I got the engine plus workmanshop for a total of 7 - 8k. Mercedes parts do not come any cheaper than BMW parts. Some other advice on finding an engine is to not go to the shops that are specialised in a specific brand. For example I went to Stuttgart and they have crazy prices claiming it's cheap. At least 20k for somethng that I can for less than half of that.

ok..now..we have opinion from both side...so just ask urself and decide wether japs engine or original m20 or more....
for me,i prefer m20 for my e30 bcoz m20 is developed for e30 chasis...

Safwan, now he is talking really serious lar bro. Thus everybody in da house do ur research first before deciding plunking any engine.

ok2..depends on urself la..today i went to a workshop in pendang, kedah...saw a e36 with modded rb20det...the cost is rm10k...with upgraded intercooler kit(frontmounted)...rb26dett throttle body and much more...this mechanic has done e21 with rb26dett and race at sepang in hong kong classic car...he also done singlevanos transplant in e30...this mechanic do bmw to bmw engine and bmw to japs engine...if u wanna do here...i can bring u to this workshop...some of his customer come from kl...

Safwan, cool down bro cool down bro....dun be offended with what i said...it is just a thoughts gave by bro nass....very tactful and informative. IMHO it is up to the person himself whether they want to have their car retrofitted with engines of the same models or vice versa.

also lots of merce with jap engine..
like bro orange said...just take the engine n gearbox...wiring kasi kawin..should be not prob..but depend on ya pomen n wireman..
long live mutant