BMW E30 !!!

Originally posted by jonathan79@Oct 26 2004, 14:08
i heard that RB20 don't have the ower for pickup but smoothness and SR20 is more on pickup is it true?
Would like to know why RB20 engine is way more cheaper than SR20?
Sorry for all stupid question as im still new on nissan''s engine..
:)
sr20det..4 cylinders..while rb20det..6 cylinders....meaning that, sr20det lighter compared to rb20det...:D....sr20det good for pick-up ..rb20det good for cruising...

Originally posted by aku_sangap+Oct 27 2004, 00:30 -->
QUOTE (aku_sangap @ Oct 27 2004, 00:30 )
--QuoteBegin-jonathan79
@Oct 26 2004, 14:08
i heard that RB20 don't have the ower for pickup but smoothness and SR20 is more on pickup is it true?

sr20det..4 cylinders..while rb20det..6 cylinders....meaning that, sr20det lighter compared to rb20det...:D....sr20det good for pick-up ..rb20det good for cruising... [/b][/quote]
True. PLUS

SR20 more fuel saving in short distance.

RB20 fuel saving in longer distance.

RB20 Half cut costs around rm2k++

SR20 around RM4k++ (i think lah. Can't remember coz i did the survey almost a yr ago.)

Originally posted by Zidane+Oct 27 2004, 07:57 -->
QUOTE (Zidane @ Oct 27 2004, 07:57 )
Originally posted by aku_sangap@Oct 27 2004, 00:30
--QuoteBegin-jonathan79
@Oct 26 2004, 14:08

sr20det..4 cylinders..while rb20det..6 cylinders....meaning that, sr20det lighter compared to rb20det...:D....sr20det good for pick-up ..rb20det good for cruising...

True. PLUS

SR20 more fuel saving in short distance.

RB20 fuel saving in longer distance.

RB20 Half cut costs around rm2k++

SR20 around RM4k++ (i think lah. Can't remember coz i did the survey almost a yr ago.) [/b][/quote]
thn i thk ill go for Sr20 as it's more fuel saving :)
heard that there will be an increasing price for fuel, is that true?
If i convert to SR20 engine,can i fit in S13 dashboard in or i need to stick to the orginal dashboard?
And the advise my frend gave to me is chg the tyres to 17" fopr gripping the car...:)
i plan to used the 15" tyres but wat he say is i won't take control on the car..i will drift like hell..
may i know what's the best size that we can used on a converted car?

Originally posted by jonathan79+Oct 26 2004, 10:28 -->
QUOTE (jonathan79 @ Oct 26 2004, 10:28 )
--QuoteBegin-shaifulo
@Oct 23 2004, 23:10
jonathan,

which part is hard to find???....maintenance very high????....you must have gone to the wrong shops. I own an E30, I have never came across that sort of a problem!!!! other E30 owners can attest to this.....unless u r talking about special upgrades i.e. lsd, dogleg box, strut brace, ori bodykit, then maybe la....but then again, once in a while, they'll surface in our local chop shops. you just have to know where to go :P

I just burst my gearbox and it cost me 8k for the insatllation and replacement...:(
and the fuel consumption is kinda high.My meter cluster was not working anymore and was told by the mech that i need to chg the whole meter...:( and it will cost me 300 for that.

Fabianyee,
I'm from penang
hehe

So i was planning to chg the engine to SR20 or RB20 :) [/b][/quote]
Jonathan,

BMW parts is not THAT expensive...I just sold of my E30 Auto Tranny to a friend for just below rm 1k....with all the instalation it didn't cost much at all.Now the car is in Penang.

First...BMW with either RB or SR powerplant is Fast!!!! Just for the straight speed.I have nothing against it. as for handling..???? Power to weight??? Yes for a 4 pot !!!

As for the original powerplant...??? I can only say....GET IT!!!!!! Fabian has elaborated from his point of view..I suggest you listen!!!!! ;)

Come join me at "Penang ciak kopi threadat bmwclub.com.my page.

We can meet up....pm me ur no:

see ya!!! ;)

Originally posted by shaifulo@Oct 23 2004, 23:10
jonathan,

which part is hard to find???....maintenance very high????....you must have gone to the wrong shops. I own an E30, I have never came across that sort of a problem!!!! other E30 owners can attest to this.....unless u r talking about special upgrades i.e. lsd, dogleg box, strut brace, ori bodykit, then maybe la....but then again, once in a while, they'll surface in our local chop shops. you just have to know where to go :P
... i do conquer with shaifulo, fabianyee, zoggee and not forgetting e30bob..... :lol:......cheers!!!

.....btw shaifulo... i'm still interested on the steereng rack... heheheh....

--QuoteBegin-shaifulo
jonathan,

I just burst my gearbox and it cost me 8k for the insatllation and replacement...:(
and the fuel consumption is kinda high.My meter cluster was not working anymore and was told by the mech that i need to chg the whole meter...:( and it will cost me 300 for that.

Fabianyee,
I'm from penang
hehe

Overhauling g/box for RM8K++!!! Wow that is damn expensive.

Dude, for that amount of money you can overhaul a E36 325I b/box and save somemore for other things. Or better still change the g/box from auto to manual and still save... Thats for E36...

Which means for E30 should be much cheaper...

my 2cents.

--QuoteBegin-shaifulo
jonathan,

Fabianyee,
I'm from penang
hehe

I got my E30 325i manual transmission oni for RM1300 early this year....

Originally posted by acbc@Oct 28 2004, 20:14
BTW, where do BMW owners meet up for TT in KL / PJ?
like alpha siad, check the website for latest TT places...

last time it was at Subang, then change to Sunway Extreme Park. Even Subaru Club n alfa Romeo club also yamcha there.But nowadays the club member have their own agenda n plans, they have their own TT at Klang, Puchong, etc...

The Shah Alam Bimmer club gather at Restorant Jalinan Purnama in Shah Alam bout 10-11pm n chat right up to 1-2am...