does doing grounding really improve your car performance?

Hey guys, i've got a kvestion,

recently i've been having lotsa trouble with my air cond compressor,
it keeps shorting out, I just can't explain why, my car is a 94 astina...
any i dea if installing a set ot grounds might help the situation...

P/s recently i took out some amps and speakers and installed a cheaper aftermarket....

Cheers,

Hey MajPayne, my friend's Astina's had a non-working compressor as well and the problem was the wire from the compressor, the insulation was gone and only a few strands of wire were holding the wire together.

It wasn't easy to spot because it was low down in the engine bay and some mechanics missed it. Maybe its a common problem with the Astina. Either way if your compressor is shorting out its a problem and the grounding kit might just cover up the problem. Good luck!

Have a set of gw and vs in my carbi 4G15A 1997, I do feel that the engine is less bogged down... however I agree with VantageX about the QC in our beloved national cars and must be addressed.

I must mention though, I am running higher wattage headlights(90/100) and ICE, so a stable and clean supply of electricity is important to maintain performance.

My 2 sen

Hi All Si Fu,

just wonder where to connect the grounding cable at the engine bay is correct? previously i have install it and start using it until now, then i pump into this forum and notice that the grounding installation need some expert to do it. i not sure is my previous Car assesory shop is professional on this or not?? can some expert from this forum provide some grounding advice or show some pic? i ride a Honda Civic year 95 Auto EFi.

Please advice ^_^
TQ.....

NeoG said:
Hi All Si Fu,

just wonder where to connect the grounding cable at the engine bay is correct? previously i have install it and start using it until now, then i pump into this forum and notice that the grounding installation need some expert to do it. i not sure is my previous Car assesory shop is professional on this or not?? can some expert from this forum provide some grounding advice or show some pic? i ride a Honda Civic year 95 Auto EFi.

Please advice ^_^
TQ.....
\

Dude,

I think it is common sense. Ground wires are to ensure that the flow of electricity to and from the car battery is as smooth and short as possible.

The benefits of this are:
1. Longer lasting battery(provided you maintain your battery)
2. More reponsive engine
3. Brighter headlights
4. Improved sound from ICE.

These are a few areas that must have the ground wires connected securely to: (u can visually inspect this)

1. Alternator earth to negative battery terminal
2. Engine block to battery terminal
3. Engine block to car body
4. Car body to battery terminal
5. Gearbox to battery terminal (optional)

I hope this helps as actually you dun need to have an expert to do this. You will just have to ensure that the wires have good and secure contact with bare metal... check after the mechanic has installed it.(wiggle the contact 'o' ring.It shud not move)

Anyone care to add anything?

NeoG said:
Hi All Si Fu,

Please advice ^_^
TQ.....
\

Dude,

I think it is common sense. Ground wires are to ensure that the flow of electricity to and from the car battery is as smooth and short as possible.

The benefits of this are:
1. Longer lasting battery(provided you maintain your battery)
2. More reponsive engine
3. Brighter headlights
4. Improved sound from ICE.

These are a few areas that must have the ground wires connected securely to: (u can visually inspect this)

1. Alternator earth to negative battery terminal
2. Engine block to battery terminal
3. Engine block to car body
4. Car body to battery terminal
5. Gearbox to battery terminal (optional)

I hope this helps as actually you dun need to have an expert to do this. You will just have to ensure that the wires have good and secure contact with bare metal... check after the mechanic has installed it.(wiggle the contact 'o' ring.It shud not move)

Anyone care to add anything?

gearbox ground normaly for auto car....manual car beter ground starter

NeoG,

u can snap some photos n let us see.....so we can gv comments:_:

Got gearbox ground also? Hmm...so this grounding is to smoother the electric flow ha? I noticed that sometimes my headlights will suddenly become dimmer for a few seconds or something like that...is it normal? It's a waja auto anyway...

Futura said:
I noticed that sometimes my headlights will suddenly become dimmer for a few seconds or something like that...is it normal? It's a waja auto anyway...

its normal la for every stock car....:_:

Futura said:
Hi huakenny can you tell me what's the diff b/w gearbox and starter ground?

starter is where u ground directly to the starter itself.....

gearbox, normaly ground to the sensor for auto transmission vehicles....

my 2 cent

Thanks pal for the useful infomation ^_^ i will check is my grounding connection correct or not?

thanks a million!!

Whoa...so many config for grounding meh...so if I want to ground my car, which config is the best?