DIY Voltage Stabilizer

Ask him about "how to make the car fast" lar....who knows he turns out to be ImportedTuner hahahaha :lol: :lol:

haha.. my dad only like drive a stock car... dun like to modify cars... so wat i do also sometimes he dun like.. keke

I managed to diy one. First 2 tests with a 12V batt (not in the car) showed that it manage to hold charge (test with multimeter) but after that 3rd test show that it cannot hold any more, 0 voltage.

Using the multimeter show that it has shorted somewhere, dunno which cap as its all connected in parallel. All caps look ok, no pregnant whatsoever, fuse oso ok. What went wrong and how come the 10A fuse did not blow? Imagine if I fix it to my car directly :o Can anyone advise me?

are u sure somewhere short? u get 0 ohm with de multimeter?

if so... check all ur soldering points... if u r using a strip board.. it may just touched something dat conducts electricity between de copper strips.. n mayb u have messy wiring dat made de +ve n -ve short together...

if u have some pics to show.. dat'll be much better B)

Yes, 0 ohm, also use the beeper option to test, beeps means shorted...

Now hv to check all the points, used the stripe board, else hv to take out the caps one by one... :( Question is if later water or anything else cause it to short... the fuse should have blow first rite? Perhaps should use lower amp... else my car components die laa...

well.. then u have to check lor.. sometimes it is just some simple mistakes u made but u din notice it onli..

khguan is right...sometimes, even a tiny solder ball somewhere can cause short circuit...try to use manifying glass and lights, may help u out while looking for the culprit.

if u stil cant find the prob... then i suggest u take out all de caps... n resolder them onto another strip board.... that may solve the prob..

make sure the strip board there is clean.. n do neat soldering job... so dat it wun have chance to short circuit... n avoid messy wiring...

my 2 cents B)

hahaha...troubleshooting, that's the most painful part. anyway, removing every thing and start fresh is one of the good option...atleast..no need to get into trouble tying to find the hiding culprit.

........last time i bought a wrong type of board, solder everything liao then check with meter...aisk y everywhere connected n canot get capacitance value! look again.shit wrong board, open up everything, almost die there :P kakakakka damn painfull worklah

I did wrong before also...last time no experience mar, solder "over the bolder" . Take out everything and left it unused until now ler...because all the cap leg has got some solder on it...hard to pierce through the board's hole again...any one tell me how?? what tool to use? :huh:

yep.. it got a spring inside... u need to load de spring.. then press a switch to let go de spring.. POP!! then it sucks de solder lor... of cos u have to met de solder 1st lar...

this thing is common stuff lar.. when u in form3 kemahiran hidup din learn meh?

Originally posted by khguan@Apr 13 2005, 01:44
yep.. it got a spring inside... u need to load de spring.. then press a switch to let go de spring.. POP!! then it sucks de solder lor... of cos u have to met de solder 1st lar...

[snapback]892072[/snapback]​
hi khguan, no luck on my side, i was wondering, any different using a VS on a wetcell n a drycell? between wetcells seems to haf more voltage compare to drycell. by the way, haf u ever try switching on ur headlight at the same time engage the signal light, did u realize any blinking on ur headlight with the VS connected.? :) need advice...

Originally posted by khguan@Apr 13 2005, 01:44

[snapback]892072[/snapback]​

No oh....i wan not so attentive kua hahahaha :lol:

Originally posted by ufo@Apr 14 2005, 00:51
hi khguan, no luck on my side, i was wondering, any different using a VS on a wetcell n a drycell? between wetcells seems to haf more voltage compare to drycell. by the way, haf u ever try switching on ur headlight at the same time engage the signal light, did u realize any blinking on ur headlight with the VS connected.? https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif alt='smile.gif' /> need advice...
[snapback]895262[/snapback]​

i'm not sure bout using de VS wit de wetcell n drycell comparisons...

u mean switch on de headlights when de signals is on?

blinking headlights? do u mean dimming headlights? well i din notice dat b4.. let me test my car 1st.. then onli i tell u ok? :P :lol: