DIY Voltage Stabilizer

Originally posted by khguan@Mar 31 2005, 01:01
ufo,

ok.. i'm sorry for using dat word... no offence.. so let us just be cool.. n share watever useful knowledge here.. :)
[snapback]855306[/snapback]​
no pro, no nd apolologized. wil sent u guys the circuitary once i lay my hand on those thing. ;)

xstorm.. i was curious.. below your nick that pic izzit nennen+tektek or what?

i got this 82,000uF cap for sale, 16V DC, 95 degree celsius Manufactured by Nippon Chemicon & United Chemicon which is major Cap maker ......I am currently using it for HU, pls see http://boon.i8.com/forsale.htm for real picture.

PM me for price

Originally posted by lighter@Apr 1 2005, 05:14
got 1 question.. what is ground? and how to make ground?
[snapback]858939[/snapback]​
grounding is earthing...return line... eg: u use at home.. single phase supply, u need a live current to flow.. so where it ends? ur neutral of coz.. jus like grounding

neutral mostly izzit green colour wire right? but if i develop a VS how to make a grounding?

Originally posted by lighter@Apr 2 2005, 00:47
neutral mostly izzit green colour wire right? but if i develop a VS how to make a grounding?
[snapback]861034[/snapback]​

if u're talking about the wiring in our home...neutral wire and ground is different thing ...neutral is usually the blue coulour wire along with the usually brown live wire and green earth.

anyway, like ufo say this ground is like the neutral of the home electrical system, but its for your car. can be refer to as negative also but some devices have both positive and negative output voltage so ground is actually the reference where all the current will return to.

Originally posted by lighter@Apr 2 2005, 00:47
[snapback]861034[/snapback]​
most basic n easiest way to ground, wire up ur minus (which is indicated on ur battery) n connect it to ur car body, left n right,2nd connect it to the car distribution system, then the engine body etc..

I am building a DIY VS now but I need to know what else could go wrong; besides accidently reversing the polarity! :o

Would my car's electronics be affected if the VS fails (capacitors fail over period of time; or what else could fail?). This is because we would leave this unit in our cars, forgetting about it until something goes wrong. Err, how do we know if any of the capacitor has failed or is failing (besides opening up the box & checking for exploded/pregnant ones)? An indicator led would be fixed in parallel, so if one capacitor fails, the led won't detect it right? :huh:

Please advise. TQ. :)

u may be puting de caps terbalik when u DIY it..so becareful...

just make sure de voltage rating u use is higher than the cars max voltage.. . yep if one cap fails.. u wun know... unless u open up n c it with ur owm eyes.. physical damages lar..

Thanks for your reply. Except for polarity problems, if caps fail, would it cause short circuit to other electronics in the car like the ECU, etc (assuming fuse unable to catch the surge fast enough).

How about if got drips of water / condensation of water (within the unit even if you superlon/waterproof it, we are living in humid m'sia) on the circuit board? Die la?!! This is what's stopping me from installing the unit...
:huh: :huh: :huh:

dun worry bout all dat lar....

i just washed my engine with high pressure cleaner n my VS still working fine... even if de box is not water proofed.

if u worry too much.. just dun do it...

Of coz worry ma, ecu not cheap to replace. I'm here to learn ma, dun flame me la... I'm not an electronics person... just curious & like diy.

Just need to know the safety aspects before going further. if caps blow, it just opens the circuit & not short it right? If water gets in, fuse just blows right? I'm sure many of blur ppl like me reading also wants to know these things...

duno wory bout water making ur VS short circuit... since our car voltage is around 14V n below.. so it is quite hard for de water to conduct electricity...

it will NOT short circuit or blow fuse.. according to my dad.. actually using capacitors as voltage stabilizer is very reliable in terms of durability since it can withstand heat n moisture better than those tiny electronic circuitry....

Originally posted by khguan@Apr 5 2005, 14:46
duno wory bout water making ur VS short circuit... since our car voltage is around 14V n below.. so it is quite hard for de water to conduct electricity...

it will NOT short circuit or blow fuse.. according to my dad.. actually using capacitors as voltage stabilizer is very reliable in terms of durability since it can withstand heat n moisture better than those tiny electronic circuitry....
[snapback]870438[/snapback]​

What's the difference between grounding and voltage stabilizer? If u install one, do u need the other too?

VS is to stabilize ur car voltage.. reducing minor fluctuations in short period of time due to de alternator... therefore giving u a more stable voltage...

grounding kit is to reduce de resistance of de connection between de car power supply system to de electrical sytems in ur car.. therefore reducing voltage drop

it is best u have both of them installed.. grounding alone u do not have a stabilized voltage... VS alone u do not have a good connection...

Thanks for your assurance... Ur dad oso into this ah? cool... 25A fuse ok?

Got grounding done but dun like the dimming of headlights whenever a/c kicks in...

er.. my dad took an electronic course when he was young back in de 70s.. n he repairs radio n TVs back then... now no more lar... but all de electronic concepts he knows lar...

using 10A fuse will do... no need use until 25A.... it may not work when short circuit occurs.. n dat could be dangerous... i'm using 10A for my VS... B)

Good lar...got anything just ask ur father can already...convenience :lol:

aiya.. my dad onli know those "old technologies"... hehe :P new technologies he dun know much lar... but all de electronic basics is from last time lar... hehe..

since i also know it... so very seldom i ask him lar... :P