DIY Voltage Stabilizer

Originally posted by khguan@Mar 30 2005, 21:49
this guy is helping me to "tou mai" (pour rice)... condeming my product..
watch ur words dude.. do u know wat u r toking about?? many ppl have used my DIY VS n claim good feedbacks.. n proven useful...
[snapback]854857[/snapback]​
ok
no pro kh, i was merely telling the facts, those who haf the knowledge of caps should know better, anyway i haf removed tat post, as i said b4.. no offend :ph34r:

i guest ufo u ot something beter for us to share rite? comelah dun b stingy

Originally posted by levin818@Mar 29 2005, 19:49
Hi votech,
Yes, that is the info i need. I want to know how effective the VS can filter the ripple voltage at the supply line.
My almost 2 yr old battery, with 7 points grounding kits, gave me 250mV RMS at above condition. I am wondering how my ECU can work effectively under this kind of situation.

khguan,
perhaps u can use your DMM to get the reading. Just switch the selector to "AC Voltage" can do.

Tks folks!
[snapback]851648[/snapback]​

Any results?
Your result will tells your VS's performance.
Indirectly, it helps promote your VS.

Originally posted by ufo@Mar 30 2005, 23:35
ok
no pro kh, i was merely telling the facts, those who haf the knowledge of caps should know better, anyway i haf removed tat post, as i said b4.. no offend :ph34r:
[snapback]855100[/snapback]​

well.. if u have something to share... just share it.. but the way u put ur words is not really dat appropriate.. i appreciate it u removed dat post..

since this topic has been discuss in such long time n so many pages.. u cant just come in n condemn wat many ppl has done here... n there r many ppl done it n experienced improvements... hope u get wat i'm trying to say... B)

Originally posted by xtorm@Mar 30 2005, 23:59
[snapback]855158[/snapback]​
hi xtorm, i did post something interesting recently, well got some unwelcome reply, so i guess i better deleted it, i haf go thru not only this forum, many... i mean many... if i haf a good VS, u dun haf to worry,i will b damm glad to post it all to u guys. :ph34r:

Originally posted by khguan+Mar 31 2005, 00:38 -->
QUOTE(khguan @ Mar 31 2005, 00:38 )
--QuoteBegin-ufo
@Mar 30 2005, 23:35
ok
[snapback]855100[/snapback]​

well.. if u have something to share... just share it.. but the way u put ur words is not really dat appropriate.. i appreciate it u removed dat post..

since this topic has been discuss in such long time n so many pages.. u cant just come in n condemn wat many ppl has done here... n there r many ppl done it n experienced improvements... hope u get wat i'm trying to say... B)
[snapback]855254[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]
retract tat word condemn plz.. its a forum, everyone haf the rite of their say, i
didnt condemn u or others works , "we can find ways to to work together to build a better one ", tat is wat occurs on my mind d moment i post tat message. :ph34r:

Originally posted by ufo+Mar 31 2005, 00:43 -->
QUOTE(ufo @ Mar 31 2005, 00:43 )
--QuoteBegin-xtorm
@Mar 30 2005, 23:59
hi xtorm, i did post something interesting recently, well got some unwelcome reply, so i guess i better deleted it, i haf go thru not only this forum, many... i mean many... if i haf a good VS, u dun haf to worry,i will b damm glad to post it all to u guys. :ph34r:
[snapback]855268[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

hehehehe...good........ya, tat 1 i saw.but canot do anything since no schematic, n the ic chip need to b programe, not plug n play 1 i think.

so for us low cost budy, cap is still the only way to go to get some effect, cos still lots of the vs selling rm300 1 is using cap

ufo,

ok.. i'm sorry for using dat word... no offence.. so let us just be cool.. n share watever useful knowledge here.. :)

wah... this topic is getting hotter and hotter ah... don't quarrel with each other... it is useless, remember that diy is meant to share with other fellow member.

khguan, i've been searching over the net 4 d suitable ic and found this one MC33099 at motorola, it is a alternator voltage regulator ic that can enhance our vs... in my opinion la. what do you think about it... well here is the features...

MC33099 Features:
- Provides High Side MOSFET Control of a Ground Referenced Field Winding
- Forced Load Response Control (LRC) at Low Engine RPM Due to Abrupt System Load Currents
- Four User Programmable LRC Rates From 1.8 Seconds to 7.4 Seconds
- LRC Response During Initial Start
- PWM Fixed Operating Frequency of 395 Hz
- Internal Level Shifting of External System Voltages
- Internal Lamp Driver with Short Circuit, Current Limit, Thermal Limit and Load Dump Protection

here is the link http://www.freescale.com/webapp/sps/site/p...=01435979961182

sigh..still need programing.........if not later the alternator go hey wire!

i think dat is de similar IC used in our cars to stabilize de converted AC to DC voltage... but i'm not sure bout it..

since onli have de IC no.. no diagram.... cant do anything..

xtorm,
dude.. i dun think need programming as de task of de IC is to stabilize voltage... n it wun kacau de alternator...

Originally posted by levin818+Mar 31 2005, 00:18 -->
QUOTE(levin818 @ Mar 31 2005, 00:18 )
--QuoteBegin-levin818
@Mar 29 2005, 19:49
Hi votech,
Yes, that is the info i need. I want to know how effective the VS can filter the ripple voltage at the supply line.
My almost 2 yr old battery, with 7 points grounding kits, gave me 250mV RMS at above condition. I am wondering how my ECU can work effectively under this kind of situation.

khguan,
perhaps u can use your DMM to get the reading. Just switch the selector to "AC Voltage" can do.

Tks folks!
[snapback]851648[/snapback]​

Any results?
Your result will tells your VS's performance.
Indirectly, it helps promote your VS.
[snapback]855210[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

Let me scope the terminals again this weekend on our test car. Update you guys on that...still stuck with work load this whole week...be patient. btw levin818, looking at the ripple only during idling may not tell the actually performance of the VS. At different rev, still gonna give you diffrent type of ripple. The overall performance is still the most important after we done test on more than 20 types of cars during development stage, this is what we realize and we did the tweaking to get the most optimum one for all. ANyway, thanks for the interest levin818. ;)

Originally posted by khguan@Mar 31 2005, 09:30
i think dat is de similar IC used in our cars to stabilize de converted AC to DC voltage... but i'm not sure bout it..

xtorm,
dude.. i dun think need programming as de task of de IC is to stabilize voltage... n it wun kacau de alternator...
[snapback]855904[/snapback]​

to use that IC, it definately need some programming and xtorm is right, without tweaking the correctly, it may drain current unnecessary or at non-optimum level which might make things worse and become additional load to the alternator.. Btw, Inductance, Resistance and Capacitance is 3 components that will change the power factor...so, use them wisely.

oh... izzit a complicated IC? how many pins wan?

wat do u mean by programming? need to use some equipment to program it?

Originally posted by khguan@Mar 31 2005, 09:30

xtorm,
[snapback]855904[/snapback]​

ok... later on i'll post the diagram and see wether it needs to be programmed or not. btw there are a lot of experts in this diy section, see wether you can modify this schematic or not ;).

sometimes, for some ICs, when they say programmable, not necessary need to have a programmer or so, some just need to configure a few pins and that's all.

well... here is the sample of the diagram... please... anyone can modify this??? :huh: if can ha... fuiiiyooo!!!

oic.. i comp sc student mah.. so when c de word programming.. sure think of something to do with "conditions" n "settings"

kruger..
dat diagram is onli a simplified version - conceptual.. de caps n diodes n stuff no values wan... n de pin no. of de IC also not stated...

no value coz its the diagram of the alternator and ect lah...have to configure for different application one. Anyway, there's already one such IC built into most alternator these days.

Originally posted by xtorm+Mar 31 2005, 00:48 -->
QUOTE(xtorm @ Mar 31 2005, 00:48 )
Originally posted by ufo@Mar 31 2005, 00:43
--QuoteBegin-xtorm
@Mar 30 2005, 23:59

[snapback]855268[/snapback]​

hehehehe...good........ya, tat 1 i saw.but canot do anything since no schematic, n the ic chip need to b programe, not plug n play 1 i think.

so for us low cost budy, cap is still the only way to go to get some effect, cos still lots of the vs selling rm300 1 is using cap
[snapback]855280[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]
about the schematic, i am trying to figure out the circuitary once my frd sent me the other pic, stil waiting... will post it a.s.a.p once i've done it.