DIY Voltage Stabilizer

Hmm.... I think the VS caps not enough.. haha.. still can see the lights become brighter when off the air cond or step on accelerator... :P

Originally posted by n305er@Mar 9 2005, 08:17
Hmm.... I think the VS caps not enough.. haha.. still can see the lights become brighter when off the air cond or step on accelerator... :P
bro.....tis is the sign tat ur batery wana kong already......:) more caps wont help

ur next battery.. change to NS70 battery... MF wan if can...

bigger size.. makes ur engine bay look nicer.. just like mine.. hehe :lol:

Originally posted by xtorm+Mar 9 2005, 09:28 -->
QUOTE (xtorm @ Mar 9 2005, 09:28 )
--QuoteBegin-n305er
@Mar 9 2005, 08:17

bro.....tis is the sign tat ur batery wana kong already......:) more caps wont help [/b][/quote]
baru change less then 3 months wor... :blink: :unsure:
Has been hapenning since my older battery... and the battery before that...
*scratch head*

since we have dont so many VS ... any conclusion on the cap value to use, i mean using 4700uf only better or 470uf only better ... ???

mine is base on the japanese version ... but i multiply by 2 ... so total is 40000uf ++

Originally posted by n305er+Mar 9 2005, 11:12 -->
QUOTE (n305er @ Mar 9 2005, 11:12 )
Originally posted by xtorm@Mar 9 2005, 09:28
--QuoteBegin-n305er

bro.....tis is the sign tat ur batery wana kong already......:) more caps wont help

*scratch head* [/b][/quote]
dun worry bout dat battery thing lar... its normal to for de lights dim when u on aircon.. cos de compressor is making de alternator run slow for a moment..

this is not onli depends got VS or not... ur car grounding need to be improved as well... cos our cars got resistance wan... so when u put in grounding... then u get smoother current flow.... B)

Dudes... just something that passed my head... don't flame me for this ok? :D

It's regarding way the VS is connected to the car's wiring system (+ve to +ve/ -ve to -ve).

From what I can see, the VS acts as a secondary battery, allowing power from the alternator to be stored & discharged efficiently. This is what creates the smooth power-flow within the car. (Am I right so far? :unsure: )

Doesn't this mean that the alternator will be working constantly to charge the VS since it is also consistently discharging itself into the car's electrical system?

Doesn't this also mean that we're NOT smoothening out the current originating from the battery, but rather using current drawn from an alternative source (in this case, the VS)

This may be why Mr. khguan needed up to 90,900µF of capacitance to stablize the current flow within his car? Maybe this denotes how much current the car needs at any one time?

Just need some clarification from all you experts :D

Erm... Yes it acts as a secondary battery... But I'm not sure about it not being charged by the battery...

Cause When I installed mine, I don't need to on the engine.. Just connect to the battery and zappp... the LED lights up forever...

huh? then, doesn't that mean that the VS is drawing current from the battery?

By the way, when the engine is started, doesn't the VS becomes another load for the alternator?

Originally posted by n305er+Mar 9 2005, 11:12 -->
QUOTE (n305er @ Mar 9 2005, 11:12 )
Originally posted by xtorm@Mar 9 2005, 09:28
--QuoteBegin-n305er

*scratch head* [/b][/quote]
aiks........alternator kong ahhh! :blink: not surelahhh! but not normal.......check ur voltage with the engine on, see got 14v or not

ok.. now my turn to explain...

yes.. u r right bout de VS being as a secondary battery.. but battery is different than caps.. caps can charge n discharge much much faster then battery...

y caps is used to stabilize voltage? this is bcos when de alternator charges de car battery n system... it will make de voltage suply fluctuate due to converted AC voltage to DC voltage n also fluctuating engine speed... actually a car battery also act as a voltage stabilizer.. but it CANNOT cope up with such fast fluctuations...

so dats y we need caps for this stabilizing task... as i said caps can charge n discharge very fast... so when there is a slight drop of voltage.. it quickly(really quick) supply some voltage to de system so dat it smoothen out de fluctuations... n give a flat smooth constant voltage...

n another thing... once a caps is fully charge.. it will not take in anymore current.. therefore it will not drain ur battery's current... de only thing wil drain de battery current is de LED... n u need a very very long long time to drain out de battery...

my DIY VS is 82000uf.. not 90900uf... ok.. de higher de caps total calue.. de more charge it can store... de more charge it store.. de better de "stiffening effect".. this will be very useful to ur ICE system..it gives u more bass n loudness...

y like dat? this is bcos when ur bass hit hard.. then de amp will need high ampere supply.. n ur car battery cant supply dat fast to de amp... so de bass is less heavy n distorted.. so with my VS.. it wil help on this... just like ppl use those audio caps..

hope all this info clear everything bout VS...

Originally posted by n305er@Mar 9 2005, 13:48
Erm... Yes it acts as a secondary battery... But I'm not sure about it not being charged by the battery...

Cause When I installed mine, I don't need to on the engine.. Just connect to the battery and zappp... the LED lights up forever...
when u installed de VS.. ur battery is charging it.. so when LED lights up.. means dat it is fully charged.. B)

Originally posted by cacin@Mar 9 2005, 14:02
huh? then, doesn't that mean that the VS is drawing current from the battery?

By the way, when the engine is started, doesn't the VS becomes another load for the alternator?
a VS with caps will NOT drain ur car battery... B)

Ahah...
So here's some pictures...
Warning: Very ugly Pics:lol:

Here's the setup. The multimeter poking to the battery teminals where the VS is installed. A torch light cause it's night time...And... a bunch of my DIY grounding cables.. very very messy. :P
http://messhall.n305er.com/pics/car_stuff/mywira/DSCF0060.jpg

Top View... The VS is installed in front of the battery just after the headlamp...
http://messhall.n305er.com/pics/car_stuff/mywira/DSCF0062.jpg

These 2 pictures... with the engine off (Fluctuating a little probably due to the engine was on just a moment ago)
http://messhall.n305er.com/pics/car_stuff/mywira/DSCF0066.jpg
http://messhall.n305er.com/pics/car_stuff/mywira/DSCF0068.jpg

When the engine is on, the voltage is very very constant and stable at 14V.
http://messhall.n305er.com/pics/car_stuff/mywira/DSCF0059.jpg

Fuse and LED...
http://messhall.n305er.com/pics/car_stuff/mywira/DSCF0069.jpg

My battery contact HAHAHA!!!...
http://messhall.n305er.com/pics/car_stuff/mywira/DSCF0072.jpg

Just because I was lazy to drill a few freaking holes on a metel piece or something? :P
http://messhall.n305er.com/pics/car_stuff/mywira/DSCF0071.jpg

woik!! ur engine really messed up with those cables runnning here n there... go n tidy them up lar .. for god sake..

especially de battery terminal there.. OMG.. wanto DIY.. DIY properly mah... :lol:

Next time when free la...
I work morning till evening... 1 day install 1 cable only... that's why so messy. :lol:

My next idea is to install alot of CCFL or LED inside the engine bay so I need to wash that area and rearrange all the cables... :/

DANGER

ur wires so messy..

better find better battery tterminal clamp...

n305er, how long your battery had been use, cause i saw the voltage is only 14.09 is kind of a bit low. my car install a heavy ICE setup and when i blass it loud, i still manage to get 14.2, batter check your battery condition.

Originally posted by votech@Mar 9 2005, 22:26
n305er, how long your battery had been use, cause i saw the voltage is only 14.09 is kind of a bit low. my car install a heavy ICE setup and when i blass it loud, i still manage to get 14.2, batter check your battery condition.
With the engine on, and a VS in place, I think the only reason the voltage is slightly lower is due to the alternator and not the battery la... :)
I think every car will be different... Especially my poorly maintained car... Last owner might be some heavy smoker mat rempit... :huh: :unsure:

n305er, i can confirm to you is not the alternator, is the battery. cause if your battery voltage drop lower. it mean you battery is not able to store the battery. not your alternator not charging.

just my 2 cents