DIY Voltage Stabilizer

yah.. like nasi lemak.. :lol:

i will anounce here again when stock is available... mayb in a few days time..

i'll try to make more units in a shorter time.. it really takes up a lot of time to make one!! :unsure:

khguan.. i follow your circuit diagram to do the voltage stabilizer, the LED light up whenever connected to the battery, will it consume a lot of battery if the car is left for a few days? flat the battery? :unsure: :blink:

Originally posted by jaywat@Feb 22 2005, 00:02
khguan.. i follow your circuit diagram to do the voltage stabilizer, the LED light up whenever connected to the battery, will it consume a lot of battery if the car is left for a few days? flat the battery? :unsure: :blink:
yep.. de LED wil light up whenever its it connected to ur batt.

dun worry... i've tried leaving my car for 8-9 days during CNY cos i went for vacation... then come back still can start.. no prob at all.. dun worry lar... dat small LED onli draw very very little current wan.. B)

Originally posted by n305er@Feb 22 2005, 10:47
I failed my Voltage Stabalizer Project... :cry:
But I did managed to did some groundings... :D
fail? how?? mind to show me de pics? n circuit diagram?

Let's just say it's not a circuit error but more of Human error and lack of tools and planing.. :D

UPDATE :

my 1st batch of VS is already finished selling... i found dat selling at RM90 is a bit messy when come to returning de change.. everyone also give me RM100. then i have to korek RM10 out..

for de next batch of my DIY VS, i'll raise de price to RM100 per unit. But don worry.. as a compensation.. i will put in a few more mica caps, give u 2 pcs of chromed nuts for easy PLUG-N-PLAY installation n include a FREE DEMO on how to operate n install de VS ^_^

Features of my new VS:
1. 7 different values of capacitors (electrolytic n mica)
2. fuse protection for safety purposes
3. LED indicator to show whether fuse is fine or not
4. superlon on top n bottom for some heatproof effect
5. 2 pcs of 10mm chromed nuts for easier installation

note : installation is not included - i can teach u how to install it ;)

pls PM me or Call or SMS me at 012-2708685
my location is Serdang n UPM.. i speak Cantonese, Mandarin, English n Malay B)

STOCK IS CURRENTLY NOT AVAILABLE... BOOKINGS ARE WELCOMED. NEXT BATCH OF VS WILL BE OUT ON NEXT WEEK.

khguan,

Please kindly take this to the For Sale section.
Thank you for your coorperation.

hi Vincew ...

as mention at page 16, resistance value is important ... so how do i measure what is the resistance value of my car ??? i have 2 amp installed ler ...

Do not worry about the car resistance.

As the car goes older the resistance is higher due to metal corrosion.

the resistor is just to demonstrate the action of the VS in low and higher resistance.

the value of the Caps used is depending on each person. I have my own reason to choose that value.

BTW i am still trying to find the Wire mesh tube for the Japan VS. Still can get it in Ipoh. Shit :(

got pics? pls post here n share ok? ^_^

wat u mean by good?? n better feel? let others know wat good n feel do u get...

Just curious, whether the effects of all this DIY ( VS, soundproof ) is more apparent in older cars ( 2 years, more? )...

Any comments? :huh:

well.. not really.. for de VS.. it will still make difference.. y? bcos our car got an alternator... n many electrical items... so when ur engine is running.. de alternator will charge ur car batt. n supply voltage to all electrical items in our car.

so de alternator is like a dinamo.. ur engine is speed is not constant.. so de voltage suplied from de alternator will be fluctuating... so de purpose of VS here is to smoothen out de fluctuations.. so dat u get a constant voltage... then when u get smooth voltage... u can brighter lights wit very little dimming when engine idle.. better bass from ur ICE.. ur ECU sensors work better.. n etc..

and for soundproofing.... most cars come wit "some" soundproofing characteristics.. but it is always still not enough unless u r driving some luxury car like Merc, BMW or Lexus... just to name a few.. our plotong cars do not really have sufficient soundproofing.. they wanto cut cost n untung banyak banyak... so we have to DIY soundproof lor..

Thanks for the detailed explaination on VS... :D Quite informative really cos' I don't really know much about cars.

As for soundproofing, I have doubts because I'm worried that my car will rust after applying the Dunlop glue and get no results. But, I've been looking forward to doing it since I already have the superlon. Maybe will do it this weekend if I have time and post some pics as promised... ^_^

khguan,
What is the total capacitance value of ur VS?. What is the diff. in performance with ur VS before and after additional caps?

zane,
for de rust prob.. i also not sure whether it will rust r not.. so far i superloned few month already on my wira.. seems ok... if u r scared.. then i recommend u use silicone glue.. but one thing... silicone very smelly when u apply... :P

nique,
i calculate my VS is about 82,000uf... after putting in de additional smaller caps.. i noticed dat my engine response is slightly better...