DIY Voltage Stabilizer

;) the following are some words from a sifu from the far far away knigdom..

:D :lol: ;)

1) Electrolytic capacitors have high capacitance as the electrolyte
forms one plate and foil the other with a very thin oxide layer
deposited when it's energised (that's why they got + and -). This
insulation is very delicate and can easily be damaged by overvoltage.
However the higher voltage rating the capacitors are, the less
capacitance for the same volume.

2) Sometimes when relays or motors cut out, a HV transient is
generated (creating sparks). This transients, if not controlled, can
damage the caps if it's above the capacitor rating.

3) Electrolytics have a life span, depending on the temperature
(which tend to dry out the electrolyte), the number of times it
cycles (discharges) and also due to overvoltage. That's why your
relay idea will not prolong it's life as disconnection and
reconnection may stress it more.

4) If you want further protection, swap the D1 diode with a 15V Zener
diode and make sure your capacitors are rated HIGER than 15V.

5) Mica, polyester capacitors (which have no liquid insude) lasts
very long.

More discussions here:

http://www.autoworld.com.my/forum/allposts.asp?summary=1&Forum=ap512122419&access=1&status=1&subject=DIY+Voltage+stabiliser

1) You can use a single 1F cap used for HIFI or a bank of smaller
values. If you protect your capacitors by swaping D1 with a 15V zener
diode, then a 25V rated capacitor will do just fine.

3) Cn.. n stands for as many as needed.

4) Adding more.. additional cost with minimal inprovement.

Mr Ah Lee,

Wow! Based on the explaination I feel confident sikit ma!, tomorrow I will go to Pasar Road & buy all the components based on the diagram provided by Great Sifu JakeGee

Thanks again Mr Ah Lee for the great effort searching on DIY VR with comprehensive explaination!

I hope all the parts available in Pasar road, especially the 15v zener diode. Tomorrow almost half of the kedai in P Road tutop ma!

oh...Subija..
good luck for DIY!! pls note down the price n which shop u got all those parts..so all of us who are interested will have a better idea wat to do..

HAPPY SHARING!!!! :lol: :D :P

CHeers for DIY VS ... ;)

(btw...i visited the two rolls of shop facing the main street onli..quite helpful. If any of u found that those at the back also good in service..pls notify in this forum la..)

Mr Lee,

In P Road normally I bought parts at no 72 NASAMAS Electronics for my other/previous projects. This shop I guaratee all parts are available. Today the shop close. So got to buy at other shops that open today. Prices of parts are almost identical over there. I'll be there around 11.00 am.

How about your DIY...care to show us!

Haiya! Just about to go to P Road but dont know the voltage of the Capasitor C1 1F.

Mr Lee, what is the voltage of C1? I guess 20v la!
Got to go now....

;) hope i am not too late.. yes.. 20V is good (according to sifu's word) :ph34r:

No stock for 1F capasitor, got to defer the project. I will call Nasamas tomorrow to ask the capasitor.

Subija

:angry: :( emm,... my first VS veli the no good...
coz that time i din know much n i did a simple one (with electrolytic cap which 85 celcius only)

so.. i am trying the better edition maybe this week..coz busy with work la..

Others.. how urs VS going... if u hav a diff idea which works well. come share here! ;)

mine working okwor....

big difference on my ice, brighter head lights...

performance...abit difference only, rev smootherlor...

idle is very nice...

did mine yesterday but not yet tested & fitted in my car. my soldering damn uglyyyy .. :(

im no good in electronic, got 1 question to the sifuss. if i put a light bulb serial like in the diagram below, will it light up ? i tested on my board it lit for a bout a second and then no more. i to disconnect from the battery fo a few mins and connect back to the VS, the buld will lit a sec again and died.

;) xtorm,
which VS u tried? the ealier one in tis forum or the one i just post last week?

For me, i did the ealier one n found that the head light improve onli. others, so so onli.

If u wan to connect a LED, i suggest u put it in between the Cap. THis will become an indicator for the charging process. Once the Cap not functioning, the LED will die off. FYI, better to add in a resistor for ur LED because it cannot take 12 V current.

All the best. :lol:

yo guys... i'm doing in de process of making one VS... still havent complete yet...

i'm using 4700uf 16V @85C caps X 15 pcs with a fuse....
those 105C caps is more expensive... so i just use those cheaper wans lor... anyway i put them all together in a plastic casing.. n will be superloned later...

i wanto ask.. wat is de apropriate fuse rating to use?

will post pics when done...

:lol: nice to hear you all getting into DIYing VS..

FYI, we shud add in some cap of Mica n polyester plus diode... For more info, pls read the diagrame i posted few pages back.

This is because i have done my 1st VS just like wat Khguan has done. According to E n E grad, they say we shud add in other type of cap to cope diff frequencies changes.. and not just to focus on the cap value. I have mine VS on and i could tell is the result isn;t good compared to those good one in the market. So, I here wish to advise u all go for the Good DIY....

:D :lol:

:unsure: oh... soli... wanna to clarify something to u all...
The 1F cap which i post on page 23 shud be 1 miliF..

soli ya ;)

I'm newbie here
I have been following this topic for long time already and I found it very interesting. I have done 1 VS. I think the most simple way to do the VS is like what I done right now.
1- find 1 blank pcb board and cut using knife (pisau biasa je)
2- dig a hole for cap
3- solder the cap

the advantage using this type of digram is
1- no more to solder all together the feet again and make lines
2- the joint between the + and - is big and it can reduce resistance
3- time using to built this is much less
4- U can also add more caps by adding more lines

this diagram show how to do the pcb

:o walao... u must be EnE background. So how's ur PCB board VS rite now? Does it give u a extra power n stable voltage?

For VS, i think the conventional way by adding in diff cap of diff material is better because diff type of cap can act responsively to diff frequencies. Does the PCb design works the same ? And then the high temp and dusty condition in the car engine compartment will spoil the PCB easily.

FOR BEST RESULT. AFTER SOLDERING THE CAP, I USUALLY SPRAY AT THE
BACK OF THE PCB WITH SILVER COLOUR SO IT CAN REFLECK THE HEAT BUT PLS SPRAY FIRST WITH WHITE COLOUR SO IT WILL NOT SHORTED..
ALSO LOCK IT TIGHT INSIDE BLACK BOX AND MOUNT IT NEAR THE FAN
INSIDE THE CAR.

IT WORKS GREAT IN MY CAR. GIVE MORE
CONSTANT VOLTAGE.

Originally posted by msj92@Jan 18 2005, 08:16
I'm newbie here
I have been following this topic for long time already and I found it very interesting. I have done 1 VS. I think the most simple way to do the VS is like what I done right now.
1- find 1 blank pcb board and cut using knife (pisau biasa je)
2- dig a hole for cap
3- solder the cap

the advantage using this type of digram is
1- no more to solder all together the feet again and make lines
2- the joint between the + and - is big and it can reduce resistance
3- time using to built this is much less
4- U can also add more caps by adding more lines

this diagram show how to do the pcb
if got alot of cap then hav to drill holes like crazyler......