DIY Voltage Stabilizer

Ah le,

I think to add relay is an alternative to cut off & to reduce the number of hr usage of the capasitors while the car is left tidor. Say for example per day we drive our car average of 4 hrs (pergi kerja bailk kerja) and the VR is off if car not used.... 5000/4=1250 days. Almost 3 1/2 years.

Betol or not my calculation....correct it if I'm wrong!!!!

Originally posted by ah lee@Jan 13 2005, 09:41
Dear all,

for the reverse current thing, i checked it against FERNELL's catalog and they name it as COPPER BONDING STRIP. For 15 A, 1 reel (25m) is about RM 61. I think if this the case, pasar road should have it. just print that photo and bring to pasar road. :rolleyes:

Another sad thing is, :unsure: i've checked the frenell's cataolog on capasitor and i found out that most cap can only last for 5000 working hours :o . This is about 200++ days.
So, in order to make sure ur VS function well... why not we go for the reverse current stuff... if u scare that 1 is not good enouff to handle to current, place it in one big and one small... then is much more better la,, i think ;)

Come DIY reverse current !
r u sure on tat? where did u get those info from? any website? :wacko:

are u sure 5000hours??? then all the electronic parts using capasitor sure KABOOM lo after 200 days

Bro, that mean if capasitor working in da their max temperature (105 Deg. C) it life can last for 5000 hours only.. if you installed near exhaust or radiator so their shelf life will more shortly.. huhuhu

;) emm,,add a relay, good idea..Mr Subija... If that's the case, any opinion on how to do it.. coz a lot of us half pail of water in EnE.. if u know how to do it.. pls la post a diagram to share.. BTW... How a relay looks like?? :)

er,, for the capasitors life span.. i think 5000 hours is a average life span tested in lab under optimum condition (long hours working under 85celcius). So.. if we tak ada RELAY n let the VS simply charge n discharge.. this veli near to the optimum condition.. and that's y i said about 200 days.. VS wil die off.

SO>> SIFU WHO KNOWS HOW TO ADD A RELAY>>> HELP HELP :ph34r:

The capacitor life are calculated based on it working at maximum ripple current going through it, at 105 deg celcius, then the electrolyte inside will dried up.
without proper calculation, we cannot determine the actual life time.
Normally the way car electrical system works, the ripple current should be quite low.
See example of a spec of capacitor: http://www.nichicon-us.com/english/seihin/alm_larg/list_f.htm

Mr Ah Lee,

The diagram provided by forumer here, I modified it with relay, I've posted it in my earlier thread.

As for the relay....just 30 amp relay cost RM5.50 will do.

:lol: ;) :huh: :D B) :ph34r: :unsure: ;)
TOMOahleeGATO!! Mr Subaji....

So,, tjhe RElay will act as a auto switch to off the car when the car is OFF.. rite? Emmm...interesting!! have to take out my VS and do more modify..

Err.. mind to share ur experience on ur baby VS ah...

Cheeerssss B)

:D
hey... more detail on VS project... this file was created by a VS sifu (NOT ME) and he said 'SPREAD THE JOY AROUND"....so,,let's sing the KUNG FU song:
" everybody got the VS DIYing....dididididididid" :lol:

So.. link this file and add in one relay will give a good quality one ..i guess.
(btw,,i haven;t experiment it coz bz)

Good day for VS DIYing!!

ermm..

still don;t understand much...ermm..anyone would like to do it fer me..i'll pay for the labour and the stuff

:o aiya... u go and cari a fren doing E n E ... or a budak from Tingkatan 3 who got A in kemahiran hidup also can... not hard ,,, but time consuming!! ;)

If u really wanna buy.. try Voltech ... u can contact drexchan.. i think he can be ur middle man. :rolleyes:

okie...now i feel liek doing one

but can you ah..write me a list ah

must at least >350000u

so i can just write down and tell the shop iw ant this and that

:rolleyes: emm.. i pun tak pernah buy that one... coz one sifu past that to me@!@

but,,, u can just go in to the shop and tell the spec in that sifu;s diagrame. Better just go to pasar rd and tell them straight wat r u looking at. They can help u one.. try ur luck and dun forget to add the RELAY :lol:

eh?! how come my name is mentioned?

I am just a introducer not middle man lar..

middle man earns but i make 0 cent from this..

;) oh.. yes..drexchan is not middle man.. but he will be happy to be the introducer

Originally posted by ah lee@Jan 13 2005, 23:25
:D
hey... more detail on VS project... this file was created by a VS sifu (NOT ME) and he said 'SPREAD THE JOY AROUND"....so,,let's sing the KUNG FU song:
" everybody got the VS DIYing....dididididididid" :lol:

So.. link this file and add in one relay will give a good quality one ..i guess.
(btw,,i haven;t experiment it coz bz)

Good day for VS DIYing!!
wahh tis 1 made for ice 1!!! nice!!!

:) hey,,xtorm..

if u have done it,, then let us know!!

If good for ice, then isit good for car torque... how much roughly the whole project cost ya? :rolleyes:

where can get electronic components in Puchong or nearby aa ? i busted few capss .. go to jln pasar very farrrrrrrr ....