;) the following are some words from a sifu from the far far away knigdom..
:D :lol: ;)
1) Electrolytic capacitors have high capacitance as the electrolyte
forms one plate and foil the other with a very thin oxide layer
deposited when it's energised (that's why they got + and -). This
insulation is very delicate and can easily be damaged by overvoltage.
However the higher voltage rating the capacitors are, the less
capacitance for the same volume.
2) Sometimes when relays or motors cut out, a HV transient is
generated (creating sparks). This transients, if not controlled, can
damage the caps if it's above the capacitor rating.
3) Electrolytics have a life span, depending on the temperature
(which tend to dry out the electrolyte), the number of times it
cycles (discharges) and also due to overvoltage. That's why your
relay idea will not prolong it's life as disconnection and
reconnection may stress it more.
4) If you want further protection, swap the D1 diode with a 15V Zener
diode and make sure your capacitors are rated HIGER than 15V.
5) Mica, polyester capacitors (which have no liquid insude) lasts
very long.
More discussions here:
http://www.autoworld.com.my/forum/allposts.asp?summary=1&Forum=ap512122419&access=1&status=1&subject=DIY+Voltage+stabiliser
1) You can use a single 1F cap used for HIFI or a bank of smaller
values. If you protect your capacitors by swaping D1 with a 15V zener
diode, then a 25V rated capacitor will do just fine.
3) Cn.. n stands for as many as needed.
4) Adding more.. additional cost with minimal inprovement.
forms one plate and foil the other with a very thin oxide layer
deposited when it's energised (that's why they got + and -). This
insulation is very delicate and can easily be damaged by overvoltage.
However the higher voltage rating the capacitors are, the less
capacitance for the same volume.
2) Sometimes when relays or motors cut out, a HV transient is
generated (creating sparks). This transients, if not controlled, can
damage the caps if it's above the capacitor rating.
3) Electrolytics have a life span, depending on the temperature
(which tend to dry out the electrolyte), the number of times it
cycles (discharges) and also due to overvoltage. That's why your
relay idea will not prolong it's life as disconnection and
reconnection may stress it more.
4) If you want further protection, swap the D1 diode with a 15V Zener
diode and make sure your capacitors are rated HIGER than 15V.
5) Mica, polyester capacitors (which have no liquid insude) lasts
very long.
More discussions here:
http://www.autoworld.com.my/forum/allposts.asp?summary=1&Forum=ap512122419&access=1&status=1&subject=DIY+Voltage+stabiliser
1) You can use a single 1F cap used for HIFI or a bank of smaller
values. If you protect your capacitors by swaping D1 with a 15V zener
diode, then a 25V rated capacitor will do just fine.
3) Cn.. n stands for as many as needed.
4) Adding more.. additional cost with minimal inprovement.