DIY cold air intake

Dear friends,

The CAI looks cool enough, but bare in mind, in Malaysia, these kind of mod sometime will cause later problem. In my opinions, humidity in Malaysia, especially in this time of the year will much cause humid air directly to the intake, even if you have a separate air filter, its still not enough to prevent water vapor from entering ur engine. wet air comes into te engine might condensed to water droplets, will remain in the engine, and i think u guys know the rest.. the best is probably not to put the intake directly in front. but i don't really sure. u guys have to check on it more.

i belive before the water condensed to water droplets it already vaporize because of engine heat.... dont forget your engine is not running in cold....

some sample..CAI widely use even for Nissan Micra K11 fan...carbie engines

some advise from someone at PRODRIVE Australia.... :D

This is much better, not because it is the shiniest but because there is an attempt to get cold air from the front of the vehicle! This would be further improved if a box could be created which shields the air filter from picking up hot air from the engine bay and obtains it from the front of the vehicle only (not hot air through radiator either).

Think of why we add intercoolers to turbos. We need to cool air otherwise if air temperature is hot we need to retard ignition timing as we cannot burn all the fuel fully.

The more advanced the distributor ignition timing is the more power the engine can develop, but you are limited by the detonation point. The colder the air the more you can advance it to lengthen fuel burn time!

If you have a hand held distributor timing light you can experiment with this.

I hope this helps!

regards

Ivan Viduka
Prodrive Automotive Technology Asia Pacific
Senior Project Engineer
www.prodrive.com

Originally posted by servo@Nov 26 2004, 15:24
some sample..CAI widely use even for Nissan Micra K11 fan...carbie engines
thanks for ur pic.....the hose just leave there?? no need to hold/connect to air filter?? safe ar??

i think you didnt read it clearly lah... the air filter is in the heat shielded box lah... :P
that type of heat shield box cost how much ah? anyone know?

Originally posted by ksgoh@Nov 25 2004, 21:11
ninja, how much have to purchase (minimum)?
minimum also 2 ft any size

guys, a drop-in filter in your stock system is more-or-less a heatshielded CAI (relatively)

Emm.. if so, i got a K&N drop-in air filter install inside my stock system. How much different in term of performance, my car would gain?

Jez a silly question ler, but i need to know if izit worth to do CAI on my stocks.. ;)

Originally posted by ]\[ickless@Nov 26 2004, 19:39
Emm.. if so, i got a K&N drop-in air filter install inside my stock system. How much different in term of performance, my car would gain?

Jez a silly question ler, but i need to know if izit worth to do CAI on my stocks.. ;)
your's EFI??...well actually stock air box system is still restrictive..due to condition inside the air box it self...wat u can is....making the air entrance more bigger..let say 3" or more..grind the inside surface to be smooth(usually it rough and got some 'kotak-kotak' ones)...... :D

http://www.caddyinfo.com/dyno/4airboxtest.htm
http://www.nuvision.ndo.co.uk/airbox.htm
http://users2.ev1.net/~subaru/air_box_modification.htm

http://www.northrim.net/wyanders/pontiac/transam/1air.jpg
The factory box has these ridges to muffle the sound and they restrict air flow at full throttle.

http://www.northrim.net/wyanders/pontiac/transam/3air.jpg
This what the air box cover looks like after careful removal of the ridges.
Clean all edges , you don't need plastic shavings in the engine.
I sprayed silicone on the air box boot to get it to slide on to the MAF sensor easier

Yup! Mine's EFI...
Thanks servo for the clear explaination. :D Though my stock system are pretty restrictive, I think I would go for CAI.. But need to get those CAI pipe from Stainley first... Thanks pal! ;)

Originally posted by tykoh@Nov 26 2004, 13:55
i belive before the water condensed to water droplets it already vaporize because of engine heat.... dont forget your engine is not running in cold....
yepp.. maybe ur right. i just thought the water vapor might actually cause future problem.. anyways, thanks for the feedback man.

guys, i refer to the icture..how to connect to the air filter , then to the ram pipe from the CAI hose ? confused leh..i onli know from air filter to ram pipe..kuakuakua..stoopid rite? :P

i think you need to lead the CAI pipe from front bumper where it can get the fresh air and lead it to somewhere near your air filter....

well..it actually looks like PIPERCROSS kit..but it's not..maybe DIY ones la.....
this ones is pipercross kit with CAI...

http://www.pipercross.net/images/large_viper_ibiza.gif

Application
http://img35.exs.cx/img35/171/Micra9.jpg
http://img44.exs.cx/img44/1935/Micra10.jpg

it was perfect thing..... where can get it? and how much of coz....