DIY Bodykits

i've done some fibreglass work before, and well it's an experience! very tedious! and hazardous to health too. must wear proper body protection, gloves and mask!

i was involved in a project making a single-seater Group C-type of race car (project was abandoned)
so with nothing to start from, we have to design (with inspirations from the racers) and make our own bodywork for the racer.

so here's some pics :)

this is the concept drawing, in full scale!

CopyofPICT012.jpg

to make the 'buck' (master mold) we used high density styrofoam. we cut and glued together pieces until we have a rough shape and then we sanded to get the radii we needed :) alot of sanding!
PICT0389.jpg

some more sanding!
PICT0391.jpg

the finished buck. The flat strips are to edge the mold, so the fibreglass wont fold / makes it easier to mold later.
PICT0423.jpg

that's me laying down some resin on the buck. Oh remember to seal the buck properly (sealing means using a primer coat to make sure no resin seeps thru and ensures a smooth surface.. and yea, wax release the surface a good 5 coats.
PICT0424.jpg

the finished product was quite a mixture of disaster and somewhat to my newbie's experience with fibreglass, a success :D the mold wasn't perfect and needed alot of touch-up, but it molded the buck nicely. haha
PICT0558.jpg

hehee...good experience ninja...if not so this thread...u also won't post all this picture..good sharing!! :D

yeahla! ninja rocks..! lol.. almost got asahi to sponsor the ball stubs for the suspension oso eh? lol!

why ur creation never came to work la??.. they abandone the project ar??..
ur from 'bumper' can sell to go-kart owners ma... haha... see if can fit in go-karts....

aikz, darn it, it was just working fine when i posted it up, shows how he does all that fibreglass work on his speaker panels and so forth... darn!!

well the race-car project had too many design flaws.
it was cheaper starting anew. plus we ran out of time and money.

it's too big for a go-kart.

found this website about fibreglass molding for subwoofer... quite good i think...

http://chris.pfharlock.com/glass/index.htm

WBH8668 said:
i got think before to DIY a GT-Wing, because my friend hav a half spoiler which is broken on the leg. but since i drive a Kelisa it is not suitable to add a GT-wing.

i tot u were part of initial B thread and laughing at cars with GT wings? :Not_Impressed:

of course.... by jz looking at some photos wont get u anywhere... u need to get ur hands dirty and get some experience... after a while, u will get better...