How to Install Cup Holder in Wira

CTK

Hi all sifus...

I'm driving a Wira. I saw some cup holder at Brothers, the one to install just under the center aircond vents. thought of DIY it. Anyone tried it b4?

hey dude, sorry to disturb your thread...

how much do they sell that cup holder that you put under the aircond vent for wira in brothers ??

i did mine a few weeks back.

1. go buy the following items b4 u start: 2 standard size screws and 2 clips into which the screws go into.

2. take out the whole dashboard (assuming you know how to do this).
3. put in the two clips into place (you will see two slots where the cupholder goes into).
4. put in the cupholder and screw it to the two clips with the two screws you have bought.
5. screw in the top panel of the dashboard.
6. take the bottom panel and cut about 1/2 of the top protruding part (the top part of the bottom panel wont go in unless you do this).
7. now, put the bottom panel back in.

done.

if you dont know what the clips look like or the size of screw to get, you can take the dashboard out first and see the area where the cupholder goes into. you will see two similar clips there, used to hold the bottom panel.

CTK, can I know which Brothers shop is it? Last time I saw the price more than RM30. Plan to get one for my car.

sureshn, I'm not sure which part you said need cutting, but I don't remember cutting anything when I installed it last time.

the top rear part of the botton dashboard panel protrudes and cannot go into its former slot which is now taken up by the cupholder. hence, i had to cut about half of it off and the problem was solved.

i got mine at jalan pasar (first shop of the left after the traffic lights) for rm20. they had pure black finish, wood finish (of the new type) and the checkered finish.

e_mad, i saw it at Brothers Kelana Jaya, but it's only black finish, no wood finish...

sureshn, which shop in Jalan Pasar u saw the wood finish. plan to get one... is the finish similar to wat's in the stock dashboard?

the shop is the first one on the left, right after the traffic lights on Jalan Pasar, coming from Jalan Pudu. before the traffic lights is a bank (RHB I think).

the finish is identical to the dashboard panel. they had three finishes: wood, black and silver checkered. but they had only a few of the wood finish type when i bought mine 2 months back.

adoi .. where got to cut cut stuff while installing this cup holder ..
cup holder is just an acc that had been taken out for wira 1.3/1.5 (1.6 i'm not sure)
its a standard acc for 1.8

your dash is split into 2 section, one is top where holding your aircond blower & section bottom that hold your audio HU.
just above your aircond controller, you will see 1/4" x 6" part of your dash, same size with the acc (cup holder)

just above your HU, if you look from down, you will see 2 screw.
take out your ash tray, another 1 screw (on your left)
then use flat/philips whateva screw driver to pick out your bottom dash from side.
pull it out a bit, then you can see two screws that is holding your 1/4" x 6"parts, take this out & place in your cup holder.

No need for any cutting or whatever. In fact, if you find the correct size of screws, you don't even need clips.

1) remove the lower section of the dash's fascia. There are two screws underneath the aircond controller, and one screw behind the ashtray. The top part, just underneath the aircond vents, are clipped on. Just pull it out with enough force.

2) Look at the reverse side of the dash fascia that you've just taken out. At the top part, where it was previously below the aircond vent, you'll see the blanking panel used to cover the hole. It's held there by a pair of small screws. Just take it off, and you'll get the hole there.

3) Look at the naked portion beneath the aircond vents. You'll see a big gaping hole into which the cup holder will fit. There are two big holes flanking it. Under normal circumstances, you'll need a pair of folded clips and fat self-tapping screws. However, you can use normal non-self tapping screws, that are either 3/8" or 1/4" in diameter, I kinda forgot. Just measure it with a vernier caliper to find out.

4) Put the cup holder in place, align the holes properly, and bolt it in place with the screws. The screws will thread right into the plastic, because the plastic is quite thin. But it's resilient, so don't worry about it. It's not easy to take it off when fixed up like this.

5) Snap the dash fascia back on, and re-insert the screws.

That's it, job complete!

hahaha bought at ABANG where got instruction, then how the other installer shop together with ABANG shop want to survive ...

the moral why they dint put the cup holder is - Dont drink & drive !!

i remember last time when the cefiro first came into our country.... their advertistment emphasize on the cup holder.... it says that the car is so stable and comfortable that the water in the cup wont spill out....

who knows now most cefiro were brought back to life in drifting arena....

btw, AE86 also wont make the water spill la.....

cool stuff, btw anyone here kind enough to buy this cup holder for me? of course i'll pay. :tongwink: