Delima about this car.

unknown1x

Guys, i need you all to give me some advise.. i just dug my own grave out of morality and kindness...
basiclly.. this is my story...

some time ago.. i plan to get myself another car to replace my terminated proton iswara.. so... happen that time.. one of my friend introduce me this "project car" of his.. which is a hyundai S-coupe 1994 with turbo ( apparently converted) so.. i was like... " DUDE! its a HYUNDAI ( sorry for saying that,.. i have not much good rating of hyundai from ppl that use them around me.. ic. matrix and atos especially. no offense) ..." then.. after some talking he explain that he have too many cars.. need to get rid of them.. to ease his burden.. bla bla bla..
so.. after a while of consideration.. i dont mind trying out a new type of car brand whihc is hyundai.. and... my carefree attitude dont really car as long as the car can run in good condition.. and. i told him that i dont mind to help him take over the "project car" and the problem parts starts here...
common things ppl before actually buying the car is.. go take a look of the car.. and check.. and ask question.. so i went over to check it out.. the condition are. not superb as u know.. 14 yrs old car! what u expect man? so.. ok.. small problem.. i went to check the car.. rear light alittle old and crack.. no problem.. front bumper is goner.. with minor damage on front bonet. ( apparently reverse his own car into it ) sso. considering ill redo custom bodykits.. so.. no problemm. nice interior.. all done up.. with fur.. (removed them once i got them)..
then comes the hard part.. so i ask him, about the car history.. damaages that the car face.. mechical maintaince and failure .. and repair histories so does accident history..
As owners of various car.. all done up, nice bodykit, nice interior.. car lover.. and editor/owner of an automotive magazine.. his answers to my question are.. " the car.. OK one.. no problem1. i just overhaul it like last year ( consider car rarely use.. should be ok ) spend 3k plus on overhaul the engine.. just that now the engine leak alittle black oil.. service cost less then 1.5k garuntee. and. absorber need to change lah.. old already mah. other then that. just bodywork alittle and respray! then LENG LENG! no accident so far! nothing wrong with the car! OK!?
i was like.. hmm.. in this case.. judge by his reputation.. should not be muich problem.. and.. check my financial state.. decided.. to give it a try.. tellign him i only will get it 1 or 2 months late.r. since no money mer... he even says he will get the road tax done for me...
then.. the interesting story starts here... after i agree that i "dont mind owning that car.... and i dont find any problem taking it.." he start bugging me to go collect the car from his house all the time. claiming he need space for his new "project car" and so on... for me. its fine, i went all my trouble to go his house.. try to starts... and.. engine can start but cant move. so.. wasted 1 day trying.. and. decides just get a tow truck to tow it to my work shop. he claims that.. nothing one.. engien too long never move.. thats why lor.. ask them to clean clean then engine then good di..
finally, i got the car out of his house and into my friendly workshop. 1st thing after they check for me..
- fuel pump gone case, to get it moving.. change a new one.. RM 500 + workman ship. and other normal wear and tear liek spark, oil, etc. ( spend about 1 week in workshop due to busy working schedule )
collected the car.. test drive alittle... discover the car turn to wards certain direction.. so send for allightment.. comes 2nd shocking news.
- my rear wheels, ( trailing arm suspension system) is loose, i can move it left to right about 1 CM worth of travel, back to workshop..
finalyl after countless breakdown and tow truck trips. i am free to really take a look at the car.. i bring it to my foreman and jack up to slowly inspect any visible problem...
and i discover some interesting part .
- rear suspension arm bushing is goner...
- front suspension bushing is goner ( as good as considering as whole car bushing need to change.
- rear fuel tank is dented inwards from bottom, ( accident caused i guess)
- distributor cap cracked ( cost me about 100 bucks)
- eletrocic wiring total lost.
- radiator need rebuild/service
- fuel meter and rev meter not working
-water temp meter. not accurate.. ( always in red when i drive when it clock about 80 c.
- engine mounting is dead
- rear drum brake leakings

so.., i consulted my friend about his " so called no problem car" imform him about this car condition is in BAD shape.. other then looks. and plan to negotiate the price. to bring it down alittle or so.. during one of my stressfull working night.... he blatenlly telling me that.. eh! all these damages how i know lah? how do you expect me to know all these things? and now what? bla bla bla bla.., i asked him aboit 10 question about his car. he cant answer me a single thing.. like. eh,. your fuel tank bengkok, you know or not? and what caused it.. " DENTED? I Dunno man.. i dunno anything, got dent meh? i no accident also , sure not i do one" WTF!??? so much for someone that "rebuild the car for project car"

so.. all the nessecarry things i all fix already.. consult few forman and ppl.. discover that.. i might need to overhaul or complete rebuild... make it worst.. my engine head might crack. which renders to rare parts and hard to get components cost about 2500 to minimus bottom overhaul or.. 5-8k complete engine rebuild..

so now.. this is the problem.. i need to make decission..
IF you are in my shoe.. what will you do?
condition are like this...
- the car now still moving wiht 1 piston partialyl dead, (FC not so good due to that 1 piston )
- i have only paid the deposit for the car, not full amount to almost 9k yet.
- engine rebuild will cost me.. about 6-7kn not inclusive of BOSH eletronic parts or sensors.. which might cost me more to total of 9k?
- engine conversion of mivec CK will cost 8-10k
- engine conversion of GSR 9-12k

basiclly.. i will need about 20k to rebuild the car to almost perfect condtiion..

what will you do? if you are in my situation. base on condition.. will you?
Sell off the car ?
rebuilt it?
give it back to your friend?
or what else?

i'm sorry for ya man. I think you kinda got cheated........

As for an answer, i'd count my losses and give back the car to "the friend". I think judging the amount paid, to the amount have to pay, its not worth it (unless if you do have that amount of cash laying around)

Editor/owner of an automotive magazine? I think we all know who and which car.. Good luck!

hmmm to those that know which car is it.. and.. one that might know more history about this current car,, can share me some more indepth information with me? of the history of that particular car? or some "true color" thing.. hahah if you prefere not to expose it publicly.. just pm me will do. need to do some weighing and consideration..

I will definately advise you to return the car and do expect some losses due to you rush decision in taking such junk (Sorry to say that). Learn an experience and be smarter next time especially when you are buying a 14 years old so called car.

Good luck to you!!

return back to the owner.ask for the money back.if not given, do police report.if still not settle go publish his name and reputation to public (forum zth or other places/media)...

After reading your post & I feel emmmmm.......
1st. thing you make a very big mistake, the 1st. day you take the car but can't start & you should know this is a problem car, how come the car can't start? the only thing can happen is the batery, if you jum start also can't start than must be big problem. Do you know that if you buy a 1/2 cut engine from potong kereta shop they can give the engine start only 1 start!
After you know is the fuel pump problem you must let your frend know & ask him to pay for it before you replace it, & give a full check of the car, what are the thing need to replace & how much, if not just give him back the car.
How much is your car? & how much you have paid? If for me, no need to think about it, just give back the car, hopefully still be your frend. If you realy like the car than ask your work shop how much need to be done? & let your frend know who will pay for it?
keep us up date here ok?

guys, now i need real experience answer.
tell me..
- what engine can convert into my turbo engine.
- those engine.. anyone done before on this model? what mod they need " like have to cut drive shaft on mivec ck. bla bla"
- any engine can replace but still retain same old gear box? as its similar to proton/mitsu one.

anyway, i hve been thinking, i need a car to move around.. guess might end up keeping the car for god sake. unless.. suddenly i got a new car.. since... my whole august is fully booked, ill be too busy to do anything else.. call it my hard lesson learned on trusting others. especially ppl with credibility. lol. call it fate. or luck. or a very expensive lesson.

as per the car condition noow. most major problem i already identify and or fix it. now... all i concern is the engine problem. what else can i convert? cause.. in terms of rebuilding it.. " not only overhaul.. its rebuild" it may cost me over min of 3-8k. base on electronic damages or sensors ( as all experience car enthuast know.. bosch stuff are pretty expensive.. from your mercz, beemers.. majorly found in continental car).

so.. as far as suspension = body, its similar to PROTON ISWARA! so. with little mod and tweak, most proton iswara suspension and bushing might just fit in.

body work i have a cousin that do fiber work.. so.. can get it about half price for fiber kits.. so. not much complaint.. unless i send to pro to custom 1 unique design for me.. will set me about 2k for the bodykits.

engine~ wonder what can i do about it. any one tried converting the tranny back to east -west configuration? need mod alot of mounting?
or.. any engine that is direct copy. or at least.. 70-90% copy of that 4gek or g4ek? since this code of engine.. also hve various different look.

sigh.. what a day.more things to think..

Maybe our member here, Scoupe can give you some tips about the engine.
He converted his engine to Toyota's 4AGE.

dude i feel ur really in a bumped out situation... im not sure what u wanna do with it... but if u do decide to keep it, u can always call me up for info.. you got my num rite.. i feel sorry for ur situation man.. this car has potential but from the looks of it u gonna need alot of $$ to put it back together..

hahaha i agree with you. but.. aih... anyway.. show me some pics of ur 20v supercharged blacktop izzit? hahahah what are the mods you need to do ? change the whole front to toyota parts? engine mount all change?
erm i kinda forgotten your contacts, can you PM me your contact?
thank you.

its not 20v.. its a a 4agze... basically almost everything in the engine bay is from the halfcut... mods would include mountings... driveshaft custom make..etc.. the front of my car is still scoupe..no pics bro... if u want weekends im in shah alam.. u could drop by and i can show u the engine bay..

again.. scoupe is opening his engine cover... have fun bro!

hahaha... dontla make it sound like im opening up to a monster under the hood.... i once read a twincharge project together with 20v... that one is some real serious power... i want.....hehe

unknown1x,

I think scoupe is right, you should just dump in a new toyota engine into it, coz after make some research, your car ori engine is not very reliable, not reli worth the money to throw in to fix it.

Hope your car and be fix soon, then we go hang out again :driver: