DC5 Advice

i have been busy working throughout the holiday and weekend...sigh, i need a break. :sleep:

Hi everyone.

I'm new here. :wavey:

I'm considering a DC5 type-r to replace my current car, do u guys have any advice?
i'm looking for an unreg unit, and has so far contacted mutiara motors only.
among the issues that i need to know is:
- front light design: the one at mutiara has a straight design, without the curve looks (ala gen 2 front light)
- engine push start button: does a stock DC5 has one?
- brakes: front brakes are brembo, rear brakes haven't been confirmed back by the guys at mutiara. i think stock DC5s have brembo on all fours right?
- ABS: how do i know if its working?
- airbag: same question as ABS
- Japan car grade: some ppl told me that there are grades for cars being imported into malaysia, i.e AAA or something. how do i check on this?
- Certificates and documents: any pointers that i should look out for?

the car is listed as 2005 year with 50000+ km done on its mileage. what should i check for when i open the engine bay?

i'm currently in the east coast working, so i haven't gone down south to see the car personally. hope to receive some advice from u guys at zth. thanks in advance.

Bump: Hi everyone.

I'm new here. :wavey:

I'm considering a DC5 type-r to replace my current car, do u guys have any advice?
i'm looking for an unreg unit, and has so far contacted mutiara motors only.
among the issues that i need to know is:
- front light design: the one at mutiara has a straight design, without the curve looks (ala gen 2 front light)
- brakes: front brakes are brembo, rear brakes haven't been confirmed back by the guys at mutiara. i think stock DC5s have brembo on all fours right?
- Japan car grade: some ppl told me that there are grades for cars being imported into malaysia, i.e AAA or something. how do i check on this?

the car is listed as 2005 year with 50000+ km done on its mileage. what should i check for when i open the engine bay?

i'm currently in the east coast working, so i haven't gone down south to see the car personally. hope to receive some advice from u guys at zth. thanks in advance.

the straight headlamp design is Facelift (FL) model, year 2004 Sept onwards.
some have it, some don't have. it's optional item.
front is Brembo, rear is only red colour caliper non-brembo.
when u switch the key to ON, it will check the ABS system. If ABS light remained on after u start your engine, it means it has got problem.
when u switch the key to ON, it will check the airbag system. Airbag light should turn off after few seconds or after u start the engine.
calling some seniors here to help
check the VIN plate and make sure it is indeed a Type R model. as for engine condition, maybe u can bring some experienced k20a mechanic to check.

happy hunting for DC5R.

thanks for the quick reply hahf.
currently the dc5 at mutiara is retailing at 153k. quite high compared to others.
i forgot to add that the driver seat has been changed to bride (red color).
i forgot to ask:
- is the side mirror can be bent electronically?
- how do i check if the brake pads are brembo? (sorry noob question here)
- how do i know if the suspension is the original type-r?
- how do i confirm if the exhaust piping, mufflers, and engine parts are original type-r?
- is there any way to check whether the odometer has been tampered with? i.e the mileage is actually 100000km but it is reset to 50000km or whatsoever.

thanks! :adore:

currently the dc5 at mutiara is retailing at 153k. quite high compared to others.
i forgot to ask:
- how do i confirm if the exhaust piping, mufflers, and engine parts are original type-r?
- is there any way to check whether the odometer has been tampered with? i.e the mileage is actually 100000km but it is reset to 50000km or whatsoever.

well. the one that u referring to is black colour right. the one that one of regular for this thread has his eye on. his loan is already approved for that car. but, dont know when he is going to settle for the car. his fren said tomorrow. 153K for 2005 DC5R is reasonable i think considering the accessories that they gave and included already with the car. i bought mine from Mutiara. People said that Mutiara can sell their car the cheapest coz they under declare the car. i dont know if it is true or not. for me, it doesnt matter as long as they sell the car cheap and the car dont have any probs. hehe. the car currently at mutiara, already has the adj, absorber, aftermarket exhaust, bride seat for driver side, aftermarket sway bar and others. Mutiara Motor will throw in vmanage+emanage ultimate+air filter+plug+motor oil as package.

yo yo I'm coming back to finalize d car soon. Been bz with works since my loan approved. Furthermore my fiancé is back for holiday frm scotland hehe..

3 more DC5s are coming to mutiara soon. Tomorrow 1 unit will arrive. 2005 white NFL with modulo bodykit..

i forgot to ask:

I have a feeling this is the car lightning field buying ler:hmmmm: is it?

Yea... That's d car..
err so that means???? u taking the same car or diff car? love your bride seats yum yum... hey maybe wednesday may come down johor for a while free for afternoon tea? also can pm me your number?

Haha! I'm getting d black one lah. Last time I missed d white one..so now my mind is fixed to get black color.

Err. When did u c my bride seat? Its still on my car. Btw I'm not sure when I'll b back to jb. Could be tomorrow after work or Tuesday.. But I won't b long in jb. Massive workload in d ofis. :mad:

roger me when ur back to johor. hehe. i want to see the car. can? hehe.

who is driving white NFL DC5 in JB plate JH something2.. he came next to my FD2R in skudai, drop gear, blow exoz and cabut.... last 28/12

padang kilat,

congratulation on your new car. atlast the DC5R is yours now. i want to see the pics of your car.

who is driving white NFL DC5 in JB plate JH something2.. he came next to my FD2R in skudai, drop gear, blow exoz and cabut.... last 28/12

you give a chase or not?

hehehe bro dapat kejar tak itu penyamun? heheheh bikin telinge panas je:biggrin: