D16 bolt on

Hey AD,

I concede to your superior experience in this matter. After all, i am just a armchair enthusiast who is more interested in performance gain than fuel milage.

I wonder if the engine your are talking about is bigger displacements like 2ltrs and upwards. Smaller engines like the 1.6L Hondas are already very fuel efficient so i don't see how turbocharging can help you gain fuel milage. But what do i know.

My personal take on this fuel milage thing is that it is not worth it to put in a EMS and all that work, let alone a turbo, just to save a few pesos at the pump, unless you are a big milage person.

To ths TS, sorry if we are hijacking your thread.

AD, you can have the last word on this, especially on the engine the engine displacement thing.

I am signing off on this subject.

my last car was a honda civic sr4 d16 sohc vtec turbo, manual, td05 vr4 with garret 17g fins, 1.8mm metal gasket, blockguard, 390cc gsr injectors, 62mm type-r TB, emanage blue boosting 0.9bar at first i got 191hp on wheel 'dynojet' compression was 9 i think... cant really remember my FC but when im not boosting, to me FC was great... additional stuff like aluminum radiator with additional fan, oil cooler with an adapter that has a thermostat, aluminium apexi hybrid GT intercooler with alloy piping, helps with power and FC..

my car was driven daily and sometimes long distance... no probs with FC, over-heating or power... boosted up to 1.2bar... to me if everything is fitted correctly, tuning is the key...

what is needed for a BOT 0.5bar, bigger injectors, fuel regulator, double up ur standard metal gasket, a piggyback management which can tune AFR, ignition timing and has boost cut to eliminate check light, a turbo kit that matches with what u want... others items like aluminum radiators, oil coolers, block guard and etc will keep your engine save...

happy boosting!

where did you bot your civic?

at first i jump from one place to another... but in the end i stuck to only one wshop which is my current wshop is at batu caves..

my first BOT kit consisted of a TD04 gsr with actuator, vr4 IC, cast iron manifold and normal piping... then i upgraded to TD05, 38mm tial wastegate, bananas, apexi hybrid gt IC and alloy piping... both kits i bought used... most of the items on my car are used, save cost... i think i saw quite a few sohc vtec turbo kits for sale...

oh ya i BOT my civic when it was an auto, den converted to manual...

Hey AD,

I concede to your superior experience in this matter. After all, i am just a armchair enthusiast who is more interested in performance gain than fuel milage.

I wonder if the engine your are talking about is bigger displacements like 2ltrs and upwards. Smaller engines like the 1.6L Hondas are already very fuel efficient so i don't see how turbocharging can help you gain fuel milage. But what do i know.

My personal take on this fuel milage thing is that it is not worth it to put in a EMS and all that work, let alone a turbo, just to save a few pesos at the pump, unless you are a big milage person.

To ths TS, sorry if we are hijacking your thread.

AD, you can have the last word on this, especially on the engine the engine displacement thing.

I am signing off on this subject.

so uptight ah:confused: chill la bro. just my 0.001 cents.

i just replying to what you said only what.

How can you save fuel with turbocharging compared to stock non-turbo? Anytime you mess with factory settings to increase power, you consume more fuel. Especially with turbos. This is a given.

and nobody puts in a turbo+ems+mods to save petrol bro, obviously for performance gain. we are just saying that by doing this mods for more power purposes can also bring good FC to your car, not neccesary you are going to have super bad FC or worse than stock etc etc. thats all...

1.6,1.8 and 2L bro. since you're "signing off" i also "sign off" la bro... :itsme:

so uptight ah:confused: chill la bro. just my 0.001 cents.

i just replying to what you said only what.

and nobody puts in a turbo+ems+mods to save petrol bro, obviously for performance gain. we are just saying that by doing this mods for more power purposes can also bring good FC to your car, not neccesary you are going to have super bad FC or worse than stock etc etc. thats all...

1.6,1.8 and 2L bro. since you're "signing off" i also "sign off" la bro... :itsme:

dont sign off so fast...! hahah..... i like to hear you guys experience... very nice~:biggrin:

aranny d15/16 also same only..no problem...you can use that kit.

but the price ah...fuhhh....b16a halfcut alr i think. :biggrin:

but that kit easyly tapau stoak b16a.:biggrin:

you are right bro...seen this with my own 2 eyes...and had the chance to even drive it...seriously powerful..scary bai

but aranny i think is better off with a b16a...cause he not really into power performance...he i think wants something easy to maintain and slightly more powerful than his d15... if one day he is bored with 16a, can alwasy go for b20...

bot, the guy needs to love and pamper the baby...and take care of her...than she will whoop lots of a$$..

you are right bro...seen this with my own 2 eyes...and had the chance to even drive it...seriously powerful..scary bai

but aranny i think is better off with a b16a...cause he not really into power performance...he i think wants something easy to maintain and slightly more powerful than his d15... if one day he is bored with 16a, can alwasy go for b20...

bot, the guy needs to love and pamper the baby...and take care of her...than she will whoop lots of a$$..

mine is D16.... hahaha..... B20 powerful eh? i thought the B18C is powerful... dun compare K series la... B20 halfcut how much? but susah wanna endorse right? some more 2.0 is bit heavy oh... roadtax expensive.... B16A really that powerful? cause i nv sit on B16a car before:biggrin: pity me... ppl areound me no one is playing B16 also...

agree.bro.
recommen he go for b16.easy maintain.somemore driving honda mostly go for v-tec,that the meanning.
and enjoy the NA power,love the v-tec sound,no one able copy

I'm just thinking, can D16 engine be upgraded to, say 145-160hp with just using more agressive camshaft, higher compression piston, conrod, intake/exhaust and good piggyback/standalone ECU? Can this upgrade be done in under RM5000 while still maintaining reliability and driveability?
Better still, can still use RON95 without knocking issue? :hmmmm:

Maybe just an alternative way and my 2 cents.. :biggrin:

I'm just thinking, can D16 engine be upgraded to, say 145-160hp with just using more agressive camshaft, higher compression piston, conrod, intake/exhaust and good piggyback/standalone ECU? Can this upgrade be done in under RM5000 while still maintaining reliability and driveability?
Better still, can still use RON95 without knocking issue? :hmmmm:

Maybe just an alternative way and my 2 cents.. :biggrin:

mine is non vtec... after watch so much of vtec video... it sounds sp nice with na too

i decide to going high boost d16 after saw those western guy hit 300whp easily and it is damn fast( a lot on youtube), that is why even in honda forum, many turboed honda guy come out with this quotes, "God creates turbo lag to give NA a chance":biggrin:

but now many modern turbo engines have almost zero lag like the recent BMW turbos, NA engines still got chance or not? :biggrin:

wow, 300 whp... fastest D16 in malaysia... lol.... but it's stage 3 turbo already.. i think you need to change alot of parts, conrod, piston and so on.... whose western ppl able to do so cause they can get a good D series aftermarket part there... in malaysia it's hardly to see performance part of D series, mostly B series.. that's the reason why D series is not really popular as in USA... so if you really wanna mod to 300whp, you need to have a very deep pocket to order part from there may be... and a very good mechanic to do it for you.. cause D series hp is about 120hp and you wanna upgrade to 300 whp is abit insane for me la... wahahahahahahah :biggrin: anyway, happy modding and boosting, cheers!