(WTK) wan to know..how much price to bolt on turbo in b20b

LPT vtec turbo kit selling by one honda kaki like shiro mention earlier..for RM7K+ kot..try search for it..but that is LPT la..
wana go all out..i think RM20K oso still tak puas hatiii sehhhh

ive known someone asking for 15k all in with hondata management boast 0.7 horse power gain atleast 75-100

there is a thread inside marketplace..got ppl selling turbo kit too..but dono the condition..well.last week my fren juz sold his turbo kit..fullset juz rm 4k ...

B20 already got its own power la .. if plonk a turbo afraid that cannot tahan dblock already. if want, put turbokit into b16a/b/b18c more reliable.
but turbokit got many stages ... the one selling in marketplace is a stage one turbokit ... for a low boost only.
want to boost for more got to change the internal add blockguard.
aiyahhh its all about the money la .. if want reliable and powerfull vtec turbo should have atleast 20k.

shiroitenshi said:
Turbo cams is designed differently from NA.. since air is forced into the cyclinders, there's not much point in having high lifts... so VTEC is kind of wasted on turbos IMHO.

hi teacher. :shades_smile: turbos don't need overlap like NAs do. but B-series owners should be glad; the stock b16a head is comparable to a ported 4G63T + HKS 272 cam. it can support more than 600whp without doing anything...

Just opinion only mah.. Overlap wise still can play with cam pulleys no? But isn't high lift related to durations as well? More lift, more duration? (from what I've noted). Everything not so clear cut, you also know, since you're used to turbo units..

But I'm totally out of it when talking turbos.. too much things to learn.. that one have to wait until one person over here does it.. then can study more about it. Too much investment required to do it right for me.

Yeah.. can support 700+ actually, if you read the later versions in the mag. They blew the engine up at 8XX hp after that. NOS+turbo.

I see you've heard about me from mie.. nice work with that grassroot engine management system. Tried messing with it a few years back, but it was not so developed then.

i saw 1 uk spec ek , h22a manual bolt on turbo install it into ek 2doors..tht power was owesome... 812whp .. i wonder how he go for tht .. need to search for the viedo,got dyno tune proven ...

shiroitenshi said:
Just opinion only mah.. Overlap wise still can play with cam pulleys no? But isn't high lift related to durations as well? More lift, more duration? (from what I've noted). Everything not so clear cut, you also know, since you're used to turbo units..

But I'm totally out of it when talking turbos.. too much things to learn.. that one have to wait until one person over here does it.. then can study more about it. Too much investment required to do it right for me.

Yeah.. can support 700+ actually, if you read the later versions in the mag. They blew the engine up at 8XX hp after that. NOS+turbo.

That's okay. it's true, in general NA engine likes more cam overlapping, turbo engines need less. in term of valve lift i'm not so sure. but the idea is to get the most air flow in and out. but how much lift and how much overlap we can't exactly say unless we test it on the flow bench. There are too many variables that need to be considered, not only the cams.
yes it's true that more lift = more duration. but it can be otherwise. two sets of cams the can have same lift but different duration, or same duration but different lift. the lift vs duration determines how `square' the cam is (the ramp rate).
Careful of sturgeon's law. :)

shiroitenshi said:
I see you've heard about me from mie.. nice work with that grassroot engine management system. Tried messing with it a few years back, but it was not so developed then.

Well it is fun.......:_:

VtecZz&TurboZz said:
So how a b20b Built up on 500whp ??

from my reading, the sleeve can only hold up to 300++whp. even you have replaced the rotating assembly with aftermarkets, the sleeve is weak. you need to replace the sleeve with aftermarkets sleeve. I'm not sure whether Malaysia can do it. I guess you need to send the block to oversea.

That's okay. it's true, in general NA engine likes more cam overlapping, turbo engines need less. in term of valve lift i'm not so sure. but the idea is to get the most air flow in and out. but how much lift and how much overlap we can't exactly say unless we test it on the flow bench. There are too many variables that need to be considered, not only the cams.
yes it's true that more lift = more duration. but it can be otherwise. two sets of cams the can have same lift but different duration, or same duration but different lift. the lift vs duration determines how `square' the cam is (the ramp rate).
Careful of sturgeon's law. :)

True, nothing is absolutely so, but I'm thinking along the lines that we simply did not consider all the aspects, rather than having multiple results even though we did everything similarly.

Yeah.. but I think there's no longer aggresive ramp rates available on the market nowdays compared to last time, when an older friend of mine told his experiences of having the rocker arms cam surfaces wear out like nobody's business on some previous performance cams (USDM ones, not JDM) In a way, that affected his opinion of US parts, but that's another story.

The overlap thing is quite playable with the exhaust cam, but well.. not too many people have the time to 'clay' for valve clearances and find out the max degrees to retard or advance. I am planning to do that though, but it's probably only going to be done when I've finished with other minor works. (chassis works, if you're wondering).. It's a lot of work trying to shave weight off a 4 door sedan. esp. if it doesn't involve removing parts of the chassis itself.

A strange note is that I'm told that the EXACT degrees of exhaust opening and closing doesn't really matter, and you'd need quite a lot of degree adjustment to see differences in power output. And thus, it is through the exhaust cam that you have the most leeway in playing with the amount of overlap you want. And from limited playing around with mine.. I find it to be true as well... however, since I didn't clay my engine for tolerances.. no, I didn't go above 1-2 degrees.

Do you have the same opinion, or have your experiences taught you differently?

About that B20B with 500whp..

I think you forgot to mention that on 500whp units, the weakest link will give you hints in the worst way possible. :P

shiroitenshi said:
Yeah.. but I think there's no longer aggresive ramp rates available on the market nowdays compared to last time, when an older friend of mine told his experiences of having the rocker arms cam surfaces wear out like nobody's business on some previous performance cams (USDM ones, not JDM) In a way, that affected his opinion of US parts, but that's another story.
Have a fren who bought performance cams from US. He had problems with his setup. The car was like misfiring. It took him a month to realize that the cam actually was floating. He already had HKS valvetrain. In the end, the HKS valvetrain cannot support the square cam. So money down the drain...

shiroitenshi said:
The overlap thing is quite playable with the exhaust cam, but well.. not too many people have the time to 'clay' for valve clearances and find out the max degrees to retard or advance. I am planning to do that though, but it's probably only going to be done when I've finished with other minor works. (chassis works, if you're wondering).. It's a lot of work trying to shave weight off a 4 door sedan. esp. if it doesn't involve removing parts of the chassis itself.

A strange note is that I'm told that the EXACT degrees of exhaust opening and closing doesn't really matter, and you'd need quite a lot of degree adjustment to see differences in power output. And thus, it is through the exhaust cam that you have the most leeway in playing with the amount of overlap you want. And from limited playing around with mine.. I find it to be true as well... however, since I didn't clay my engine for tolerances.. no, I didn't go above 1-2 degrees.

Do you have the same opinion, or have your experiences taught you differently?
I might have different approach than you. I notice air fuel ratio will be different if you play-play with the cam gear.