Civic Sohc Vtec Auto

prodigy

Just wondering what is the top speed of a stock civic SOHC VTEC auto?

Never really tested the top speed before but my maximum was 150 kmh when being chased by a wira. i stepped off the gas to let him pass coz somehow i didn't feel comfortable doing it in federal highway. i'm sure it can go faster, but how much faster?

180 seems pretty reasonable for a 1.6 litre engine standard. even waja can do 200kmh but i'm talking about maximum speed whereby the engine won't go any faster.

i've tried 190 on my sister's car :ph34r: :P :P not sure whether can go faster annot, but the car was shaky and all :ph34r: :o

if the rpm not over 6k then its still available to go more higher,with stock sohc-v-tec,max of rpm is 6k i think,i mean with auto

I have tried 180km/h
dont dare to go faster coz running on stock 14" rims..
the sound and vibration on the steering quite scary...

hehehehe

FYI

The max record is:

210 km/h in civic SR4(EG local) on std 1.6 sohc non-vtec (M. transmission)
tested on North-South highway. 4 passenger(+driver) on board.

200 km/h in civic EJ (EK local) with std 1.6 sohc non-vtec (A. transmission)
tested on the way to Ipoh. 5 passenger(+driver) on board.

160 km/h on civic eg3 std 1.3 sohc non-vtec (carb)(auto trans.). 2 passenger(+driver) on board.
tested on sprint highway.

180 km/h on wira 1.3 std (inj).(M. transmission) 4 passenger(+driver) on board.
tested on the way to KLIA.

my civic ES 1.7 VTEC SOHC Auto go 175km/h only at 4100rpm, hehe ... i still can capture it using my nokia 7610.

look at the photo ....

so far, i reach 210km/h b4 on north south highway on the way to J.B, chasing a new model mercs C180 compressor, tat uncle so action ... look down on me when we stop at the tol plaza ... but at tat time, my leg also shaking already, coz really too fast, feel like cant control the car even wif my 17' sport rim but tat damn uncle seems like so steady with his C180 compressor ...

haha u gila meh... run with a "merz" :P of cos that is more stable that ur car la :P

but say truely la... i also been chanse by a merz c class compresor b4... didnt see clearly wats the model la... :P that time i only go until 140 km/h on my stock standard car haha which was the civic EX yr91 model :P with 13" rims and stock engine(carb)

the reason why i was been chanse?? haha cos i was driving 120 on the fast lane and it was faster than me :P after i pass all the car i let it pass me haha.... really scarry le that time.. the car was like flying already although the car was full of stuff... :P
haha :D

180+- km/h in civic eg8 d15b auto tested on putrajaya highway.

Guys,

U all speed at 170kmh-210kmh on standard tyre?. See the tyre rating first before do high speeding. Takut nanti kabom ! (gone case!)

IMHO, normal tyre grade like 'H' (as seen in new standard wira tyre), the tyre air pressure can cover speed around 140-150 kmh only. Make sure u using 'V' tyre grade if u want to speed above 180 kmh to 210 kmh. Other grade like W, VX or something can cover high speed also.

Another thing, mismatch tyre pressure & speed rate also contribute to "floating" feels during high speed (other than suspension set-up).

a lil bit out of topic...
one of my fren here doing 245Kph on his EK 2L... :lol:
aniwan did faster that this?

Originally posted by aja@Apr 11 2005, 07:48
Guys,

U all speed at 170kmh-210kmh on standard tyre?. See the tyre rating first before do high speeding. Takut nanti kabom ! (gone case!)

IMHO, normal tyre grade like 'H' (as seen in new standard wira tyre), the tyre air pressure can cover speed around 140-150 kmh only. Make sure u using 'V' tyre grade if u want to speed above 180 kmh to 210 kmh. Other grade like W, VX or something can cover high speed also.

Another thing, mismatch tyre pressure & speed rate also contribute to "floating" feels during high speed (other than suspension set-up).
[snapback]885735[/snapback]​

hehe ... i understand the risk, therefore i choose Falken 215/45/ZR17 ... sufficient enuff to handle the road???

VTEC RuLeZ

me can go untill 180km/h with auto dohc vtec at LPT.
never try full throtle...
anyone have tried?

I've tried 200kmh on my Civic ES (ET Local) never had a chance to go more... always a lot of car laaa during that time...

Originally posted by SnooPDoGGY@Apr 11 2005, 10:46
I've tried 200kmh on my Civic ES (ET Local) never had a chance to go more... always a lot of car laaa during that time...
[snapback]886215[/snapback]​

ur ES body got slide down after 160km/h?

Originally posted by prodigy@Apr 10 2005, 18:13
Just wondering what is the top speed of a stock civic SOHC VTEC auto?

Never really tested the top speed before but my maximum was 150 kmh when being chased by a wira. i stepped off the gas to let him pass coz somehow i didn't feel comfortable doing it in federal highway. i'm sure it can go faster, but how much faster?
[snapback]884459[/snapback]​

wen i was auto that time i do 201km

then change to manual 203km still can go but end of the road oledi
my RSM got record