Changing Wastegate??

zero_kool

Nov 17, 2004
hi all,
i was told that if i want a bigger intercooler, (eg: stock gsr intercooler to vr4 rs intercooler) i would be needing to change my wastegate. is that nessecary? i heard was that, if i do not change the wastegate if i had changed to a bigger intercooler, it will hv major lag problems. pls all experts....advice......thanks

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
zero actually he stock gsr engine got wastegate oso
it is inside the turbine
external wastegate is for those who want higher boost.

zero_kool

Nov 17, 2004
eterna22 said:
no such thing dude, the both of them function totally different.

whoever tell u that is pulling your leg
hmm....ok...thanks eterna....

gsrTurbo9166 : nah...not planning to boost high.....just normal can dee ler...but want a more garang intercooler nee lah...hehehehehehehe

SABAH
www.irs-asia.com
intercooler too big also not good d, have to match your current engine setup.;)

eterna22

Nov 16, 2003
auckland, NZ
depending on your application, the 4g63 vr4 intercooler is good for up to 330hp-350hp before losing efficiency.

the evo intercoolers are good for up to 430hp-430hp.

zero_kool

Nov 17, 2004
eterna22 said:
depending on your application, the 4g63 vr4 intercooler is good for up to 330hp-350hp before losing efficiency.

the evo intercoolers are good for up to 430hp-430hp.
so does that mean that the vr4 intercooler is not good for my gsr?

eterna22

Nov 16, 2003
auckland, NZ
no, what it means its good enough for your GSR.

the GSR ones are small and rescrictive. when you change to the VR4 one u will gain more torque.

make sure you good stainless steel piping.

2.5 inch would be ideal.

So you have to modify your VR4 intercooler's end tanks to fit 2.5

zero_kool

Nov 17, 2004
gsrTurbo9166 said:
zero go 4 evo6 i/c
very nice n very very garang when look at it
how much would that be??.....my budget just sliced down by a few k's coz had to invest on nasdaq shares......so.....now my budget is kinda tight....need to knw the price for the evo6 i/c.(brand new and 2nd hand)

but dun forget....evo6 i/c is like pretty big u knw......do i need an extrenal wastegate if i install the evo 6 i/c?? would i lose power?? would it lag even more?? and how to prevent that from happening?

eterna22

Nov 16, 2003
auckland, NZ
this is my second time saying that wastegate has got nothing to do with ur intercooler.

No, the evo 6 intercooler would be too big for your td04l .... u get lag ....

opt for VR4...best bang for buck. been there done that

zero_kool

Nov 17, 2004
eterna22 said:
this is my second time saying that wastegate has got nothing to do with ur intercooler.

No, the evo 6 intercooler would be too big for your td04l .... u get lag ....

opt for VR4...best bang for buck. been there done that
oh sorry.....hehehehe...kinda blur these days.....too much things on my mind.....so...vr4 would be my choice la...heheheheh....

zero_kool

Nov 17, 2004
cay6379 said:
can put some pics after u mod ur car bro??wanna see laa...
sure no probs....or u can add me in ur msn or yahoo messenger....

msn messenger: [email protected]

yahoo messenger ID : kool_s_ice2002

Hi every master.

I know majority ppl will advice not to tune the a/f ratio ...

But, I just want to learn something ...

for 4G15 carb

just want to confirm the a/f ratio screw adjustment

we adjust the screw out towards the firewall is for "lean" or "rich" ?

we adjust the screw in towards the carb is for "rich" or "lean" ?