actually,it all depends on your driving style, when using a 4-1 extractor, mostly people would use this setup if they are going on track often where they really push their engine to high revs and stays around high revs most of the time. 4-2-1 extractors are mostly for daily driving cars, where mid range and low range power is needed(traffic jam and all) cause if will give you some back pressure to go at low RPM.
why i said 4-1 extractors are used mostly for high revving engine if because when you high rev, you need the air to travel fast(not comparing stock 4-1 extractors here as stock 4-1 extractors are designed differently from aftermarket ones) so the air flow is slightly more free and those 4-1 extractors, each individual pipe before it reaches the 1 piping is longer, way much longer compared to those of a 4-2-1 extractor where the 2 is longer than the 4 ;) thats what i have observed when i see 4-1 and 4-2-1 aftermarket extractors.
anyhow also, please do make sure the extractors you are getting are good design ones as badly design extractors would only increase your fuel consumption and sometimes, dun even give you that extra power you are loking for ;) happy hunting ;)
why i said 4-1 extractors are used mostly for high revving engine if because when you high rev, you need the air to travel fast(not comparing stock 4-1 extractors here as stock 4-1 extractors are designed differently from aftermarket ones) so the air flow is slightly more free and those 4-1 extractors, each individual pipe before it reaches the 1 piping is longer, way much longer compared to those of a 4-2-1 extractor where the 2 is longer than the 4 ;) thats what i have observed when i see 4-1 and 4-2-1 aftermarket extractors.
anyhow also, please do make sure the extractors you are getting are good design ones as badly design extractors would only increase your fuel consumption and sometimes, dun even give you that extra power you are loking for ;) happy hunting ;)