Changing Extractor

azir

Apr 7, 2005
Sufi's there, if i change my stock extractor to 4-2-1 without changing the piping n cat conv, there will be any improvement or prob? mine was proton 1.6.

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
should be there are some improvement.. coz last time when i changed my extractor, iswara OEM extractor has vr little room for the exhaust gas to sqeeze from 4 pipe to 1 pipe... (OEM iswara extractor also 4-2-1.. but much much shorter and heavier)...
by changing ur extractor, exhaust gas can slowly travel from 4 pipes to 2 pipes coz of the distance... this will increase ur car performance as there isnt much pressure to force the gas out ma...

of coz changing ur piping to larger ones will help but if u decide to stick to ori one also can la... still can feel the improvement... give it a try...

Carrera

Mar 27, 2004
SP/BM/PG/BW
Another iswara driver here, think of wanna change CAT first then only change the extractor. Skywalker, is there a lot of improvement after u change the extractor and cat in ur car? Just wanna know the performance.

gloss

May 23, 2005
SJ
if u change the extractor, change the CAT also. the CAT is blocking the air flow, once u change, there is 3-5psi increase in power. u can feel the different, more torque more responsive. 1.6 use 2" - 2.5" ineer piping.

verticalimit

Mar 27, 2005
azir said:
Sufi's there, if i change my stock extractor to 4-2-1 without changing the piping n cat conv, there will be any improvement or prob? mine was proton 1.6.
use stock extractor then add longer diameter. i heard most them say the power quite impressive.

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
Carrera said:
Another iswara driver here, think of wanna change CAT first then only change the extractor. Skywalker, is there a lot of improvement after u change the extractor and cat in ur car? Just wanna know the performance.
which part is the CAT??... basically for my car, my whole exhaust piping, from extractor to muffler tukar adi wo...
i remember when bought my capalang brand extractor (worth rm150 saja), he gave me a sarong besi too... something like a flexible joint connect extractor to ur piping... after that, i change mid bullet, those like tornado shape... he said more powerful and reduce FC wor... after that is the S-flow piping (below 2inch ar, not sure)... then a capalang small muffler (those usually found in kancil)...

performance wise, not much increase in hp... but got smooth rpm climb lo... coz last time before change kinda like choke a little... now much smooth adi... FC??... sad case... around 9.5km/litre... (jz now pump petrol, my car only recorded 9km/litre - should be air filter dirty adi)... :thumpdown

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
i also got this plan...
just change the extractor, remove the cat

but piping use back.. muffler use back... :)

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
may i know what is CAT??... can post up picture of it ar???

Carrera

Mar 27, 2004
SP/BM/PG/BW
Just change my stock extractor to 4-1, got some improvement but donno wheteher change to this 4-1 is an ideal choice or not. Or 4-2-1 is better? Plan to change my CAT to Bullet next...and Muffler.

gavan

Apr 14, 2004
errr, cat is also known as cathalic converter. normally found in EFI cars as they want to meet the dunno what standards larr. looks inside the cat is like honeycomb wan, dunno whats the material, some is like besi type, some is like ceramic, so im not sure bout whats inside but it sure ristricts alot of air-flow. but it also keeps the enviroment clean ;) so erm, by removing it, means more air-flow and also more power lorr :D

btw, 4-1 extractors are for high revving engines like VTEC's and also normal engine which alwiz wanted high revving performance. for ideal daily driving, 4-2-1 extractors are recommended ;)

two cents niaa.....

Carrera

Mar 27, 2004
SP/BM/PG/BW
Hmm..means i change to 4-1 is wrong liao? u said normal engine is it stock? Coz mine is iswara aeroback stock engine not vtec. So, Need to change to 4-2-1?:frown:

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
Carrera said:
Hmm..means i change to 4-1 is wrong liao? u said normal engine is it stock? Coz mine is iswara aeroback stock engine not vtec. So, Need to change to 4-2-1?:frown:
u still can use back the 4-1 extractor... but 4-1 is more for pickup lo... if u alwiz travel long journey at high speed, better change back 4-2-1... coz at high speed (lower rev), ur car seem no power... with 4-2-1, at top gear u still have torque to go faster... :wink: :wink:

ccwwai

Aug 20, 2005
kk
4-1 for NA

SkYwAlKeR said:
u still can use back the 4-1 extractor... but 4-1 is more for pickup lo... if u alwiz travel long journey at high speed, better change back 4-2-1... coz at high speed (lower rev), ur car seem no power... with 4-2-1, at top gear u still have torque to go faster... :wink: :wink:
ya~ better keep 4-1, if use 4-2-1 at NA car (except high rev car, like vtec and etc) its rili sucks~ no torque at all~~

badguy

Jun 15, 2004
wah lau eh!
so ppl say this some ppl say that!!

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
haha.. i think he mean 4-1 extractor at NA car sucks...
4-1 is for pickup, as i said ma.. coz when pickup u usually rev quite high... thats why 4-1 is good lo for pickup lo...

4-2-1 is for normal road use (high and low rev/speed)...

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
har.. i more more confused... :(

pickup? i thought pickup is regarding torque at low end rpm?

then
"4-2-1 is for normal road use (high and low rev/speed)"
so for high and low rpm also can.. why not everyone use 4-2-1???

btw.. i saw iswara stock is cast iron 4-2-1 one
my car 120y stock is cast iron 4-1 (with '4' section veli short)

Merv86

Mar 13, 2005
SkYwAlKeR said:
haha.. i think he mean 4-1 extractor at NA car sucks...
4-1 is for pickup, as i said ma.. coz when pickup u usually rev quite high... thats why 4-1 is good lo for pickup lo...

4-2-1 is for normal road use (high and low rev/speed)...

What Skywalker is trying to say is 4-2-1 is more better for NA cars
where as for 4-1 setting it suites more powerful engine like Vtec...
correct me if im wrong..

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
yah yah... that definition for normal driving lo...
if u alwiz like to rev high high (even not vtec) use 4-1 extractor lo...
use any one also no problem... jz a little bit of difference in performance wise...

A Post Every 5 Mins

Hi Everyone,

I have a very big question. I am planning to do a D.I.Y on an engine conversion (just as a hobby), so any help from experienced mechanics or anyone who has done this conversion before would be at great help! I am very serious here.

Okay. Lets just say, i have got:

1) Evo2/3 full harness wiring,
2) Evo2/3 complete engine with mounts,
3) Evo2/3 Air flow meter (MAF) and ECU,
4) But using my 4G93 Gearbox.

Is this all i need? I dont have a complete half cut. I am just worried...