Cefiro Club

0123 said:
hahaha hey guys i'm back in melbourne. saw quite a few A32 and A33 on the road lo. am starting to miss my cefiro :(
anyway VQ25ET? I WANT ALSO ahhahaha
everybody wants something :D

:cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile:
:cry_smile: WE ALL WANT!!! :cry_smile:
:cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile:

But why DET, when the A32 suspension and chasis is not designed for turbo. Isn't it better for a DD, economy and yet powerful. Isn't it kind of soft with the stock suspension and all the trial and error are yet to give perfect suspension. I found my Excimo is not that good in handling. Maybe next time you sifu all can advise me.

We know A33 was introduced since 1998 elsewhere and it arrived in Malaysia only in 2002. Is not like Honda/Toyota, I guess TC is kind of slow in response to new model. That also apply to those who still purchase so call new Sentra, such old stock, like how Proton still keep the Wira/Iswara. I wonder why the VQ25DD is not introduced to the new Cefiro.

Any of you Excimo 2.0l owner can tell me the max speed of your VQ20DE can achieve? What bout the 0-100km/h?

The VQ25DET is used on which model in Japan hah?

excimo said:
But why DET, when the A32 suspension and chasis is not designed for turbo. Isn't it better for a DD, economy and yet powerful. Isn't it kind of soft with the stock suspension and all the trial and error are yet to give perfect suspension. I found my Excimo is not that good in handling. Maybe next time you sifu all can advise me.

We know A33 was introduced since 1998 elsewhere and it arrived in Malaysia only in 2002. Is not like Honda/Toyota, I guess TC is kind of slow in response to new model. That also apply to those who still purchase so call new Sentra, such old stock, like how Proton still keep the Wira/Iswara. I wonder why the VQ25DD is not introduced to the new Cefiro.

Any of you Excimo 2.0l owner can tell me the max speed of your VQ20DE can achieve? What bout the 0-100km/h?

Actually, when I first got my feilo, the handling sucked. I drove it around for a while just to get the "feel" of the chasis and handling. Then 2 months ago, I decided that it was time to "improve" it. From the long time I'd driven it, it was quite obvious what the weaknesses were. I couldn't do anything about the torsion bar, so I made damn sure I could never lose traction. Body roll was eliminated by spacing out the wheels, and putting in some stiffer shocks and springs...was a bit of a gamble what would maintain the comfort level of the vehicle. Next, pillar strut bars...front is installed, and rears are on order... :)

I'd put in panel bars as well, but it's to much of a hassle, and I can now take 90 degree turns at high speed...so...well... :smile:

The rear shocks are still a tad too soft...needs about 10% more stiffness, and I'm working on those... :smile:

After having the opportunity to study the chasis in detail...while the car was in the shop after that encounter with the truck...I suspect the primary reason the torsion bar was put in was simply to degrade the handling. The reason...the chasis of the cefiro was based on the skyline. If they had emulated the skyline undercarriage, it would have handled too well, making it too close to the skyline in performance terms but at a much lower price. So, toss in a torsion bar, and make the excuse that it was a Japanese limo.

As for old or new model...I don't really care. It's the technology that matters. The VQ is still ahead of a lot of engines in terms of potential for power and performance. I don't really like variable valve timing and lift applications cos you only get power at something above 5000 rpm. Somehow I can't see myself howling down Jalan TAR at WOT. It's also one of the only (the only?) V-engine in the world with a full aluminium block...

To give some examples...the Supra GT. Instead of running the much newer 2JZ engine which is it's resident engine in the commercial model, is instead running a stroked 2.2l 3S-GTE, which is an engine that has been around since 1988.

Now, the VQ25DETT...would be running at around 300 bhp, which is about the maximum you can get away with in a front wheel drive application. If you know how to drive it, it can still be fun.

excimo said:

heyz well i'm driving the new A33 2.0L max speed i tried 195 only kenot + or its increasing super slowly.
with the 3.0L lol 200 no problem lo.
n about the 0-100 i'm not sure about 2.0L lol. di dont want to know also :S haha

0123 said:
heyz well i'm driving the new A33 2.0L max speed i tried 195 only kenot + or its increasing super slowly.
with the 3.0L lol 200 no problem lo.
n about the 0-100 i'm not sure about 2.0L lol. di dont want to know also :S haha

for 2.0L cefiro, 0-100, the figure will not be impressive lor.... :confused_smile:

lots of car can outdo cefiro in this aspect.

Degrade the Cefiro handling to give way to the bigger brother Skyline...what a humble move hoh. I wonder if the name Excimo is derived from Executive+Limo.

Even such a short period of having a VQ engine, I am already very impressed. The quietness and the vibration free(or minimal) even with revving at 6k rpms that almost touching the red. I believe and love technology, that is why I believe TC should introduce VQ25DD and not maitain the 20/30DE. Is not that the latter is old but imagine the FC would drop at 12km/l compared to a 7km/l (average) and 210ps.

Thank you for the info defcon1, I really need to improve the handling of my cefiro. Just yest, I took it on the highway at 150km/h and I feel uncomfortable to press harder...kind of wobbly. Is it just my car. Any of you Excimo A32 have this problem? I noticed most of you 2.0l owners are A33, maybe the handling is better than the A32.

What..., max of only 195 ah...wah regret loh...should have gotten a 3.0l with almost same FC.
Ong, what about 2.5l hah, got test the max ah?

I tried playing with the Power or OD button...doesn't seem to improve any pickup power one. Sifu please advise me how to play with this for some extra ooomphh for overtaking or thrust forth at traffic lights.

Please tell me what is the first thing that I should change from a stock specs to improve handling...TQVM.(ehh beside wheels lah, I do not want to sacrifice FC)

excimo said:
Degrade the Cefiro handling to give way to the bigger brother Skyline...what a humble move hoh. I wonder if the name Excimo is derived from Executive+Limo.

Even such a short period of having a VQ engine, I am already very impressed. The quietness and the vibration free(or minimal) even with revving at 6k rpms that almost touching the red. I believe and love technology, that is why I believe TC should introduce VQ25DD and not maitain the 20/30DE. Is not that the latter is old but imagine the FC would drop at 12km/l compared to a 7km/l (average) and 210ps.

Thank you for the info defcon1, I really need to improve the handling of my cefiro. Just yest, I took it on the highway at 150km/h and I feel uncomfortable to press harder...kind of wobbly. Is it just my car. Any of you Excimo A32 have this problem? I noticed most of you 2.0l owners are A33, maybe the handling is better than the A32.

What..., max of only 195 ah...wah regret loh...should have gotten a 3.0l with almost same FC.
Ong, what about 2.5l hah, got test the max ah?

I tried playing with the Power or OD button...doesn't seem to improve any pickup power one. Sifu please advise me how to play with this for some extra ooomphh for overtaking or thrust forth at traffic lights.

Please tell me what is the first thing that I should change from a stock specs to improve handling...TQVM.(ehh beside wheels lah, I do not want to sacrifice FC)
excimo...if u r looking to keep ur stock rims (15") and improve ur handling, the best would be adjustables like Titan or Hotbits....these adjustables r really good at high speed n cornering but very sensitive to rough roads. however, with ur high profiles tyres, it shouldnt be a prob. u will still able to mantain some comfort on ur ride...titan is selling around rm2.8k while hotbits is around rm3.2k...

however, if u intend to upgrade to 17" or 18" wheels with low profile tyres, best would be getting Eibach Prokit n Koni abs...this is one of the best combination tested by many people but its quite expensive...Eibach its selling around rm1.1k while the koni its around rm2.2k...this combo its more like stock feeling but much more stable during cornering n minimal body roll...of course u cant compare with the adjustables...

my 2.5 has a speed limiter so 180km its the max...:smile:
one word of cautious...dont play with ur OD button too much...one advice to overtaking...first, floor ur pedal once n lift ur leg n floor again...u will feel a difference...

ongteckweng said:
excimo...if u r looking to keep ur stock rims (15") and improve ur handling, the best would be adjustables like Titan or Hotbits....these adjustables r really good at high speed n cornering but very sensitive to rough roads. however, with ur high profiles tyres, it shouldnt be a prob. u will still able to mantain some comfort on ur ride...titan is selling around rm2.8k while hotbits is around rm3.2k...

however, if u intend to upgrade to 17" or 18" wheels with low profile tyres, best would be getting Eibach Prokit n Koni abs...this is one of the best combination tested by many people but its quite expensive...Eibach its selling around rm1.1k while the koni its around rm2.2k...this combo its more like stock feeling but much more stable during cornering n minimal body roll...of course u cant compare with the adjustables...

my 2.5 has a speed limiter so 180km its the max...:smile:
one word of cautious...dont play with ur OD button too much...one advice to overtaking...first, floor ur pedal once n lift ur leg n floor again...u will feel a difference...

Ong is right about the rims. The best compromise I've managed to get is with 16" rims and adjustables. I had this setup in the Celica, and continued to use it in the Cefiro. Also, spacing out the wheels will help. The best would be to space so that they are flush with the fender. This will give it the max allowable wheelbase width and reduce body roll significantly.

I haven't tried the Eibach Prokit + Konis, but from what I have heard, it's a good combi. Both the Prokit and adjustables options lowers the car anywhere from 1" - 2" which contributes to stability as well. This should not give you any problems in daily usage.

You will also need pillar strut bars for the front, and maybe for the rear. Just because you have a torsion bar in the rear doesn't mean that there isn't flex.

Good tyres are a must. I currently use Bridgestone Turanza, the new type just launched this year and they are pretty damn good. About RM 360 per piece for 16".

Finally, the car handling will improve even more with increased negative camber. Any allignment shop can order and install camber bolts for the feilo. This is a replacement bolt for one of the knuckle bolts that will allow some small measure of camber adjustment to be made. Because of the limited space between the strut and the knuckle, I was not able to camber any more than about 0.75 degrees negative camber. Even then, there was great improvement in cornering.

As for the "OD" button, there is a way to use it. The effect of going from "OD On" (dash indicator light off) to "OD Off" (dash indicator light on) is like dropping one gear in a manual car. So, when you want to overtake, just toggle "OD Off" and floor throttle. Ong's technique of "double pumping" the throttle works as well. I am not sure how, but I theorize that the first pump allows some parts of the gearbox to gain oil pressure, and his second pump basically engages the gearbox.

IMPORTANT THING TO REMEMBER WHEN PLAYING WITH OD BUTTON : It takes the gearbox about 1.5 secs to respond, between the time you hit the OD button and the gearbox actually going into the mode (On or Off). DO NOT power up within that time. Wait until you are sure that the mode is engaged.

When I have time, I will have to research if there is a stronger gearbox that will fit our cars as I suspect my frequent KL-Sg laps are going to shorten the gearbox's lifespan by quite a bit. Not because of distance, but because of the strain I put it through at the speeds I drive.

ongteckweng said:
hey i think the hotbits price dropped to rm2.8k also. :)
maybe to compete with titan lol

Well...with people like Ong driving around with minimum travel on the shock, plus 18" rims wrapped round with 40 series rubber bands @ 35 psi of pressure...no wonder they had to drop their price.

Imagine everyone getting out of Ong's car walking away rubbing their backsides and muttering to themselves, "Hotbits...no...definitely not!"... :laugh:

defcon1 said:
Well...with people like Ong driving around with minimum travel on the shock, plus 18" rims wrapped round with 40 series rubber bands @ 35 psi of pressure...no wonder they had to drop their price.

Imagine everyone getting out of Ong's car walking away rubbing their backsides and muttering to themselves, "Hotbits...no...definitely not!"... :laugh:
err...its 34psi with 45 series tyres...:biggrin:

sorry every tai ko, borrow thread he...he...
wanna let go this HWL hi/low with top pillow ball. reason selling cos the ride too hard la...exspecially with low profile tire :confused_smile: . currently using eibach spring with ori absorber. who interested ?

http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m47/Paulsonckk/HWL1.jpg

yeah I'm interested. How long have u been using it for?
How much are u asking for it?

stephen said:
yeah I'm interested. How long have u been using it for?
How much are u asking for it?

I just used it for 2 weeks, previous owner used it for 6-7 months. so total is 6.5-7.5 months :_:
Used price around Rm1.3k. previous owner bought it Rm2.4k

Good for reading!
Alternative Fuel

http://www.autozine.org/technical_school/engine/alternative_fuel.htm

Modern Diesel engine

http://www.autozine.org/technical_school/engine/diesel.htm

Green Engine

http://www.autozine.org/technical_school/engine/petrol1.htm

Green Engine Technology

http://www.autozine.org/technical_school/engine/petrol2.htm

Smooth Engine

http://www.autozine.org/technical_school/engine/smooth1.htm

http://www.autozine.org/technical_school/engine/smooth2.htm

http://www.autozine.org/technical_school/engine/smooth3.htm

http://www.autozine.org/technical_school/engine/smooth4.htm

http://www.autozine.org/technical_school/engine/smooth5.htm

Engine Power Boosting
http://www.autozine.org/technical_school/engine/tech_engine_2.htm

Force Induction
http://www.autozine.org/technical_school/engine/tech_engine_3.htm

Hmmm...I remember the Toyota TVIS. I gutted it...when I put in my Garett TO4E-50 turbo...was too much of a restriction at high boost... :smile: